Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Poison Mushrooms

by Xanderzoo - Jam Entry

The circles are attacking! Harvest mushroom gas to fight them with!

Instructions are given in-game.

Written in Python 2.7 and Pygame 1.92.

I opted out of sound because I got music off the internet. Music credit to DST. http://www.nosoapradio.us/

The source should run on any operating system with Python 2.7 and Pygame 1.92.

To run the EXE, extract the zip, enter it, and go into exe.win32-2-7 and run Game.exe.
To run the source, extract the zip, enter it and run Game.py

It doesn't fit the theme perfectly, but I think mushroom gas is a fairly unconventional weapon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#710Innovation(Jam)2.76
#801Fun(Jam)2.63
#828Theme(Jam)2.86
#832Humor(Jam)2.18
#841Mood(Jam)2.56
#910Overall(Jam)2.71
#919Graphics(Jam)2.18

Comments

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:53am

Im allergic to mushrubbs but good jobs!

netgrind says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:08am

That instructions screen was a bit rough. Perhaps split up the sentences into separate lines, and let the player make sense of it at their own pace.

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10am

@netgrind
The instructions screen was rushed. I'll probably release a post-jam version in a while. :)

jdselsor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:40am

I liked how it was also a resource gather at the beginning I have never seen that before in a tower defense.

Xinelu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:54am

Looks like someone eat some mushrroms before make a game hum? Nice job =D

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55am

Cool idea, but I was a little unclear as to the controls (instructions could have scrolled faster too).

Nice use of competing styles of gameplay; felt a little bit like Locke's Quest. Good job!

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:30am

@Xinelu
Actually... I did on the second day. :)

Nilq says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:54am

Nice!

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Realy realy realy good idea to put the game play in two parts. First you need to harvest and then to create buildings with the ressources you have taken.
Like the music even if the menu one is note the same style as the in game one.
However the game could have been better with smoother graphics I think.
Keep rocking guys this game is nice :)

Clavus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Instructions were a bit lacking / overwhelming and I never figured out what button I pressed to open the build menu later on. Sort of see where you were going with this idea. The first part where you collect resources could be a bit more interesting by adding interactions for collecting stuff instead of just moving over it. Good work though.

bace1000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Instead of having instructions that scroll really slowly, try and create a tutorial level or design your levels to introduce the mechanics of the game.

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:00pm

The instruction screen was a bit long, but understandable for the time restrictions, overall good idea, maybe work a bit more on the gathering part, like assigning jobs to agents that gather resources for u

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:16am

good jobs!

benjamck says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:50am

Resource gathering for a TD game, good idea! I liked how the gathering icon slowed down when gathering in trees; added a bit of a challenge to going after the mushrooms. Took me a bit to figure out what the game controls were, but once I did it was smooth sailing. Good job!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I almost turn off this game because I did not get the keys, but after alot of guessing I could start to play. Fun game, nice idea to combine TD with the resource collecting. Far to easy though.

Demy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:12pm

i like how you choosed music for your game, fits nicely!

Demy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:12pm

i like how you choosed music for your game, it perfectly fits!

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:51am

I enjoyed the resource collecting and TD aspects. The meed was good and your music choice was nice.

I did have a problem during the resource collection phase though. Sometimes my character would move incredibly slowly and other times he would shoot around all over the place. The timer fell at the same rate during both so I'm not sure why that was.

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:26am

@Minibobbo
You move slower when you are inside a tree.

C.Lodwick says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:37pm

pretty cool mechanic and fun to play. i like the how the spores affect you and your enemies!

frnknstn says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Pretty cool.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:09pm

I like the 2 parts gameplay, but I could not build farm even after finishing the first level. Did I missed someting ?

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:35pm

@Benjamin
You also need to have some wood and gas.

TomBoogaart says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:54pm

chill music!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]