Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Floyd the Pufferfish: Slayer of Squid

by killako - Compo Entry

Unconventional Weapon: The player is a puffer fish. Puff to great sizes to eliminate your prey.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#109Fun3.74
#187Humor3.47
#247Mood3.32
#333Overall3.41
#389Theme3.53
#406Audio2.97
#529Graphics3.09
#608Innovation3.03

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:29am

Pretty enjoyable game. Good job!

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:31am

Pretty cool! The mechanics slightly reminded me of pac-man. My highscore was 32.

Dan Norder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37am

I like this one. The game is simple but effective. The puffer fish is fun and funny. My only real complaints are that the collision detection seems a bit too unforgiving and the total mass of jellyfish seems at times impossible to avoid. Some tweaking would make this shine.

ss64games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:00pm

This is a nice arcade game. Whenever I play a game with a timed powerup like this I like to have some kind of cue (an animation, a change in color, music, or some other creative thing) to tell me when the powerup is about to be exhausted. For example: how the invincible stars work in Mario.

I think the core game is good, but the presentation could use some added polish. A music track would help and maybe you could add some nice particle effects (like a trail of tiny bubbles following the squids). Anyway, solid game and fully functional!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Puffing up and splatting them is so satisfying!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Sound effects were hilarious and the graphics are as cute as they can get. Maybe some music on the background would've been a nice touch. All different kinds of squids are great, but I kind of missed a better way of recognizing them instead of the slight change of color.

Solid entry. Good work!

killako says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:18am

Thanks everyone for the comments! Really means a lot to hear the feedback. Definitely agree with the criticism.

Towards the end of the 48 hours I was madly tweaking the amount of enemies that spawn at the later levels. Currently its capped at 20, but I'm finding that 16 seems to be a much more manageable number.

Also I've been showing my game to a lot of my friends and they too say that getting a notification for when the breath is about to expire would be helpful.

On collision detection: Unity's animation controller doesn't seem to handle dynamically changing colliders on game objects, I believe this is the reason that collisions seem off. I'm currently refining that as well, thanks for bringing that up.

Lastly, about pufferfish color and art refinement: both would be great! I think that adding music would help gamers get into that "squid slaying rhythm" and perhaps adding a more distinguished look to the different enemies (maybe in their headbands?)

Just wanted to comment and say that I do really appreciate all the feedback, and for playing my game.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:20am

Quite fun, the amount & position of the jellies was well done, would be easier to just press a key to inflate (esp if you don't have a touchpad mouse).

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:24am

Nice concept. Cute art and very fun sounds, an interesting mechanic that could be more explored. Some polishes would be welcome. Congrats!

mentatzoe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:35am

That was really cute. And fun. Love the sound effects!

novadream says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Got a high score of 66!
Simple yet highly enjoyable game. Really liked the silly animations and sound effects. :D

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:19pm

That was a fun game to play :D. Really cute graphics here and I do like the whoop whoop sound when catching bubbles. I miss some background music here and maybe once in a while a boss enemy but nevertheless, good job! Simple but addictive gameplay!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Simple idea, executed well. Loved his face when he puffed up.

Sometimes you do end in a state from which you can't escape losing health. But other than that I have no complaints

Plays well.

coderitual says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Too bad it does not work on mobile device. Imho it's too simple but there are many ways to make it more satisfying. Besides, it is cool (I like the large version of the fish).

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Neat little game, definitely could've used some music though. Also, I was expecting to get a little bit of my bar refilled when I picked up bubbles in the big puffer fish mode, and was a little upset that it just wasted them :P

John Vanis says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Nice game man.

Park says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:35am

Splat sound is funny, cute graphics too. A smaller hitbox for the fish might be nice, I didn't expect the end of my tail to take damage. Pretty fun overall. ・ᴗ・

seankimdesign says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 5:12am

That was very enjoyable. I could see this game becoming successful on a mobile platform as well. Great job!

steboots says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Overall not a bad piece of work, and not bad for the event. This is nit picky, but I felt I should've been able to continue to charge the blue bar when I picked up bubbles while inflated. Overall fun.

goerp says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:03pm

As simple as the idea might seem, I found it quite addictive.
It played well and was fun and I like the home made sound effects.
I think you got something here. maybe some more sounds (music!)and some more different enemies and maybe bonuses ?

CiderPunk says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:41pm

nice, could use some sort of indication of when the spike modes gonna run out!

BIZM says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:29am

Loved this game. The controls were great, the mechanics were solid, the difficulty progression was fair, the graphics were charming, and the sounds were hilarious. Only complaint is that the hitbox for the uninflated fish seemed way too big - the pufferfish was being damaged by squids that were not touching it. Aside from that, fantastic job! :)

lkpridgeon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Nice game. Simple but yet satisfying theme with responsive controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]