Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Rock the Paper and the Scissors

by BIZM - Jam Entry

**UPDATE**
Thank you for all the awesome feedback! We're turning this entry into a full game called Rhythm Ranger. Check out our website at http://rhythmranger.com

[DESCRIPTION]

A Western rhythm game!

You are Lefty the bounty hunter. Use your epic skills to take on a deadly crew of train robbers. Your weapon: Rock Paper Scissors!

[HOW TO PLAY]

Left Arrow - Rock
Up Arrow - Paper
Right Arrow - Scissors

An "attack" happens when your hand and one of your opponent's hands are facing each other. If you win, your opponent loses a point. If you lose, you lose a point. Whoever loses all their points first is instantly vaporized.

Watch out! Bandits can use either hand, and some can even regenerate their points with a bandit shout!

[KNOWN ISSUES]

These are issues we know about. They are fixed in the post-jam version.

- Very rarely, the enemy actions will go out of beat.
- When the music loops, the enemies have a chance to stop moving completely.

[CREDITS]

Team BIZM:
- Bogdan (@bogdan_rybak): programming, audio, effects
- Igor (@Helgram): artwork, animation
- Zi (@MajorMcDoom): programming, levels, effects
- Megan (@citystreetlight): artwork, animation

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.61
Audio(Jam)4.72
Coolness94%
Mood(Jam)4.60
Graphics(Jam)4.81
Theme(Jam)4.55
Fun(Jam)4.33
#12Humor(Jam)4.24
#18Innovation(Jam)4.22

Comments

railslave says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Wow... just wow, magical and that muzak!, enjoyed the humour as well.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:57pm

This is really worth checking out! It was a little hard to catch the RPS symbols though: it felt like playing a rhythm game without the falling symbols to prompt me. The game felt amazing, though, so it was still fun to study my opponent carefully.

ajopart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09pm

5 stars. Period

DoItForWilson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:45pm

This game is fantastic !!! Will have to truly master it, but I love it !!!

Better than Guitar Hero by far !!!

nevet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:01am

Love the graphics! love the music! love the animation!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:05am

Really fun, nice graphics and music too. I like how you have to go with the music. Ha my game, Frisbee Training, was set on a train too. :) Great job!

goadrich says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:26am

This is amazing! Perfect match for the theme, the music is integral to the gameplay, the graphics and animations are awesome, I knew intuitively what I should be doing as I played, the difficulty ramped up appropriately at each stage. I want to keep playing this game, will be adding it to my bookmarks!

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:48am

Loved the game! I liked the way the music fits with the cowboys movements! The game is absolutely intuitive.
Loved the idea and the general application.
The art is unquestionable, from the animations until the effect that the sun causes when it reaches the plateaus, and by the way, this west ambientation really attracts me!
Even the tittle is genial! I personally love The Good, the Bad and the Ugly.
Congratulations again for all the team, you really reached it!
Totaly five stars!
-Gabriel Fern

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:12am

A really fun rhythm game with fantastic graphics and music! I love it!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:53am

I love the idea. Good work... fantastic artwork :D

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:40pm

This was amazing! 5 stars everywhere!

Got stuck on the third person, though - saw he was healing, but wasn't sure how to offset it?

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Cool idea, well executed. Love the art style

BIZM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:33pm

@Bensonance, try hitting him with 4 papers in a row when he's not healing! :D Remember, his left hand counts too!

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Wow, I love this. Really enjoyed the music and the whole rhythm. Well done.

S0lll0s says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Epic music, great art and nice idea. Also very fitting altogether, conveys a great atmosphere.

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:48pm

This was amazing

bror_charlie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Fives across the board. Incredible game guys. Good luck!

Zak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:48pm

You killed it guys

Ithildin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Brilliant! You did a great job in all fields, and the rock-paper-scissors fit nicely into the theme. Awesome job!

randoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:21pm

This is the best entry I've seen so far! Amazing game! The graphics, the music, the mood, everything fits perfectly. Had tons of fun playing it!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:25am

Wow, amazing! And difficult too! Top marks all around.

