Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bit Bashing

by rukai - Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare attempt.

Alter the robots memory to send them to their doom.

As is natural for a Ludum Dare submission, there is very little polish and lots of bugs. I tried to create a creepy atmosphere, along with interesting game mechanics. IMO I got the atmosphere right but the game mechanics are lacking.

Tools used:
Programming: Java + Processing
Art: GIMP
Music: Sunvox
Sound Effects: SFXR
RCS: Git

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#184Audio3.39
#197Overall3.60
#247Mood3.32
#306Innovation3.47
#324Graphics3.44
#327Fun3.33
#446Theme3.47
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

YarharALC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:46am

SUPER hard to control the little bot things. Other than that, good game.

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48am

Very nice use of the theme and a very cool concept in itself.

It was hard to control the little buggers, but it made sense that it was hard, since we can do very little from the Moon.

Loved it!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:50am

Gard to control objects. Otherwise, really fun.

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41am

I really like the music, it creates a fantastic atmosphere, I just wish the loop were longer and/or cleaner. The gameplay is very clever, but a bit frustrating.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16am

Nice game. Turning the robots can hard and confusing though.

Azure_Kyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:21am

It is a little tricky to control, but I think you've done a pretty awesome job with this! One thing I would suggest if you were to work on this further would be to make robots wait momentarily before turning a corner. This would give players a little more time to flip the bit without the robot going the wrong direction.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:24am

Great! This idea have a potential.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:56am

Cool concept. It mostly came down to me spamming the turn key to get them to swerve the right way but I had fun playing it. Good job!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:10am

Pretty brief, but i like it that way.I like how you have to get used to the rhythm of the later bots to take control of them.

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:30am

I agree, polishing is very hard. But it can be done and there are actually some extremely polished games out there.
Your game's idea is nice. The minimalist visual style fits well with the programming-hacking-thing. I like that. I can't seem to make it to level 3 though, as the robots don't seem to turn around the way I expect.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:27am

The GameBoy sprite graphics are definitely the highlight here. I feel like I'm playing with my monochrome Pocket at my grandmother's house all over again.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:27am

Welcome to Ludum Dare! I think you did a good job with the game concept, and the monochromatic graphics, but it's a shame you didn't have more time to add more levels and puzzles. I actually felt bad for the robots though.

coderitual says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Fantastic little game. Gameplay could be polished little more though. Otherwise good work! I hope to see it finished.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]