Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Trashbag

by DopplerInteract - Jam Entry

You are Trashbag.

How to Play:

Pick up trash. Throw it in the air. Smash it with your tyre iron. Destroy wasters.

Left, Right / A, D to move.
Left mouse button aims your tyre iron. Hold to power up. Release to swing.
Right mouse button tosses trash in the air.
Right mouse button picks up trash if empty-handed.
Hold / move left mouse button to power up and aim your tyre iron.
Space to Jump.

The City is choking on a quickly rising-sea of yesterday's phones.

Electronics cluster in the streets. Wasters endlessly generate trash.

Take your tyre-iron and cleanse the world: Destroy the trash, and use it to turn the tables on the wasters.

A thick phone to the face will swiftly put an end to the cycle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#320Humor(Jam)3.26
#329Innovation(Jam)3.37
#475Graphics(Jam)3.37
#529Mood(Jam)3.04
#549Theme(Jam)3.31
#619Fun(Jam)2.90
#651Overall(Jam)3.06

Comments

Alex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:03am

Love the graphics. The toss-then-smack-mechanic was fun once I got the hang of it. Nice work!

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33am

Good fun, mechanics were nice, moving seemed a little unresponsive though. Good job! :)

goglmogl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35am

web not work

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37am

Really cool enviromentalist game!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37am

Loved the art style and the comical blasts of text after 'Cleansing' the trash. The physics system and particle effects made for a very satisfying game feel.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42am

Nice game! It reminds me of my first game jam game, also with vigilante theme. I like the feedback when I hit something.

cdrch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:26am

Amazing art direction and well-executed idea. A good example of gameplay that you can discover through experimentation. As a minor point, the in-game quit button did not work, though the game exited normally with closing the window.

Mateus Culpo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:49am

This game is interesting, simple to control, more strange to the directional pad to right it gets stuck and runs without even for not pressing, congratulations

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Awesome. Nice take on the theme choice. Love the simple yet tricky interactions!

sandrohaag says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Pretty cool game mechanics!

alexbergingd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45pm

makes me want to throw my phone on the ground 5/5

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:59am

i liked it, some mouvement bug, but I enjoyed it either way.
Nice job !

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:18am

Awesome! Super fun, mechanics are great and art too. The ingame tutotial was a great addition. Loved it!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Nice mechanics with smooth graphics! "NEXT THING!" :D

binarycoder says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Solid.

Mouch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Nice Artwork and a good idea but the movement is buggy on the linux version.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Cool idea. Controls were a bit finnicky, but overall worked, and it had a nice look to it.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:07pm

I really like the art style here. The movement controls are odd though, as the character seems to keep moving in a direction only when you tap and let go of a movement key once, instead of changing direction or stopping moving in real time based on the player's input. Making those controls more intuitive would go a long way. Nice work!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Fun game, liked the art a lot. The controls were a little wonky, but otherwise a great idea!

Leandrus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Crazy game. I like it but the controls are crazy too.
You get moving at random it seems.
Thanks for sharing.

hadesfury says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Not very easy to control, but the throwing lechanic gets fun, once you get the hang of it

xandy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:51pm

interesting mechanics. in the web player i didn't stop walking right and had to turn left every time to stop :( still fun and innovative!

Druid says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Excellent idea :D I had so much fun with this one :D Smashing people with selfie stick... LOL :D

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Haha nice game. :D

Sometimes the player character just started walking in some direction though. :(

Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Nice game, fluid mechanics and controls. Good art too! Congratz ^^

GarethIW says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Kinda janky controls-wise, but it had this trance-like effect on me that made me keep playing until I cleaned up the town. Took me 10 minutes to win though!

reiknight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:03pm

It is hard to move, a bit bugged. Nevertheless here is my opinion: HAHAHAHAHAHA! amazing game

pixzleone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Overall nice.

nguyenmv2 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:30pm

The movement was very buggy for me and I could only do actions while facing left. Also, I found the fact that all the enemies were the same model as the player to be confusing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]