Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dezinformatsiya

by Scripturus - Jam Entry

"Dezinformatsiya" is a game about weaponisation of information – a post-modern strategy in which information and in particular the media are used not just to persuade or even to spread traditional propaganda, but as weapons in a conflict, intended to divide, demoralise, and paralyse an opponent. In this way, information and disinformation become truly "unconventional weapons".

In the game, you play as the Director of the little-known Third Department of the Brutopian Ministry of Information. The government of Brutopia is planning a clandestine invasion of the neighbouring country of Ruritania. Your task during this operation will be to keep the foreign governments in the Western world divided and pacified whilst the Brutopian military and secret services establish a presence in Ruritania.

To achieve this, you will employ social media, active political measures, manipulation of foreign media, and of course last, but not least, the popular media network Brutopia Today.

-----------

To be honest, this game has a ton of issues. The graphics look like something from the early 90s. I didn't really have time to balance the different possible actions, so the game is actually quite easy. I would have liked to have better feedback on the actions, more interaction between them, and more random events (there's only a single one at the moment). Also, the win/lose screen is a joke, since I left it for last and really ran out of energy towards the end.

But the game is playable, and considering it's the first game I've ever finished, I'm not too dissatisfied with it. Hope you find it interesting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#172Mood(Jam)3.56
#215Theme(Jam)3.78
#283Humor(Jam)3.33
#329Innovation(Jam)3.37
#368Overall(Jam)3.39
#454Fun(Jam)3.15
#771Graphics(Jam)2.74

Comments

zuraguerra says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:18am

It looks very interesting! Hope you make a Mac or web port at any point :)

Wayward says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:24am

Nice Concept!

j_peeba says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:23pm

The theme and setting of the game are excellent and quite topical too! ;)

Better feedback from the actions were something I wished for while playing. As it is, the game mostly felt like a series of random dice rolls where my actual choice of action didn't seem to matter that much, as long as I did something.

Nevertheless, the writing was very entertaining and I'd like to see how this game would play if the obvious issues were to be fixed. There's definitely potential here! :)

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Funny game, wondering where you got the idea for this setting from ;-)

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35pm

nice interpretation of theme and nice taste!

Luminar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Big + for music :)
Nice idea

Bardikus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Nice concept, I got a Papers Please vibe if that is what you went for. The objective and mechanics weren't all that obvious, but a good overall game :)

molecats says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:28am

Good idea!

phi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:30am

Gotta love the music!
The story seems interesting, the UI is simple and intuitive, but perhaps it would be nice to have some more information about what's going on, maybe some kind of stats or maps. Pretty good amount of content for such a short time, though!

Cstudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Okay, this review is going to be a little bit longer than usual.
I know whats this about... and honestly the same idea came to my mind when the theme came up. However we did not figured out how to make a game from it. I am sure you are from the eastern european region, as i am. This game is very well thought through (weird sentence :D ), so I suspect the mechanics are inspired by real life.
I cant see the game objectively, because i am living the same reality... how the russian propaganda breaks up the society with disinformation and how every rationally thinking member of our society is getting labeled by the strong pro russian community as an americaphile. To people living in the west, there is war... but not with real-conventional weapons. So, sir thank you for making this game and other players, please know, what you play here... its happening now, for real.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:55pm

I would have liked a system with some more strategy to it (certain tactics work better in different situations, having to react to external events, combining policies for greater effect). That might be a bit complicated for a 72 hour game jam, though :-)

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Cool concept, but i feel like it doesnt quite fit the theme.

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Good game but after awhile, when I read all descriptions, I was just using random actions. It doesn't look like there's big difference between them.

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:13pm

I love the abstraction of the concept of unconventional weapon, thinking of the unconventional warfare which was the hippest thing an army could do during cold war. I really find the theme one of the coolest around.

I see seriously an amazing potential for a game based on it. Would be seriously as agregative as any War board out there!

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

Yoon says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:40am

I was a little scared of the graphics at first, but then it got funny !

A lot of attention has been put in the textual content and I found the mechanics to be really balanced. Of course there exists an optimal strategy, but hey. I really liked it.

MonoS says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:07pm

The game is surprisingly interesting and fun, but it's too symple.

You can easily exploit the game creating the "Fund Opposition parties" and the "Troll Army" and then always chose a 2AP low/medium risk/effect and the game play by itself.
Too bad, because i had fun reading all the description of the various actions.

Also good concept and use of the theme

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]