Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Adventures of Band Boy

by silentbaws - Jam Entry

Adventures of band Boy is a top down 3D game where you fight off hordes pencils. You are a school child armed only with weak and strong rubber bands and are tasked with fighting off the sentient wooden pencils. See how long you can survive the onslaught of your pencil case.

Team with links:

Music was done by Zerithax https://soundcloud.com/zerithax
Programming done by Davis http://www.twitter.com/silentbaws
Character/pencil model by David http://www.twitter.com/datoverlayguy
Image #1 done by Dekatophos http://www.twitter.com/Dekatophos
Map and other assets by Caleb no link available

CONTROLS:

Enemy health increases by 1 every second you're alive

WASD/Left Analog Stick -> Move Up, Left, Down, Right
Mouse/Right Analog Stick -> looks around
Left Mouse Button/Right Trigger -> shoot weak shot 50 damage
Hold Right Mouse Button/Left Trigger -> Charge strong shot
Release RMB/LT -> Shoot strong shot does charge/2 as damage

Move/Look with controller to use gamepad controls and move with WASD to switch to Mosue and Keyboard Controls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#379Audio(Jam)3.06
#495Theme(Jam)3.38
#810Fun(Jam)2.62
#855Mood(Jam)2.52
#869Graphics(Jam)2.41
#935Overall(Jam)2.66
#984Innovation(Jam)2.09

Comments

Irisfyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41pm

gr8 m8 r8 8/8

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:00am

I'm sorry, I can't play this, Linux and Web only.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:38am

The movement being bound to the direction the character faces is pretty awkward. Also found a bug where if you shoot while too close to a wall, it hits the wall right away - effectively doing nothing.

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:39am

Interesting. Could use more sound effects. I like the setting of the game though.
Overall: It's ok. The art is cool and the music was ok. Game play, basic.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:12am

nice concept, but make a mac build next time

djfariel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13am

Playing this game backwards is super fun.

block97 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:15am

Really cool use of the theme. The movement is kind of weird be cause your mouse not only aims, but changes the orientation of the player making it sometimes difficult to move around. Besides that its very good!

koredozo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16am

Agreed on the movement being awkward. It's also a little annoying how the screen jerks every time you fire a shot.

huga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:18am

That was super difficult to control! But I liked the art a lot.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25am

Nice idea (elastic bands/pencil case), however I feel it's poorly executed.
Gameplay could use some work, as the concept is overly simple, especially for a jam entry. Considering this was a team of four, I honestly expected more...
The music, however, was my favourite part of the game and kept the whole thing enjoyable.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:07am

Really fun! Loved the visuals and the music, and the images and words drawn on the notebook were hilarious.
Gameplay was fun, and I liked that you left the option open to change the level design around by going to the narrow upper level.

Dekatophos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:09am

Best game ever, 10/10, would play all day... all night... Johnny, la gente esta muy loca, wtf! ... Btw, awesome drawing! Music was amazing! The 3D models are perfectly done and game functionality is neat! Good job guys!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:30pm

I liked the music! cool entry!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Really cool music, and the gamepad controls were really smooth. Nice use of the theme, too.

Having a few sound effects (like one for each of the types of shot, one for hitting an enemy and another for an enemy hitting you) would have helped the immersion a lot, but a solid entry all the same.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Linux please :/

yackeroeni says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Decent enough, but feels like you were mostly interested in figuring out UE4. The result is fun enough to play, but the UI is seriously lacking. I couldn't actually see my own health because the game refused to go full screen.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]