Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sylvam Opacam

by cyand1317 - Compo Entry

** Note: This is not completely finished and contains lots of minor bugs. Sorry for that. Therefore, perhaps this is like a simulator rather than a fun game. Thanks for understanding! :) **

** Note: If you see a blackscreen after loading the page, refresh and there we go. I'll try fixing it soon. **

The universe is not that peaceful. Different civilizations are always attacking each other,
for they never know whether each other is friendly.

And that's why the Cygnia civilization created a small universe and moved into it.

Soon the big universe shrinked and the big bang happened again, and there goes the new universe.

The Cygnians were eager to see the new universe, so they pushed out some simple machines
to the new universe and followed out.

Sadly, when they turned back, they didn't see the entrance of their small universe -
it's not visible under the slightly different physical laws.

So they could only stay, and the attacks among civilizations continue -
we call it the 'Dark Forest' state.

Controls
========

* Drag & drop the map to move around. Zoom in/out buttons are on the top-left corner.

* The time control button is in the bottom-left corner. Click to pause, double-click to fast-forward. Double-click twice to get faster.

* The development control is on the bottom (those circles). Click to adjust Cygnia's development paces.

* As you develop basic science (fundamental science), you get spaceships and they gradually fly faster.

* As you develop energy, your energy consumption will decrease.

* As you develop fire, nothing happens right now. Maybe I'll make it after LD.

Gameplay
========

Your goal is to develop basic science to level 7 so that the Cygnians could create another
small universe to hide themselves in.

Everything orange is a solar system with livable planets. As light travels at
a limited speed, you can only see things in a limited range (the light cone).

If a vacant solar system is reached by your spacecrafts, it becomes yours. You
can launch other spacecrafts and Unconventional Weapons from there.

If a solar system with other civilizations on it is reached by your spacecrafts,
nothing happens now - perhaps I'll make it after LD. (again...)

Unconventional Weapons
======================

The Mass Point
--------------

This becomes available at the basic science level of 4.

It is a small object with a incredibly high speed and thus lots of energy.

When a solar system is reached by this, it is completely destroyed - along with
creatures on it.

The Dimension Decreaser
-----------------------

This becomes available at the basic science level of 5.

It is a kind of thing that can pull 3-D spaces to 2-D ones.

Everything it touches will be destroyed, so be careful when you use it.

Hints on the Game
=================

If you're eager to see spaceships and the weapons, fast-forward (at most 60x faster - double-click the button for many times) until several stars are visible. Then **develop Basic Science** - soon you'll be able to launch many things.

And the spaceships aren't that slow - try developing Basic Science to level 3 or 4 and then send one out.

** Complaints & suggestions are warmly welcome! **

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#765Innovation2.78
#882Mood2.47
#929Humor1.63
#1027Overall2.55
#1065Fun2.14
#1081Theme2.16

Comments

pythong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:04pm

complaints: if you have the controls in the guthub repo, why don't you paste them here?

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:49pm

I like the idea, balancing the production of an intergalactic civilisation. It moves quite slowly at the moment, which makes it hard to get into.

2R says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:44am

cool:)

jhell says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:00am

I think there might be a balancing problem: I could never manage to make a ship leave my planet, always ran out of resources first. Or maybe i was using the wrong strategy here? Any idea?

A very interesting entry though, even if off-theme (i think).

It would also be very cool to be able to pause/unpause using spacebar.

jakub.gemrot says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:03am

Quite good concept! The mechanics are good, change to the pace is necessary (I'm not able to even colonize single planet before running out of resources even though I'm investing all points to basic science.) Oh and I would add "astronomy" tech that would extend the vision.

monaarc says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:14am

I like the idea, but for now it is too slow. A bit more work and it will be a very good game :)

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:22am

As someone said before: good concept but it's a bit slow!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:26am

I also couldn't ever get a ship to lanch. I'd run out of resources first. I did figure out how to avoid instability, though.

Kardamom says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:38am

While the concept is sound, the ships move too slowly and I didn't find a way to not run out of resources before any of my ships reaches another planet - a lot of balancing and mechanism design needs to be done.

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:40am

Hmmm. It looks like the start of something interesting, but I'm not sure what the point is or what I'm supposed to do. I got my research to increase, that's fine, and then I sent some spaceships, but sending the spaceships didn't do anything. And then I ran out of resources...Good job, though, maybe you could work on it some more!

surpent says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:02pm

I like the concept is.
Game is difficult, I immediately game over.

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:12pm

I agree with the other, it takes a while to get things going, but was otherwise a good entry.

yackeroeni says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I like the gameplay, although some explanation in-game, or some visual hints might help. I'm not a big fan of reading through the manual to be able to play a game.

th4t says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Interesting game.
Took me a while to understand what's going on. The game could need a small tutorial.
I like the idea of your vision being limited by the speed of light. I think this has potential since you would always act on old information.
The graphics obviously need some work. This upscaling really doesn't look good.
Using dense matter points as weapons is pretty unconventional, but the presentation doesn't really support it, since it could be any old missile ;)
Pretty good start for a game.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Kept me entertained for a while, I did finally escape the Dark Forest on my 4th attempt. Nice job!

SiENcE says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:01pm

I love space managing games. Cool to see one at LD! I can even play it on iPad. Top notch!

stvr says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:53pm

didn't work in chrome on os x

cyand1317 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:53am

@stvr Did you try refreshing the page?

May 7, 2015 @ 3:53pm

I like the idea, but even after reading the instructions I couldn't figure out how to play

CiderPunk says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:30pm

bit slow and pretty confusing because there's very little feedback to the player... do the ships work?

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:32pm

The idea with limited speed which will reveal more systems as the light propagate is innovative, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]