Team MAC says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:01am

Fantastic game! Everything works well together - the art, the music, the game play. I like the way you run across the trains to get to the next opponent. Great job.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:32am

This game was fantastic in every way! I can not get over how well this was done in every way. Just killer! Great job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:04am

Nice entry. I like this aesthetic. Neat. Thumps up !

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:55am

AMazing music and awesome mechanic! Kind of like a mind bending rhythm action puzzle thing. Love it.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Really great entry! Awesome graphics, music and mechanic. Great interpretation of the theme. Took me a minute to recognize how I was supposed to play but once I got it I had fun.

StrayByte says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:53pm

What can i say. Best game ever. Everything is in place.

DKoding says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Perfect score from me

Mouch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Oh man, this is the best game I've played yet.
- The gameplay is so funny
- It has sooo nice pixel art and graphical effects.
- The music, characters and environment build a perfect cowboy, wild-west feeling
- The game fits perfectly to the theme

5/5 Awesomeness!!! Do more games! :DDD

dos says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:21am

Soooo cool!

Buzzwerd says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:37am

Best LD game I've played so far. Serious props, keep it comin'!

Carduus says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:43am

My gosh, you make rock paper scisors a true game, fun and deep, GFX& music are stunning,I love the light scatering shader on the monument valley's rocks, my favourite entry ! Animation are gorgeous.
Awesome, nothing else to say.

PixelStuff says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:34am

Rythm, music, graphics, this is perfect !

01101101 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Excellent game all around! I was laughing the whole time, music and graphics are really great... Amazing job, congrats!

eott says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Absolutely amazing. I don't find any flaw with this.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:21pm

This game is so good! And I completed it! :D

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Stupid awesome. Great style! so many 5's!

hexagore says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Outstanding. Fun, engrossing and beautiful. I love the music too.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Purely gorgeous, the art is amazing, the music and sounds are amazing, it feels really great to play and the theme is fully respected.
A very polished game, congratulations!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:09pm

This game is the f*cking BOMB! So good! I love the rhythmic nature of the 'combat', and the presentation around the mechanics is super ace. Good job!

markusfisch says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Wow!!! The music, the sounds, the graphics, the animation - I'm totally stunned. That game is an example of what mood in game means. Really, really, really great! Thanks for doing that game!

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:52pm

WoW! Amazing job! A lot more complex than I expected. Amazing graphics, audio and mood. 5 stars.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:14am

Truly excellent! Love the music and interesting game concept. 5s all around!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:09am

Absolutely solid entry. A very fascinating take on the rhythm game genre. Instead of punishing the player for not hitting the keys, I like the fact that it actually helps. The woo was kind of annoying...especially since it heals them.

Pattern recognition was a little hard to do, and I kind of would have liked having practice mode in there. Kind of like Parappa the Rapper, where you can practice a little bit to repeat the song's pattern. Makes the memorization part a lot less strenuous.

Hambone says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:27am

all 5's

amazing.

marinalucio says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:47am

This is amazing! I love how it's not only a rock paper scissors game with a twist, it's also a rhythm game with a twist. Great graphics, great sound...everything is great. The learning curve is really good on this one. Congratulations!

FeniX says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I love it! Fun take on the theme, great graphics and sounds! Great job!

killako says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Best Game I've played so far... really innovative

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Such a great game! Love every aspect of it, absolute pleasure to play.

renatopp says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Gosh, this was the best entry ever. Ever.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Wow! My instant favorite, seriosuly.
I love the music, the animations, how some of them "fight" with both hands. The names of the characters, and the rythm mechanic.
Is amazing how something as easy as a copy the pattern game, with the RPS modifier becomes something that cool.
The only thing I would say is that there is a point wher you don't want to memorize so many movements and its almost imposible to play just reacting at what the show you before they "hit".

