Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

TANKED

by OrangeSpikyGames - Jam Entry

UPDATE: Fixed a few things for clarity

A rail shooter where you customize your gun as you see fit.

Controls:
Keyboard + Mouse:
Shoot: Left-Click
Aim: Mouse
Pause: Escape
Speed Up: Right-Click or Spacebar

XboxController
Shoot: Right Trigger
Aim: Right Stick or Left Stick
Pause: B
Speed Up: Left Trigger

Will update for extra control profiles later

Known Bugs:
Starting a new game lets you keep all of your power ups, it's a feature.

Some weapons need to be balance better, which I'll do in a later non-jam build of the game.

Game can be loud, so suggest bumping down the volume slider at least halfway, I'll make this the default later.

Linux build is untested.

For webplayer, I recommend toggling fullscreen

Let me know what your favorite builds are, and most of all...
Enjoy!



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#312Fun(Jam)3.32
#598Audio(Jam)2.37
#694Overall(Jam)3.02
#798Innovation(Jam)2.58
#905Graphics(Jam)2.28
#996Theme(Jam)2.26

Comments

tompudding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I liked the simple visual style a lot, it kind of reminded me of 90s films like lawnmower man. The levels were a bit long though, I would have liked to get them done and try new weapons a bit faster.

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:33pm

wow, for an on rails shooter this was really fun. I don't get the connection to the theme, but I encourage you to make more of this. I had a lot of fun with it

JALgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Very nice game! At first, I thought: that's a really simple game; he did not put a lot of efford into it... Then, the later levels came, I was able to choose my preffered weapons, the enemies became more complex etc. If you would make a post-compo with improved graphics and some balancing, I'd play it for sure!

jesterswilde says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:38pm

I like the direction you're going with some of the later weapons, spiral specifically. Controls need a lot more tweaking though, it's hard to line up a shot with WASD.

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Hi, I think this game is not relevant to the given theme.

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Good gameplay, especially the machine gun one. Though it was kinda confusing at first. Good job!

Croze says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:38pm

That was actually really addictive, also quick note not sure if it's a bug or not; I would hear the enemy firing sound played a lot but no enemy bullets were on the screen, maybe the enemies that you don't kill and move you behind you keep shooting and playing the sound? Well done though.

AlphaCow says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Very fun r8 10

Dhim says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:21pm

This game is a ton of fun!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Loved the upgrade progression on this. It was really fun replaying the game and trying out different weapon combinations.

freeholdgames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:05am

This was really a very effective and fun rail shooter. I would have liked if the levels ended instantly when the last enemy was killed, because waiting for the end of the rail got quite tedious, especially in later levels.

SowiHowl says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:18am

I was having minus numbers appearing but without knowing what it was, sounds strange but good work. Howether, I didn't find it very in accord with the Ludum Dare theme...

humbleness says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:48am

This was actually a lot of fun (I enjoyed choosing bounce and then upgrading to machine gun :D ). Can never go wrong with a tank game. Gotta love the cs sounds as well

Hambone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:59am

This is awesome! I think this would be amazing with a military re skinning.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Very fun, some very meaningful powerup choices through the game. Great job!

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:54pm

You must be a Battlezone fan :). I had fun firing rocket-cylinders at my enemies!

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Haha, this was really fun. The weapon customization was easily the highlight for me. I kept wanting to play the next level so I could see what ridiculous upgrade I could get. Shotgun spiral rockets that drop grenades!

I didn't mind the sparse visuals, but there were definitely some things that could have helped readability for me. The red "corpses" lying around confused me many times. It was often hard to figure out which enemies were still alive. The flat gray ground texture made it hard to judge movement and distance. Even a simple checkerboard pattern would help a lot. In conjunction with that, drop shadows under the projectiles would help me judge how close bullets are to me.

Finally, I wish the level would end when I've killed everything rather than having to wait for the tank to finish its movement. All in all though, it was really fun and with a little more visual clarity could be downright addicting. Great work!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:38am

Great use of programmer art! I loved the idea of building your weapon throughout the game - adds a lot of replay value.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:31am

Viscerally satisfying. I had no idea at first that it was a rails shooter, I tried to steer. A little bit of texture on the ground would have cleared that up rather quickly.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:27am

I thought the weapon customization was really cool, and had a lot of potential. The easiness of the game, however, dampened my enjoyment. I highly recommend focusing on balancing the difficult of the game.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:51am

It's like Battlezone on acid.

Would recommend.

tughan says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:56pm

I really liked the programmer art and the gameplay overall. Good job!

celisoft says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:11am

It's a good start. Hope you'll continue the game after the jam.

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:20pm

I disagree about the difficulty. For a game jam / compo game, I really liked that it was easy! I still died the first time, and beat it the second time.

Having an easier game means people rating 50+ games can see all of yours, have fun, and rate it. This is better in my opinion than them having to spend half an hour. It's not reasonable to spend half an hour on every game because they are so hard.

As others may have said, the red corpses were confusing. Red is usually a warning, dangerous color. Maybe turning them from red to gray would be better. I feel like there was also a partly red enemy that was still alive.

The weapon customization was my favorite idea here. You could try making a fun full game based on this concept. The rocket launcher with sniper power was quite satisfying when the blocks went flying.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]