Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Very Literal Fall Of Atlantis

by Sergi Montaner - Jam Entry

Agressive marketing pitch:

-Survive the chaos of the last day of Atlantis in a stressful point and click physics platformer.
-Use falling ruins to propulse yourself up to the surface while dealing with the worst trafic jam in the city history caused by other struggling atlanteans.
-Extinction was never so much fun!!

Instructions:

-Left Click to jump in arrow direction.
-Jumping from ruins give more impulse
-Arrive to the top to survive

PopupLovers is:

-Ana Jiménez - Art
-Sergi Montaner - Programming
-Pau Novau - Programming

External resources used:
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/528426? - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#103Graphics(Jam)4.21
#213Humor(Jam)3.47
#270Fun(Jam)3.38
#316Mood(Jam)3.34
#346Overall(Jam)3.41
#468Innovation(Jam)3.17
#1013Theme(Jam)2.14

Comments

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:17am

it was hard at start to understand controls, but at the end I got it! awesome graphics! :)

admix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:12am

Well done, guys, I love the animation! =)

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:31am

This is hilarious and fun. I like it.

Curial says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:55am

Nice graphics, easy to learn how to play and hard to reach top. It would be nice to have a metters counter to know if you are doing well.

I like a lot the overall mood!

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Fantastic mood, astonishing visual and great audio! Gameplay is also really catchy and fun!

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Nice game, good graphics and idea.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Well done, nice animations and music. But really difficult and the random pieces cause frustration :) Maybe I am just bad at it.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05pm

No he conseguido pasarmelo, volveré a jugar más tarde. Buen trabajo chicos! :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Thanks for your feedback. The random really needs more work, but we ran out of time.
We experimented with visual feedback on remaining distance but we ended up erasing it.

The idea was to crush enemies with the impulse you give to the pieces but we didn't have time for it, so we are not expecting really high scores for the theme.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:31pm

I love the artwork and music, really helps create the mood. My only critique is that I'm not sure how it fits the theme of Unconventional Weapon...! still fun though.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Sooooo difficult to get to the top! Haven't got much far, can't get a decent amount of connections from platform to platform.

Your game is nicely executed, great graphics and nice mechanics. However, I do not see the link with the theme. And it is too difficult for me. Nevertheless, good work!

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Good mechanics and art. The control could have some more action, but still a good game.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55pm

It takes a while to get the grasp of it, but once you do that it becomes really fun and addicting. The visual style is also amazing, congrats to the team! :)

stevenlr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Very cool game! The game mechanic is really original and "stressful" as you say. ^^ The graphics are extremely polished and so is the music. Great mood overall. It would make for a really great mobile game.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Gorgeous graphics and flawless controls. A music a bit too loud but man it was awesome.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Hehe I should have noticed the music thing when I was stopping the game to hear something when talking on Skype
A mobile port should be fairly easy to do (at least on android, which I could also upload on itch.io)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Very fun game! The progression is a bit too random other than that it's really good. Love the music it fits perfectly!
Art & animations are very pleasant to look at! Good job guys!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:58pm

This game is hard, ahah. But the idea is original and I liked the graphics, they're humorous and cute. Good job ^^.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:25pm

This was pretty fun. Good job on the animation and controls. :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Not bad, would work nice in smartphones. Nevertheless, the theme doesn't appear at all

Zener says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Very good idea, the game is easy to learn and the graphics are excellent!!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Too bad you didn't have time to add the unconventional weapon. I guess you drew inspiration from Stalagflight (or other similar games)? Very nice graphics though!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Wow! Didn't know this game at all (now i have to play it), and the concept its the same.
In fact we wanted to do the typical ninja scene where the protagonist climbs through falling rocks that appears in so many movies/animes, but the physiscs were so floaty that we changed the theme to something underwater.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Really fun to play, and an original mechanic. Theme doesn't seem to play much of a part though?

BIZM says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Funny and pretty intense to play. Easy to learn and hard to beat! The art style is really fun and love the epic/intense music. Great job!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:13am

Cool idea, I found the controls a little fiddly at first but soon got the hang of them. Good job!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Great idea, lovely graphics and music. The controls were a bit iffy sometimes - I'd click and nothing seemed to happen. Needed to bit a bit snappier in my opinion. Also sometimes there was literally no platforms to jump onto = instant game over :(.

Could be brilliant with a little more work :D

Mouch says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:09am

Great game. The only thing i can complain about are the characters that don't look like anything.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:29am

Fun game! I thought the serious music against the cute art was very funny. Sometimes there seemed to be nothing to jump to, but other than that, I had no problems. Good job!

daredevildave says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Great fun. Not sure about the theme, and also it's really hard. I don't think I lasted more than a few seconds. But fun.

May 2, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Beautiful looking game. Couldn't stop myself playing trying to reach the surface. Only thing I can suggest is having some sort of visual representation of how close you are to the goal. Even if when you died it said you were 100 metres from the surface. This way the player would know if they are getting better or worse. Extremely nice polished entry though.

May 9, 2015 @ 5:35am

Excellent graphics. A bit hard for me though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]