Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A Snowball's Chance

by diiq - Compo Entry

You're a snowball. Gentle heat will kill you. Move heat-baffles and take risks as you navigate a pretty and abstract vision of hell.

Best viewed in Chrome. Sorry.

Also sorry that it's so weakly related to the Theme. You can see in the source that it was originally going to be called "Draw the Blinds" -- you'd be trying to navigate a greenhouse while avoiding sun-drenched carnivorous plants. Adding bitmap assets made it too laggy :( The gameplay is essentially identical -- but with no enemy but the heat, there's no weapon :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#228Innovation3.61
#487Audio2.82
#559Overall3.17
#571Fun3.03
#672Mood2.78
#692Graphics2.83
#894Humor1.97
#1081Theme2.16

Comments

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Whats the "Weapon"?

jontturi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:50pm

This game was really fun. I liked the graphics, the audio, and the mood. Very polished look you have. Not sure how much this fits the theme though. Still good!

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Really interesting mechanics. Concrete contents. I enjoy the music as well.

SadSmile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:51pm

I realy enjoyed the gameplay + music. I just dont get what your weapon is (sry). It also was a little bit laggy, at least it seamed to me like it lags. Gj tho :D

mattfox12 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Well done concept. The difficulty is pretty high, but I like that. The ball feels like it needs more weight to it, so speed can be built up when racing the heat rays, or maybe just move faster the smaller it gets.

ryguydavis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Nice concept and great play on words. It really lends itself to interesting puzzles. The movement was a little stiff but did the job.

Anikki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:46pm

I like the idea. Potential is there.

Moraleidahgo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Love the concept, although the difficulty scales a bit too fast and I can't really see the theme in the game. Love the volumetric lights, this shows great potential.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:47pm

I like the concept. We also made a game about snowballs, with almost the same name - weird. The audio didn't work for me for some reason (Safari on MacOS), but I liked the visuals and general gameplay.

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:23am

The lighting system is pretty cool. Gameplay was dope as well, it gets difficult pretty fast.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Great mechanics, it's fresh and difficult.

Music is well-suited also, but I did not understood what that has to do with japan (If I understood the music theme correctly)

On the other hand, embedding works awfully in chrome, because arrows force browser to scroll up\down.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:15am

I like the music, I feel like it should have a darker tone though. This is like a tragic game about melting away made into a comedy. Anyways, gameplay is fun though getting stuck against the blocks can be annoying- perhaps have a button used to push blocks? Anyways the art style kept me interested and the puzzles kept me thinking, so good job!

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:20am

I liked the concept, but I found the game sort of frustrating. Pushing walls by running into them worked well, but sometimes I could move them by running parallel to the direction I wanted them to go and sometimes it didn't work too well. I wasn't sure if that was because of something I was doing or if it was a weird physics glitch, since frankly it didn't make a lot of sense for a snowball to 'pull' a wall. It's pretty unforgiving, too. I feel like a slower death rate, but a scoring system based on how much of your snowball survived, would really add to the game.

Frosnite says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:34am

Pretty cool stuff! Would love to see more levels/mechanics!

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Well... I can see the theme. The heat is the weapon, you just don't own it. Good job! Very interesting concept.

jglrxavpok says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:34pm

The audio sounds great and the graphics are good :)
The game felt really short but it is fun to play!

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:25am

Very clever gameplay! I was particularly impressed with the concept of pressing against something to slide it. I'd have liked a visual indication of which objects slide in which direction, and whether I'm close enough to an object to slide it. The music is really lovely, but it doesn't fit the game at all. A "sizzling" sound effect would have been nice too.

madflame991 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:59am

I haven't seen this mechanic before, especially the residual heat part. Nice that you made it in CoffeeScript!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Nice entry, I like the graphics and the mechanic is interesting. I had a few control glitches where things would become unresponsive and a little lag. Nice and well conceived.

stvr says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Doesn't necessarily fit the theme, but I really enjoyed it! Took a bit for me to realize that it was heat and not light, and that the boxes were on tracks. But it's real pretty!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]