Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Snowball's Chance

by MasterOfNaN - Jam Entry

As the last child drifts off to sleep, you awake from your frosty slumber, for another night of... wait, what's this? A hat? A RED hat? That wasn't there every other night, and nor was this bonfire. There's nobody around, perhaps you could just pick up and try the hat on - what's the worst that could happen?

Besides - say a hoard of possessed snowmen with burning stick arms started running towards you - you could always make a snowball out of... yourself, and hurl it at their heads to knock them off!

Instructions:
Throwing snowballs can make heads roll, but also makes you smaller.
Fires make you melt. Moving over fresh snow makes you grow.
Picking up hats earns you (style) points.
Make it through the night, for a survival bonus.

Controls:
WASD - move
Mouse - look
Left-click / spacebar - throw snowball
Esc / Q - pause menu

Also supports a range of controllers. Right trigger throws.

We hope you enjoy it - let us know your thoughts, here and on twitter - @MasterOfNaN and @mdstweet

Colin and Matthew

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#147Innovation(Jam)3.70
#166Theme(Jam)3.84
#229Graphics(Jam)3.86
#306Mood(Jam)3.36
#308Overall(Jam)3.46
#312Fun(Jam)3.32
#464Audio(Jam)2.90
#549Humor(Jam)2.79

Comments

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Very nice mechanics. Love the shaders and the overall look.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Thanks very much!

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Looks great, but it's a little hard to control.

dray says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Cool game, using all of our snow should kill us i think to have a real problem when spamming it. love all the details on the snow path and rolling body and the sound is great.

illuware says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Cool idea. Nice touch increasing the specular on a small ball, making it seem wetter.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Thanks very much for the feedback folks, keep it coming!

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:07pm

The shaders are amazing. How the snow gets rolled inside you. So awesome! When i realized that i can shoot down the heads of the enemy snowman, it was awesome. Nice work!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Had some performance issues with the game on my laptop. I'll try later on my desktop. No rating for now. :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

These is really nice and simple, it looks great and you created a cool mood. I love the snow effects! Great job.

rplnt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Great idea and very nice execution. The level could use some work so it's not only backing away. Also AI for enemies. Definitely work on this more, it has potential.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:21pm

@rplnt Definitely. We did what we could across the board within the time limit, but we'd definitely like to do more with the AI and general flow of the level. The hat collection bonus is our main feature to encourage more varied movement and risk-taking at the moment. Thanks for the feedback!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19pm

The mechanics were awesome! Very novel idea. Looked great as well. Super job!

diiq says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Haha, I also noticed we had very similar names :D

Very nice work on yours -- much more suitable for the theme. I love the way the snowman gets 'wetter' as it melts. As others noted, there's a lot of backing away -- would be nice to have some baffles to hide behind now and again.

Simon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:43pm

I loved it. It's very strange. Almost creepy. And this feels just right, the mechanic is so obvious but at the same time so different that what we are used to :)

bernardery says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Best LD32 game I've played so far. Great job!

eott says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:18pm

I really like the mechanic of moving to grow big. I would have liked a bigger and more varied level, but given the time constraint it's better than nothing. Nice game!

ianburnette says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:13am

Woohoo! Survived the night! A lot of really excellent design decisions. Enemies carrying fire and shrinking (and thus becoming harder to kill), the snowball/size relationship, and the snow and the ground getting rolled up - I especially like this last one. Besides the excellent shader work, it really challenges you to try different routes around the level and the feeling of anxiety increases.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Wow, thanks again for the very supportive and constructive comments!

novadream says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Excellent mechanics and theme! :D
I really loved the way you had to keep moving in order to accumulate a limited resource (which is wonderfully familiar to anyone from a snowy region).

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:07pm

The idea of using what is essentially your health as ammo and then having to go collect more health is a very interesting idea and it worked really well. The only real problem is that the frame rate is slow and the controls are slippery. The actual mechanics of the game, however, are very neat indeed.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I scored 10,000 :D

Nice concept, I liked the snowman size mechanic with rolling on the snow and firing, made me not spam shoot everything. I found it too easy to strafe around the perimeter of the map - suggest perhaps setting varied spawn locations for enemies or having them drop fire onto the ground for longer to close off paths.

Overall good job and I'd like to see this game a bit more fleshed out in a post-compo version! :D

diegomachado says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:19pm

That's a nice and clever concept! This sound ambiance set some great mood too.

arhpositive says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Finally played it. Solid game with a fantastic idea. It felt quite hard at first but it gets easier when you familiarize yourself with the movement. Collecting hats is hard with all the enemies around, though.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Thanks very much for the continued feedback - we really appreciate it!

kevdev says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Great game!

mystakin says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Really cool game mechanics. Impressed by the effect of the snow coming off the ground and sticking to the snowman. Cool game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]