Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

No More Nuggets

by lubiterum - Jam Entry

Trailer: https://youtu.be/ktdd-N2YrWo

The chickens are really furious and looking for some bloody revenge! They've geared up with the same meat shredders fast food companies use to end with their lives, and they want to shred everything that comes their way. Fight against your feathery sisters to see who is the farmyard queen in this 4-player competitive brawler. Or you can rebel on your own against opression while clucking "No More Nuggets"!

*Crazy non-stop feathery action
*Throw eggs and shred everything that you can find
*Up to 4 local players in vs and coop mode
*Funny pixelated violence
*Original soundtrack

CONTROLS:

W,A,S,D / gamepad
right stick to aim
space /A (gamepad) / LT - jump
right mouse button / RT (gamepad) - shoot
left mouse button / X (gamepad) - pick things up and shred 'em

ALT+Enter = fullscreen

-----------------------------
Bug fixes:

fixed respawning at the top of the screen
no more enemies in vs mode
respawning time for eggs shortened
better gamepad control


Follow us: @lubiterum

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#191Audio(Jam)3.48
#223Humor(Jam)3.45
#273Overall(Jam)3.51
#362Fun(Jam)3.26
#442Mood(Jam)3.17
#468Graphics(Jam)3.39
#478Theme(Jam)3.41
#746Innovation(Jam)2.68

Comments

Demy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:17am

Fun game. No more nuggets. Killing people with the eggs! I love that amount of particles. Music is very nice, I love it.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:17am

Nice job! I won't be eating nuggets for a while after this...

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:18am

Crazy good graphics ! Fun and intense. I suggest to low the reload time a little, to make it more nervous. Nice one !

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19am

Funny Game! The fast-paced Music fits the Gameplay well.
In my Opinion the Ammo replenishment rate is a bit too low and i mostly ended up dying in a corner waiting for this egg to appear. Anyways, the Graphics are ok and the Controls are good too. I enjoyed it.

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:56am

Great graphics and soundtrack!
I found the gameplay a bit confusing with this "shredding objects to parts" thing. The reload time of the weapon is also way too long

Otherwise, good job ;)

lubiterum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Thanks for the comments fellas!

The reload thing you are talking about... Yep! maybe it´s too slow.

We though it was a good idea to motivate the players to use the shredder and kill enemies with babies and ninjas :_D

Oops! And sorry for 2 things:

- the bugs with the shredder trap

- the amount of enemies of the versus mode. Our programmer is too hardcore for my body xD

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Cool a game with multiplayer!

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:47pm

I seem to get stuck in a wall an awful lot.

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Nice game! The art is good, and the gameplay is well done. Also, I love the fact that you play a chicken.
Great work!

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Fun game, and If I had someone to play with me I'd probably have a lot more fun. however I did encounter a few bugs where I'd spawn in the ceiling. other than that though I really enjoyed it

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:21pm

and is surely one of the craziest games I've ever seen and liked it! oh the soundtrack and graphics are really cool . good job ^^

lubiterum says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Thank u guys! Your words fill us with love!

We´re gonna fix that "spawn bug" asap! Hopefully this night :_D

2R says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Fun!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Great with multiplayer. Only one problem, I dont like to walk and aim with the same stick...

rjhelms says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Good fun to be had here. Didn't get a chance to play multiplayer, but kudos for supporting 4-player local play.

I love the sound and the graphics, and the take on the theme.

lubiterum says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:03pm

You´re right Urban.

We have to make the controller similar to to keyboard+mouse. Sorry 4 the english xD

morokiane says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Loved it.

ALobker says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:22pm

This game showed me that I need more gamer-friends.

monaarc says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Very good, i like the music and the particles effects ! But i will not stop eating nuggets !!!

goblin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Nice graphics, music fits very well. Really fun game
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:24am

wish i had someone to play with - nice idea and great execution

lubiterum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:22pm

we've uploaded a new version! :D

Bug fixes:

fixed respawning at the top of the screen
no more enemies in vs mode
respawning time for eggs shortened
better gamepad control

DKoding says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Not bad, unfortunately I could only try it single player. Would have been more fun with multiplayer I´m sure.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Very polished. Maybe not that original in the gameplay, but extermely professional end result.

yackeroeni says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Really nice game, lots of fun to play. There are a few bugs and UI annoyances, like not being able to return to the menu while playing, or when we both died, neither of us respawned in versus mode. But apart from those small bugs, truly a nice game to play.

leafo says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:38am

Cool idea, wish I had people to play with

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]