Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

BossRun 3000 DeLuxe

by ohai1 - Jam Entry

You are a programmer that got sucked into a virtual world. You must use your glitching power to defeat many bosses (many = 2 in this particular case :D). First one is a Snake. Big. And evil. Second one is a Robot. He is... well... Big. And evil.
Game made using libGDX during local LudumDare event in Lodz University of Technology. You need java installed on your machine to run it.

Second boss xXx_420_MLG_YOLO_BLAZE_pr0tip_xXx: rockets stun robots

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#232Audio(Jam)3.38
#273Graphics(Jam)3.77
#487Fun(Jam)3.10
#504Overall(Jam)3.23
#836Theme(Jam)2.83

Comments

snesgaard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I hate it when this happens to me (getting dragged into an evil alternate dimension with evil snakes of evil).

Pretty nice art style and controls were pretty responsive too. Couldn't figure how to be the second boss though.

timmik94 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:40pm

can vin snake can't win robot. No Dynamics.

benjamck says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Fun little game, sure took me back to Many hours playing Metroid and such games. I loved the audio right from the start. Great job on the artwork too. That robot was big, and evil. I think I need a few more levels to prepare to fight him ;)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:03pm

The game crashed heavily. This is likely due to the low specs on my computer, but I didn't expect a 2d game to be so hardware intensive.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:04pm

lol @xXx_420_MLG_YOLO_BLAZE_pr0tip_xXx, and great job! Going to come back later and play this till I drop the bot.

ohai1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

@CafeAmbivalence Yea, low spec PCs can posibly have some trouble with it, we din't experience any issueas on number of notebooks though.

sentendo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:39pm

can't play :(

CireNeikual says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Very nice art, I also like the way the eyes of the main character google around. It would be nice if there were an auto-fire though, and one that isn't dependent on your tapping speed.

Finn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:50pm

I figured out that the snake takes damage when the bullets dissapear when they collide with his head, but the robot doesn't seem to take damage at all from this logic. So it needs feedback if you're doing damage to the bosses.
Couldn't figure out how to kill the robot, I assume you need to direct his own rockets into him, but the room was so small and jumping seemed to not work half the time.
Best graphics and sound I've seen this LD so far.

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Only tried twice but the difficulty curve is pretty bad. The snake was mind numbingly easy but the robot quite hard, because jumping over him often resulted in getting hit by a missile, the robot or both.

Nice graphics and overall atmosphere too.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

If it was more obvious that you're doing damage to something (like some kind of knockback, noise or tint) then the fights would feel great. The graphics are awesome and the music really suits the theme and the fights.

-Neith

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:14pm

I like that the bosses have different attack patterns. I couldn't beat the robot, because I didn't figure out how. Drawings and audio are nice and fit the game. I would have liked, if you have different kind of attacks and not just shooting. But nice work overall.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Snake battle was fun but I would have prefer slower projectile with timer ( no infinite bounce ) and more damage instead of many bouncing with weak damage.

I could not get more than 2 missiles in robot face, this gameplay is ok but missile should inflict much more damage ( like maybe 4 hits to kill him ? )

Mechamew says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Cool game! Interesting art style and fun concept. The glitch attack was a great idea!

MonoS says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:25pm

The sfx of the protagonist attack is very annoying but the music is good.

I tried defeating the second boss a couple of time but lost in a matter of seconds.

The graphics is pretty cool, mostly the background of the first boss.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Haha this is great. I really liked the detail in the artwork, like the programmer's googly eyes and the robot sprite's red and yellow missiles. You guys should have allowed a humor rating, I would've rated you highly there too :) xXx_420_BLAZE_OHBABYATRIPLE_Xxx was hard to beat because it seemed impossible to avoid the missiles if he was too far away to hit him with them (maybe not? I just couldn't do it), so being able to shoot and destroy the missiles would be sweet. Also, I didn't have problems with it but for others who aren't as familiar with Java you should make it clearer in the description and maybe link to the JRE download page, just to get more people playing your games. All in all a great entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]