Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Don’t Be Afraid Of The Dark

by Romixal - Jam Entry

You have a special device, that allows you transfer charges between electonic devices.

Made with Game Maker: Studio.

Credits:
Roman "Romixal" Kobylinskiy - Code & Art
Sergey "ISG guitar" Ikonnikov - Sounds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#79Innovation(Jam)3.88
#84Overall(Jam)3.87
#86Fun(Jam)3.80
#87Mood(Jam)3.83
#88Audio(Jam)3.80
#244Theme(Jam)3.74
#255Graphics(Jam)3.80
#713Humor(Jam)2.46

Comments

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Very good,,, interesting concept

pl0xz0rz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Nice puzzle platformer, reminds me of Portal.

YaaZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Very cool! So neat and stylish!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49pm

That was amazing. I definitely would like to see more levels in there. Possibly a third charge to make things more complex.
My only complaint is that I'm not a fan of slower direction change while in the air. Made it pretty hard to maneuver around the creatures.

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Solid game! Love the lighting, the sounds and the mechanics. The only issue I have however is the controls, the floor seems really slippery but it's a great game overall. Good job :D

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Very cool Innovative Game, i enjoyed it as long as the puzzles didn got too hard ^^. I had fun playing this game.

Languard says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Solid puzzle platform experience, I enjoyed it

pLaw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:11pm

This is a quite good game you made there. Goog puzzle mechanics, interesting level design. I like it! A solid game :)

oranebeast says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:21am

This is possibly one of the most innovative games I've rated; Plus the 2D lighting makes it nice. I'd like to see a full version.

NuSan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:31am

Great game! The puzzles are interesting. Avoiding creatures is a bit hard, I cant pass one of the latter level because of that, but it's pretty fun! Keep up the good work!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:43am

This is a really well polished game! The music and sound effects really sets the intensity. The level design is well thought out but in my opinion the difficulty progresses a little too much. The only "glitchy" thing I can point out is with jumping, where you glide across the ceiling upon colliding whilst jumping. But I really enjoyed this! Great work!! You have my highest rating so far!

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:53am

cool concept, very nice levels

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Impressive puzzle design for such a short timeframe. Satisfying to play and complete. Keep going with this game!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Very cool main mechanic, and great levels that explore its potential. The enemies can be frustratingly to avoid, though. This might be help by tweaking the jump physics a bit to allow more horizontal movement control. I really enjoyed the art style and audio -- very atmospheric. Fantastic job!

suurin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:28am

Awesome job guys, you should make a full game out of it!

Embalaje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:32am

That's good!One of my favourites, I really enjoied it, please more levels!
Perfect gameplay, Ambient and music.
Those red things are really scary and I don´t know even why.
Testing: I got stuck on the last level-Went down right with the last door close, couldn't go back(too high for the jump), I´ve press "esc" and "resume" and everything was fine again and made the last level.
Good luck!

MFEP says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:57pm

A nice mixture of challenging puzzles and even more challenging fleeing from the bad "guys".
Really liked the graphics and audio too

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Amesome game. Very cool mechanic. Nice level design, graphics and audio too.

Jaenis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:19am

Very good game! Enjoyed that a lot

sentendo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:19am

no weapon, but funny game! :)

goblin says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Really cool concept and mechanics. Great job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Sharky says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 2:18am

Very nice I think this game deserves a after LD version

Omiya Games says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:15am

Really had fun with this puzzle game! Adding those enemies was a really nice touch. It made the experience very tense, and often tripped me up with its clever puzzles. Would love to see more from this. A job well done!

Almost says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:35am

It's a cool idea, but I found it frustrating to know what I need to do but die anyways because the enemy wakes up so quickly. I made it to the level shown in your first screenshot, and died after opening the exit doors.

creative630 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:31am

Seems like its just me, but the game wouldn't pick up my left/right mouse buttons. It would still track the mouse though.

ranmaru90 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:57am

Wow, I just had an awesome puzzle platforming! In the dark!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]