Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Old Fashioned Beast Hunter

by r8berto - Compo Entry

Hunt beasts with an old-fashioned rifle. Just one bullet per reload, difficult aiming and painful reloading.

My twitter username is @r8bert now!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#233Graphics3.64
#276Overall3.48
#337Mood3.19
#351Innovation3.40
#425Fun3.19
#968Theme2.65

Comments

Jon Reid says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Pretty fun little game, I liked the reloading mecaninc of using the arrow keys. I found it quite hard though, especially when you have to jump on the same platform as the beasts to shoot. Jump shooting would have been nice.

rantt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Man that's tense when you miss ...lol. Really liked the pixel art and the mechanics. I found the difficulty really high, but it makes sense given the weapon you're using. Fun game, I enjoyed it.

Nysten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Pretty fun game, but it was hard. I didin't really get the shooting mechanism, but managed to kill a few beasts. Lack of checkpoints made me to stop playing after a couple deaths though. Nice art style and mood.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36pm

My oh my, this is unforgiving game. Amazing graphics and everything seems very polished. For me it is on border-line between hard versus fun but I bet that was your goal.

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:40pm

How is shooting demons with a shotgun an UNCONVENTIONAL weapon?! That really confuses me....Other then that, the game's okay, other then the shooting mechanic.

Artylo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Cool graphics, innovative mechanics, nice sounds. Great and challenging game overall!

NAL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Goddamn I got wristache from that reloading! Nifty idea but very difficult with the one-hit-return-to-start mechanic and the (obviously deliberate) complicated and time consuming controls. Very pretty though!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

This game is one of my favorites so far. It takes a simple idea, implements it with good mechanics and simple controls, and then applies it to every situation that makes sense. The tension is really something, it keeps you on your toes the whole game. I also really liked the art and sound effects.

The fact that it was pretty hard is what makes it click for me. If this were any easier I'd find it boring, but instead it's exciting. Very well done.

FireCamp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:49pm

nice innovation on gameplay. Like the hunting feeling when you reload and get caught .

Enemies are maybe a bit too fast and level design lacks of fun / diversity. Good use of the theme.
Overall nice game, like it !

siryakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Fun mechanics, nice graphics and realization. Loved it :D

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Really liked the reloading mechanic, make's you think about how to make your next move and not just go blazing towards the enemy. Also nice graphics.

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I killed the big beast! Didn't really appreciate lack of checkpoints.

Clavus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59pm

That was pretty fun but also quite unforgiving. Monsters don't seem to calm down after they're alerted. Every shot is either successful or a death sentence it seems. Lovely graphics.

metalfist213 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Overall it's pretty good. I like the graphics and mood of the game, but I think it feels a bit monotone to play in longer periods. Good job!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:37am

Interesting and insane game! I like the quick reflexes.

Jump and shoot would be a nice addition. Also, the green bar should be a little bigger maybe?

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Love the graphics, simple but great game. I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/N2U1d1bXaPI

rudra says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:54pm

I loved the simple, but well polished graphics, though I think audio would make it better :) But anyways, its a great one ! Had huge fun playing it :)

defacid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:30pm

This is awesome. Please flesh this out into a full release - this is the 2D platformer punishment I'm looking for. I'm not into crazy impossible jumps and things that feel unfair - every death feels distinctly like my fault and that I should have done something better. So good. 5 Stars for everything.

Sogomn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Really cool but please remember that there are different types of keyboards. The controls are not made for QWERTZ keyboards.

r8berto says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Thank you all for the comments!! Maybe checkpoints and jump-shoot would be a good thing in this game, but I have been playing a lot of Bloodborne lately and I love it's cruelty :D

Also I may make something bigger with this idea and this mechanics thanks to your good feedback!

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Yeah, i think checkpoint is good option, haha, but rly good game, keep working on it!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:00am

Woo nice game. A little hard but a nice entry!
Well done!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:54pm

I really like the gameplay mechanic that focuses on the handling of the weapon. It's simple but challenging. That you cannot run, when you need to reload makes it a bit hard, though. The simple art style is also pretty nice and suits the game.

MonoS says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:26pm

I find the game unbeatable, lot of dead end, giant monster and dead path, also the lack of checkpoint make this game very difficult.

Loved the mechanics and how they was implemented, very tense when you miss a shot or a monster is running before you

May 6, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Pssst - You are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFcSJC6FtXs

LMT says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:56pm

I did find find it very difficult but the graphics were nice. Unfortunatly I didn't get too far.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]