Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Insult Duelling

by natalye - Compo Entry

======================================================
Insult Duelling - Theme: "An Unconventional Weapon".
======================================================
How to Play
======================================================

Inspired by Monkey Island's insult sword fighting.
Learn all the possible insult retorts by training against the IDP (Insult Duel Practice software), and then you'll be ready to face the master. Defeat the master 3 times in a row to win!

Press 'F1' or 'M' at any time to open the menu (or close it). Press 'Esc' to quit the desktop version.

NOTE: Turns out the game doesn't display well on lower resolutions, so it's best to play the web version or choose a high resolution in the Unity launcher.‚Äč

======================================================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#305Theme3.65
#320Humor3.17
#513Audio2.77
#695Innovation2.89
#997Graphics2.21
#997Overall2.61
#998Fun2.35

Comments

zakchaos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:15am

You win. Man I couldn't beat it any time, it just made me feel insulted.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:12pm

It's clever how you lern new insults from your enemy. Pretty fun idea and music is decent too.

Interface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

I got nothing. You win. Interesting idea. Had trouble opening the menu in the web version.

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:00am

I can honestly say I've never played a game like it! Liked the rhinoceros a lot.

leafo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55am

nice job, I like how you learn the insults

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:44am

Clever use of the theme idea. I was lost for a while, but finally figured it out

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:31am

Nifty memory game, despite the main mechanic being fairly difficult to figure out. Humor is quirky enough.

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:57pm

The graphics left a bit to be desired, and I was a bit confused about how to play at first, but it was pretty fun! Good job!

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Pretty tough to realize how to play, but I really liked the music and the art was pretty cute. The concept is great as well as is the use of the theme :P

Good luck!

rd127p77 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Cool idea, Love the art style. The audio is great too.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:18am

That is a really great interpretation of the theme.
I can not find the menu in the web version though.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:21am

An original idea. 5 stars for it!

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:27am

Great idea I liked how you learn insults
check ours too if you want http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Tuism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:30am

The second game I played based on Monkey Island's insult mechanic - while this is better as a "mechanical" exercise, the other one was much better written and more fun, though more limited.

There's literally no way to beat the game until it randomly throws up something its used against you before. It's a slow grind to get retorts and pretty meaningless on top of that.

I like that it tries something new but it's ultimately really, really boring and pointless and doesn't make the player feel like they've achieved anything.

Sorry :/

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:33am

Sorry I didn't have the patience to learn all the insults from the machine. I thought I could skip that part by opening the menu. When I pressed 'M' I couldn't get out of it and the only options were "New Game" and "Exit Game" so I lost all my progress...
As someone who has played Monkey Island a lot I found the game too close to the original, it feels like an exact copy.

natalye says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:12am

Thanks for the honest feedback guys, no need to apologize!
Yes, it is quite identical to the MI puzzle and in hindsight the grind was tedious (in MI there was also a grind but for several reasons it wasn't as tedious).
I'll also look up the other game you mentioned Tuism, thanks.

As for the menu, that's weird, 'M' should work to open the menu on Web version, and it also closes the menu (I'm sorry I didn't make that clear, will fix the description).

Thanks for all your feedback!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:41am

Nice concept.

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:09am

it seems that the player doesn't have any real influence on whether he wins or not

mantis says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:25am

I am the new master!

PapaCheech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:06pm

What an idea and excellent in its execution! I feel like this would be an amazing mobile game. -dan

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:24pm

The game ran well and the idea was interesting and very much unconventional. The game did seem very hard to beat though.

-Neith

Lynx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:27am

Interesting how you trade insults back and forth although one gamely I kept getting the same insult back and forth for 5 times in a row, almost thought that was the whole game.... I'm just an unlucky person with random number generators haha

idoadler says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:21pm

I won!
Wasn't easy.

May 11, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Very simple game, great concept, very well made. I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Fg_0-yj__pU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]