Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

High Fiverer

by TheWzzard - Jam Entry

POST-COMPO UPDATE #1:
I added a basic save function so if you accidentally quit or need to take a break you can resume where you left off! You can find the new version on the Gamejolt page!

Show them all that friendship is the ultimate weapon.
The world is filled with lonely skeletons but you the HIGH FIVERER don't see them that way. You know they are really just friends waiting to be made. High Five them to bring out the awesome person that was there all along!

High Fiverer is a rapid-fire-arcade-combo-builder-friend-chaining explosion!
Use the mouse to high five your way to victory!

CONTROLS
-Left click to dash toward the mouse cursor
-Escape to restart the level
-F12 for screenshots

INSTRUCTIONS
-Dash into skeletons to high five them
-Once a dash starts you will only stop if you perform a high five, hit a wall, or have traveled the full distance
-Skeletons become Friends when you high five them
-New friends will move at a percentage of the speed you were moving and in the same direction
-Friends will High Five up to 1 skeleton if they have enough speed
-The cheering sound means a Friend high fived a skeleton, this adds a little time to your combo timer
-Your dash speed will increase as your combo gets bigger but the time your dash takes is always the same
-You will be pulled towards the red circles around the skeletons and those get bigger as the combo increases
-The blue circle around your character shows how much combo time is left

HINT: The combo timer does not start until the first High Five of the level, so you can try different starting points and trajectories.

FEATURES

-13 levels!
-Make lots of friends!
-Combo the whole screen to move on!
-Timings!
-Super positive!
-Tons of visual feedback to parse!

Code, Sound, & Music by TheWzzard
Artwork is CC0 Assets from opengameart with some recolors and edits
Assets used are collected here: http://opengameart.org/content/high-fiverer

This is a solo project, my first jam and my third game ever.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#122Audio(Jam)3.69
#139Theme(Jam)3.89
#147Innovation(Jam)3.70
#195Fun(Jam)3.53
#203Humor(Jam)3.49
#273Overall(Jam)3.51
#369Mood(Jam)3.28

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Sorry, I can't play this, Linux and Web only.

elliottd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:58pm

windows link seemed to not be working

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:00am

I get a "This webpage is unavailable" also.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:01am

Music was good. Some of the audio was a bit off. (yeeaaaahhh). Hadn't played a game quite like this before, but it didn't really feel like it had any where to go besides learning to be a bit better at twitch. Some of the levels looked like they'd be more strategic but it was easier to focus on landing your next H5 rather than plan a route.

TheWzzard says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:01am

thanks for the feedback just fixed it!

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:13am

Good game ,, keep working on this,,

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:45am

Nice game, loved the artstyle!

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:48am

Interesting game would have liked to have a bit more time to pull of high fives, most likely I am just really bad at high fiving though. Will have to practice

Havacore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:51am

I liked your play on the theme, and the music was good. The gameplay took quite a while to figure out, and once I did figure it out, it didn't feel as polished as it should be.

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:08am

Really great music! And interesting weapon too, nice job :D

ETKWorks says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:11am

Took me a few tries to get used to the flow of it, but the game is pretty fun overall. Good art and sound too.

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09am

That was really fun! High Five!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:22am

Really cool concept and super funny. Had a hard time getting combos and making friends. Probably my fault. But a little clearer on the instructions would be nice

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:09am

High fiving skeleton into friends! I like that~!

TheWzzard says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:48pm

I've added a bit more info here on how to play.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10pm

haha. this was good. I especially love the graphics.. 2d pixels for the winz! :D

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:35pm

One of the few games i played all the way trought ahah great job amazing game!

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Great music. I made so many friends!

Jellyhard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Fun game, and amazing music. Loved it.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:35pm

That was pretty funny and I enjoyed the sound. I couldn't quite get the hang of keeping the combo, but it kept me entertained for a bit.

-Hando

runvs says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Great idea.
It's sometimes very confusing where you're currently heading thanks to the frequent zooms but once you get the hang of it you can finish the levels after figuring out the best sequence.

Music and sound effects were nice and fitted the rest of the game.

Good game. :)

reiknight says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:16pm

High five guys!!!

Original idea!!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Pretty good game. Solid mechanics and great music. The camera is a bit confusing

broknecho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Really unique idea. Just like others, I had a little issue jumping in on the camera but I see what you were going for. I managed to spam click the next red circle to jump around instead of learning the sequence but that is a good skill to learn :)

Solid particles and feedback. Good job!

2Bit says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:26am

Really cool game with a good idea. Music and sounds work great. Game is hard but still fun, high fives aren't as easy as they seem.

Jwatt says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:30am

Unique as fuck. An easy to learn but hard to master kind of game, getting long combos is satisfying. Really creative in the audio department too.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Cool and funny idea, although the camera was a bit confusing sometimes!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Really cool, the music hooks you to the game, "one more time, one more time" :-)
Was stuck on one of the last level, kind of frustrating. Also, i accidentally click on the "Main menu" button, and i admit i rage-quitted :-)

But i had a lot of fun on this game, congratulations !

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:12am

Nice approach on the theme, although could be more fun.
I like the zoom in and the effects, but too bad you didn't apply for graphics.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:20am

If the screen resolution is too low, the controls seem to have a significant problem. It doesn't aim correctly.

It's a shame, because I liked what I played. The combo meter is really unforgiving, though.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:21am

Also, to append my last comment, the zoom-in on the high-five makes it very difficult to aim towards the next direction, since there's less to see. I would appreciate not zooming in that close.

TheWzzard says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Visual and control bugs appear when the height of the display is less than 768 because the game right now runs at a fixed 1024:768 resolution. I'll be releasing a bug fix for this soon

TheWzzard says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Bug fix is up! if your screen resolution is 1280:720 or less the window will resize automatically when you load the game.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:05pm

This was so fun to play although it gets a bit hard to control the player as your speed increases in a combo. Also I do wish there was some indication when the current combo is about to finish (I think it might be there but I might have missed it since the combo timer itself seems a bit too short).

Trasevol_Dog says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:54am

Really nice concept. Great music. But the game is too difficult. The combo timer is waaaaay too short. In fact, if you really wanted to make it that short, you may as well just let the player make only one dash and there's no timer at all. But seriously, I understand that a too long timer would have killed momentum but this 'your combo ended' is worse than that. But yea, nice game anyway. I like the enthusiasm !

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Pretty solid game, there's a super interesting idea here with a few tweaks.

crazya02 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Awesome! The gameplay and aesthetics contributed to a silly, exhilarating feel.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]