It would be amazing if your character had also dance moves in the long combos as the enemy has.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Phenomenal job. Loved the graphics!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:18am

Amazing! the art is great, gameplay is great, everything is great. its like a boxing game plus a rhythm game.

sentendo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:06am

flipping awesome!

jprogman says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:52am

I love the real-time strategy. I hate to compare games with other games, but the whole strategy genre reminds me of a boxing game "Punch Out!!."
I have only got to the big boss and couldn't figure out his pattern. Very good work on the game!

sbot1101 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:13pm

outrageously gorgeous gamejam game. I am so bad at it.

decodersmith says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Wow, great art and great music. Best I've seen yet.

reiknight says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:16pm

A-mazing!

Squarlboy says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:40pm

the game would be great on its own but the music and graphics just put it together to make it perfect.

deepnight says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:54pm

This is probably my fav LD entry so far. The art is absolutely perfect: you really put lots of atmosphere in your characters, well done. Each combat is fun & interesting. And the music!! OMG the music. Good job :)

My only (small) comment is about the "hit" feedback, the one when you successfully hit your opponent. It's too heavy and hides the opponent completely for a short duration, making the game very hard to play in pure-reflex mode. You have to learn the pattern and reproduce it from memory, because you can't see the enemy hands while hitting him.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:01pm

My Highest rated entry thus far. Excellente

Yakka says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Five stars everywhere. You won the LD.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:02pm

My Highest rated entry thus far. Excellente

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Yeah, wow! Awesome! Really well put together :)

SledKnight says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Very nice! Absolutely love the shadows cast by the sun.

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:48pm

This is simply amazing ! omg

defacid says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:04pm

So awesome. No criticism, everything was done flawlessly. Keep making more games because you guys OBVIOUSLY work well together.

igoramendola says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:18am

:¬O ohhh!!
This entry is a fantastic work! Lovely graphics, music, gameplay, etc...
Congratulations, very well done :))

Sublustris says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:30am

5 for GFX!

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:45am

Amazing entry. Really, really solid. Clever design, beautiful art and music, and overall just an impressive level of polish. Great work!

Junber says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:23am

Really cool game. Great art and music and nice concept.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:35am

Unique concept, nicely executed.

boateye says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:16am

Five Star Entry! I can't think of a single bad thing to say aside from the simplicity? and that's reaching. Great work!

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:07am

Great!! All 5 stars!!

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:42am

Really nice. Very well executed in every aspect.

Curial says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:18am

This game reminds me lovely memories from Alex Kidd in Miracle World.

Great music, great graphics great gameplay concept. Just wanna see more game :D

Embalaje says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:36am

Funny game! Fantastic graphs and original idea.
Very solid, and professional style.
Really a good Job!

dunin says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:43am

first, I was sceptic. Then I discovered that it's a very cool observation/rythm game! congratulations!

Arche-san says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:20am

Impressive game. The idea matches perfectly with the theme.
This game reminds me sometimes you can be dyslexic with your keyboard ^_^'

WiErD0 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:48am

Great game, love the way you incorporated the western theme! Also, I loved the graphics and the really cool background music. Great job!

rubna says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:09am

amazong!

hadesfury says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Groovy animation !

sputnik says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:41pm

5/5

AxeTheory says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Best game I've played. Good job on art/sound. Love the game play idea.

panurge says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Fantastic! Can't really fault anything about this - I had a blast.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Wow, an amazing job you've done! I spent some time just looking at the game and listening to the music, it's so charming! The only thing that felt questionable is being able to attack faster than the opponents.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Fantastic work like the last time!!!! <3 Keep raising the bar

Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Very, very cool-- I appreciate the mock-Morricone.

My only wish was that it would be clearer when to fire; at the very least in the beginning of the game.

flummox3d says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:58am

The western setting is just brilliant :) Awesome job!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:20am

Best LD game I played so far !

leafo says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:33am

beautifully done

elpaulo says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Music is perfect, graphics are perfect, enemies patterns are original, cool gameplay.

Take all my stars !

coderitual says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Incredible graphics (ah you have even light shafts)! Really like the idea too. This game also looks like finished product. You deserve 5/5. Good job!

AdricZero says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:47am

Very talented team. Polished, innovative and fund to play game. I love the music.

