Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Intersection

by okacat - Compo Entry

Take control of the traffic lights in a suburban intersection and smash those shady vehicles.


--CONTROLS:
a, s - turn lights green

--SCORING:
Black painted car: 2
Black painted truck: 4
Other cars: -1
Other trucks: -2
(Hint hint: Trucks smash cars)

--ABOUT
This is my first Ludum Dare or gamejam in general, I don't know what I was waiting so long for, this is too much fun. I made the game using Unity 5 and Blender. The music was generated using autotracker.py (you can find it under tools on this page), since my music making skills are nonexistent. For now it runs confirmed on Windows and Web with Unity plugin. I've uploaded the Mac and Linux builds too, although they're completely untested. Planning on setting it up for Android soon too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#62Innovation4.00
#87Theme4.00
#147Graphics3.85
#167Overall3.65
#175Fun3.59
#247Mood3.32
#1497Coolness45%

Comments

Evgiz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:39am

Nice litte game. I love the graphics and the music. Gameplay is fun but could be a bit more fast paced in my opinion. Something like this would make a great mobile game if you polished it and added swipe controls. Great job though, keep up the good work!

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:44am

I agree with Evgiz. Maybe you could ramp up the speed over time? Anyway I enjoyd this game a lot. It's a nice view on the theme.

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:03am

I...wow...this is amazing. Intuitive mechanics while maintaining challenge, a brilliant clean aesthetic, all around one of the best games I've seen so far.

jackrugile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:22am

This was great, such a cool concept! I personally disagree with previous comments regarding it not being difficult or fast paced enough. There must be a part of my brain missing, because I was struggling really hard even with the current speed ;) So fun though, excellent job.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:26am

Highest score was 30, but went down to 25 with a few mistakes. Gameplay's simple but tricky to master, think it needs some kind of difficulty where the traffic gets busier as time goes on, but as it stands pretty nifty idea.

TwiiK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Great use of the theme.

Sevauk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04pm

I like the game and the simple graphics. It is intuitive and fun. It would have been cool to have more games mode or objectives.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Simple, but nice and interesting to play!

By the way, you said that my game stucks with a black screen on you PC. Did that happen when you clicked `New game`? Or you didn't even see main menu?

ProgramGamer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:20am

This is one of the most unique games I've played this LD, congrats! It may not be very deep, but it is entertaining to see vehicles smash each other at the press of a button (literally!).

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:29am

Surprisingly difficult, i could just be a lepper though, Really simple concept and well executed. Also a scary thought someone having this power.

great entry ^^

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Cool game about judging cars solely based on their color. I mean, if they're obeying traffic laws, how bad can they be?

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Definitely would work as a mobile game. The audio was my favorite part but there's no rating for it :(

okacat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Thank you all the nice words, I'll definitely keep the suggestions in mind!

@HolyBlackCat I couldn't even get to the main menu, just a black screen when I ran the exe

@bentglasstube There's no rating for the audio because the song was generated using autotracker.py, I felt it'd be cheating since that song is basically all the audio in my game haha

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Really fun game and nice use of the theme.

coderitual says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Hm, not really unconventional weapon but very good game though!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:58am

this was great game - love the simple gameplay and the crisp graphics - great job

Smirnov48 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Great game! Great idea!

SledKnight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Nice simple game. You should polish it up.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]