Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Voo & Doo

by Zak - Jam Entry

Voo&Doo is a 2 player game, in wich you take control of two dolls, respectively named Voo, and Doo. But these aren't your basic, girly dolls : these are Voodoo dolls !

They were created with the special ability to control Gravity !
Voo has the power to repulse everything around him (mostly girls).
Doo, him, has the opposite power of attraction, but he is always sad because everything fly up to his face. Poor Doo.

Together, with their powers combined, they face every peril and defeat every foes !

______________________________________________________

CONTROLS:

//KEYBOARD:
Player 1 : WASD + F // Player 2 : Arrows + 0 //Enter : Restart

//XBOX CONTROLLERS:
Left stick : Move
A Button : Jump
X Button : Power

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#64Graphics(Jam)4.38
#204Audio(Jam)3.44
#248Overall(Jam)3.55
#320Fun(Jam)3.31
#369Mood(Jam)3.28
#406Innovation(Jam)3.25
#493Humor(Jam)2.91
#654Theme(Jam)3.16

Comments

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49am

My favorite jam game thus far. Love, love, LOVE the graphics.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52am

Very good idea and could be expanded for a great 2 player game. I could only play one player so it was a little difficult but can see massive potential!

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:53am

love the graphs :D

Shimmergloom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:54am

It took me a while to figure out what I need to do, as the camera kept floating between the two characters. Maybe tell us at the start of the game it's a two player game and their controls. Very cool though, I didn't let me lack of understanding impact the rating.

It looks very polished.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:54am

This game is very well polished for the 48 hours! The graphics are cool, although im playing by myself, the game play is very fun and controls are responsive and nice. Even the music is fun! Great job on this! I'll be saving this to play with friends later. I'd love to follow more of you and your teams' (if any) work!

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:56am

Great art and music in this entry! I actually made a game with voodoo dolls once (Voodoo Friends), so obviously I really like the theme of this game! The level design is cool too - great idea with those zippers.

Zak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:15am

Hey ! Thank you all for your comments :)
It was a very weird game jam for us three, we had a lot of other work to do, so we could only spend 7-8 hours a day on Voo&Doo. We somehow managed to put the assets into a game we had a bit of fun playing. I am sorry if you think there is a lack of explanation, we tried though, adding tutorials in game. However, due to the lack of time, we did'nt manage to add the boss we wanted and a few levels.
Have fun playing !

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:30am

A really fun and great game.

Blunt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:09am

I couldn't get the HTML5 version to work, no input recognized.

Luminar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:09am

Wow. Nice graphics!

guoboism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:24am

Love the graphics! Nice to have a two player game!
Love this two player coop game!

Zak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:36am

Thanks!
Please, use keyboard controls for the HTML5 version. Controllers are not recognized but keyboards should be.
Have fun!

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53am

Very cute graphics, congraz first 5 star. Fun to play.

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:02am

Very nice graphics!

Ildfuglen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:13am

The artstyle is amazing :)

Split82 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:38am

Awesome graphics and audio. It was really hard to play alone :D

Curial says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:50am

Awesome graphics

Embalaje says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Interesting ganeplay, I like to play alone with both Voo and Doo.
It's difficult, but curious thinking of how to solve the problems.
Very well done the graphics. Good game!

ahnt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:57am

very nice game, the graphic is awesome, I don't really get the game play though, but otherwise very nice!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Cute, intriguing little game!

BIZM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Had a lot of fun playing it and would like to play more! Awesome cute graphics and a very fun mechanic. Good work!

Kahztein says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:42am

This is the type of game that infuriates both you and your friends to the point where you begin exchanging blows with sledgehammers

And that's just if you get past the first level

siryakko says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:06pm

What a great game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]