Pixel Heart says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Amazing art style and funny idea :D

OadT says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:45am

To make it short: AWESOME! I love the lightning effect of the sum on the stones in the background

wilbefast says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:53am

First 5/5 this LD :) Love the bandit names and the absurdity of playing "gangsta" RPS on top of a moving train :P

Robber says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:12pm

wow amazing! i didn't imagine the rock-paper-scissors concept could be expanded into such an innovative and polished game, very well done and beautifully executed!

steboots says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:55pm

This was just a beautiful piece of gaming. Can't say anything that hasn't already been said over and over. Good work guys.

dos says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Linux version doesn't have a glowing sun effect :(

Chaoslab says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Awesome well rounded entry. Very delicious! :-)

May 4, 2015 @ 2:03am

Really wonderful game. Took me a while to figure out just how the rhythm worked, but once I did I really got into it.

Snicklodocus says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:33am

Incredible game! I loved the whole thing. Only problem I had was figuring out that Rocky's right hand was also supposed to be matched. I loved the rhythm aspect mixed with figuring out the patterns. Fantastic!

MrShoestore says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:34pm

I think this looks and sounds great, but I had trouble playing. When I got to Rocky I couldn't get him past two points, and my inputs seemed to be lagging to the actual action. maybe the os/x build would be better for me.

okacat says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:30pm

This is superb, so polished, music is fantastic and so are the visuals.

BIZM says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:16am

MrShoestore, we're sorry to hear that! Please bear in mind that both of the enemy's hands count toward the duel. Rocky plays 4 rocks in a row, and then regenerates 4 of his points. This means that you have to knock down all 4 of his points before he regenerates. Hope that helps!

Mach60KAS says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:26am

Fantastic entry - a well thought out rhythm game with an amazing western feel. I absolutely loved the music and lo-fi art style! My only issue is that the bandits seem to stop doing anything sometimes. Great job, keep it up! :)

OddballDave says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Wow! this is such a polished entry. I found it got really hard fairly quickly, but maybe I'm just being a bit rubbish. Great work. Good stuff.

freaknarf says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:08am

HAHAHAHA super nice :] Super good use of RPS gameplay, super nice graphics and animation :] really great. The music adjustment trick is also nice !
Were you traumatized by alex kid too ? Nice work !

recursor says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Very well polished and not what I was expecting. Nice job

Interface says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Perfect game for the theme, great mood with the music and the gfx. Lot of fun, great game!

pikkpoiss says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Oh boy you just killed it with this! I was impressed by the art and music but figured the gameplay would get boring - I was completely wrong! Great job on changing things up and making me learn as I go.

NoWandStudios says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Totally liked it. It's not the most innovative game in the world but the graphics and sound are great and the gameplay it's kinda adictive. Nice work!

May 9, 2015 @ 6:45pm

This is awesome. Great concept, somehow you made rock paper scissors fun! Amazing presentation too, with great pixel art (nice use of god rays on the sun too) and music. Fantastic game overall.

CptDustmite says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:27am

Amazing audio and graphics - I just wished I could get further in the game just to hear the music haha. Super fun thanks guys, gj!

tmpxyz says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:19am

lovely! great piece.

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:44am

Really solid and fun... I love the "tells", and I love the name of the first bandit. Some of the tricks (the third guy) were hard to figure out, but overall it was fair and fun (and the art was just gorgeous!)

Ellian says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Holy shit how could I miss this. This is awesome.
I was thinking "how can they make Rock Paper Scissor fun it's dumb it's gonna be rand- oh wow nice musi-- oh wow nice art--- OH SHIT IT'S SO FUN"

GTA LUDUM V says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 3:47am

GREAT GREAT Game, fantastic music.
5 stars

HenryBell says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 1:20pm

amazing

Frozen Stick says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Neat game play and awesome graphics.The game has a very interesting music and story is acceptable.It make the lame idea of RPS to an amazing theory!It deserves first place.

Rustam says ...
Apr 16, 2017 @ 9:56am

It is imperative that we read blog post very carefully. I am already done it and find that this post is really amazing.
http://matusevichivan32.blogspot.com

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]