Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Crookman

by wearehomebound - Jam Entry

A short game that involves household objects. Play it on fullscreen!

Our first team jam and our first Ludum Dare! We're all beginners in this team, so we're pretty happy to have something cohesive to share at least. We are excited to be contributing to this Ludum Dare, and we look forward to participating in future events. Please explore our work and let us know if there is anything we can work on.

There should be around 17 items to use, as well as two combos.

Made with Twine 1.4.2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Mood(Jam)4.13
#128Theme(Jam)3.92
#146Overall(Jam)3.70
#261Fun(Jam)3.40
#262Graphics(Jam)3.79
#266Humor(Jam)3.38
#403Innovation(Jam)3.26
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

sally_anne says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

The objects you get seem to come pretty randomly, which I like. I played it a few times and didn't get three items very often, I think it would have been cool to have to choose more between items. Otherwise was fun.

RobotParking says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:27am

WOW VERY COOL. REALLY DIG THE ART

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:41am

The graphics rock like hell.
Real solid work and impressed what you've done with Twine.
Simple but/and solid game.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:40am

Awesome graphics!

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:43am

Haha, great job on the mood. Liked the ending, only wished the game was a bit longer, but that's partially because I loved it so much!

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:07am

Sweet pixel art! When the crook comes out, it reminds me of something from an old bootleg NES game I had as a kid. Great stuff.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:09am

Oh, wow.
I gotta say, this is the most harrowing, unnerving thing I've played in a while.
Genuinely intense, and terrifying. Well done. Visuals and sound were both top notch, and the writing was just sparse enough to increase the tension.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:10am

It's really fun to fight with household objects.

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:24am

Lol. Really like this game. Lighter, Roach, & a Cactus? Great take on the theme as well.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:26am

Nice game, the artwork sets the mood really well.

OddballDave says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:22pm

I liked it. And I beat the intruder. Interesting idea. Would have liked to have found something in every location I searched and had it more about which combos work best, but that's only a small gripe. Good stuff.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Nice game! I like the concept. The sounds and the art gets you into the mood pretty good. Well done! :)

stvr says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:48am

Far more fun than I expected! A really neat and fun idea.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:09am

It's interesting seeing how you worked with Twine. I like the self-created frantic pace that you guys have evoked. Good work.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:27am

This is pretty cool, reminds me of old games I used to play as a kid on the BBC Electron at school haha! Took me 3 goes to defeat him, where I found glove, soap and WRENCH - classic ;)

Yword says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:27pm

The atmosphere and mood are really good and the narrative is quite interesting too! Well done!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:41am

My only real complaint was the loot being a little too random. In at least two games I found no items at all. In other cases I kept getting hardly any items -- just one or two. It would be funnier if there were a huge variety, and you had a better chance of a combo.

Improvement suggestions: Some sound effects for the "weapons" would be awesome. Not having to click "go back" every time I check a location would be awesome.

ALL THAT SAID, well done! Hilarious entry with a great mood. The first time the burglar appeared with the crack of thunder, it made quite an impression.

caryoscelus says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:48pm

That's a lot of graphics and sound for a typical Twine game! Which sets a nice atmosphere.

It's kinda fun, but weapon use seems pretty random and thus there's not much control. The game is too short for that to become bothering though.

Chaoslab says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:16am

Nice old school horror entry.

spin-down says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 6:44pm

This was great fun, and the graphics were fantastic! You've definitely nailed the theme with this entry. I also liked as the audio as well.

Druid says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Wow, this reminded me old czech text games which i really loved! Gameplay was pretty fun! I played this one few times :) Amazing job!

HybridMind says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Super cool game! That heart beat sound really worked to get me stressed out. Finally won on the 4th attempt!

Zeriver says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Great atmosphere, i really felt the pressure. Nice approach on the theme, great graphics, audio and definitely the best mood in all Ludum Dare games i've played so far.
Great job!

Red_Fan games says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:05pm

The art was phenomenal and had great style, more of and experience than a game though

drludos says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Excellent game - I didn't know you could make such intense game with Twine!

I like the art, the idea, and the final result - a perfect LD entry!

Zcience says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:36pm

I think this is quite a good game. I like the art style, nothing too fancy but, together with the music and the hearth-throbbing, is fitting the dark and gloomy, uncertain and threatening mood. Even though it isn't a new idea, it was really well done!
Your idea of implementing the theme was really good and worked out, I think. My problem was, that it really seemed quite random, where you would find which item. Maybe you could have made it more likely to find certain items at certain places, so one can actively try to obtain useful items. Or if you did that, I didn't seem to recognize a pattern :/
Still, fun game, nice implementation of the theme, great art and mood creation - well done!

mathmadlen says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:55am

This is one of my favourites use of the theme, pretty nifty! The mood is great, it creates the sense of urgency and tension. I really enjoyed this one!

MiniBobbo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:22am

I'm not sure what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn't to beat the intruder with a glove, a sock and a cactus!

The mood was wonderful! If you made the music loop a little longer I think it would have made the ending more satisfying.

Saker Games says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:15am

Very solid game. Good work! :)

Rulrite says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:11am

Awesome game! The graphics and the music really give a great sense of tension; I liked the decision to have the crook appear only as a shadow.

Marek Lisý says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:56am

Fun :)

May 10, 2015 @ 9:24am

Feels like the good old text games, like the pictures, really fun.

Jakob37 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:01am

Nice atmosphere. Felt good to hurl a cactus at the intruder :)

goerp says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:42am

For me, best take on the theme I have seen!
Moody, funny, nice pixel graphics.

Well done!

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:50am

Now *that's* how you do the Unconventional Weapon theme! Very intense for a game with almost no animation! Great use of mood, and fun to replay!

May 11, 2015 @ 8:09pm

And here I thought there was no Twine game! I can't believe you used Twine BTW, you really managed to tweak it. And I can't believe it was your first time either. Anyway, a very interesting entry...it's a bit difficult not to die though 8)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]