Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Peashooting Funnel

by klbrazil - Compo Entry

(please toggle full screen :D )
a mini game created within 48 hours for #LDJAM32 with the theme unconventional weapon

catch the watermelon to earn 1 healthy food count and watch out for the hamburgers even if it's tempting to avoid having 1 unhealthy food count.

dont let the foods go past the tower or the game will end immediately XD

controls :

mouse to aim and shoot
W,A,S or arrow keys to move

------------------------------------------------------------------

this is the first time i made a game solo and while sick. too bad
i didnt get the game as i want it to be :v

welp, hope you like it XD~

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#426Humor2.95
#488Fun3.13
#643Innovation2.96
#672Graphics2.86
#734Mood2.71
#775Audio2.05
#816Theme3.00
#866Overall2.83
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:16am

Nice game mechanics!

resty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:22am

Simple game, it's fun to control 2 at the same time.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:05pm

I agree with PixlWalkr, nice mechanics.. :) only downside is that I got really hungly IRL because of the hamburgers.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Interesting to control both things, would be nice with some more 'juice' and smoother ramp up.

diegomachado says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

It would be great if you put a timer to end the game instead of the foods reaching the building. It's too hard the way it is, but the "shoot and catch" controls are really good.

ss64games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Solid game! I like the management of two characters. I think I like that uncollected dropped objects become barriers for the eater, but I think an improvement would be to give the eater a jump to use to get over them. I also was able to run off the screen on the right edge ):

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I love the visual theme!

conniejoern says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:21pm

haha nice game. i'm not really good at managing two things at the time, but it's still fun to play.
I like the style of the two charaters. but the food looks a little to detailed compared to the characters.
my opinion: keep true to one style.
I like your game anyway :)

klbrazil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

THANKS FOR THE FEEDBACKS :D i appreciate it all :) too bad i have a limited time doing this because im sick so it's not that polished :( hoping to do a better job next JAM :D

rantt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Controlling both characters was a cool mechanic. Fun game, nicely done :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Pretty fun! I love the mechanics used here. The way I accomplished 2-player play was to have the ground player stand near the tower, shoot the watermelons when they were above him and the hamburgers before they got to him. Very nice overall; I rate it a 4/5.

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:22am

Nice game, but it bugged me that when my character went out of the window, he was gone forever :(

ruerob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:46am

Well done entry. I've tried to play it in full screen and everytime I've reached the top of the screen it asks me to exit fullscreen mode. But thats not your fault. I like your game it is fun to me! Get well soon!

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:55am

Simple but fun with the simultaneous characters. Neat how the two mechanics connect, allowed for some unfamiliar coordination strategy. I like that. :)

gruhn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:44pm

I liked the mechanics of the game and the challenge, very easy to understand what is happening. Good job!

goblin says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:51pm

hahaha is funny! PLease, vote my game :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:35am

really interesting idea - and i love the mechanics - gets hard too fast tho

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]