Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

iSpringBot

by SySaNiN - Jam Entry

A game where you need to control spring-like bot.

Its our first ludumdare game. Enjoy!

Control:
1.Press LMB or RMB to activate Left or Right Hook
2.Press Space to stretch
3.Use mouse to rotate
4.Your guns shoot automatically

Gameplay presentation:

https://youtu.be/NPHlV9mh36o

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#155Innovation(Jam)3.68
#374Overall(Jam)3.38
#392Audio(Jam)3.03
#404Fun(Jam)3.21
#536Graphics(Jam)3.26
#586Theme(Jam)3.26
#609Mood(Jam)2.93
#780Humor(Jam)2.31

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Windows doesn't work for me, web or linux only.

DarkGrisen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Really funny game!

binarycoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Really neat concept! Controls were innovative, and the movement was pretty fun.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I really enjoyed the game. I got to the "checkpoint" and I wasn't sure what to do from there. The movement is also very quirky but I really liked the idea. Great job!

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Interesting game concept and I think this game could be further worked on. At the moment the controls feel a little rough and I don't really know what I'm doing. The music fit well with the game. Good job!

jmf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:07pm

This is great fun and a really cool concept. Relatively bug-free for such complex movement. Got to the checkpoint but couldn't figure out how to go further.

skiper4e says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:25pm

It doesn't have enough force on the rotate. Now matter how I move the mouse i can't get it to flip over.

zimmy87 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:46am

cool concept; interesting controls

Qui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:52am

Intresting game. It takes some time to learn how to control it well, but it was worth. Great concept.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54am

Concept and gameplay are cool!
But I am a little confuse about control, and the machine will be hard to control when it is on the ground.

SySaNiN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Fixed minor bugs in control

jojocanard says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Great contol system. I got stuck at the checkpoint after I fell down.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Cool mechanic! was really satisfying to use

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Good gameplay concept. Would have liked the right/left claws to have different colour schemes constantly because I kept forgetting which was right and left; making it frustrating when I failed (Why can't I just do what I want me to do?).

Kushulain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I really enjoyed it. I understand how to move pretty quickly, had a lot of fun then. Physic is really well tuned. Music is cool. Graphics a bit too heterogeneous, but okay.

Only moderately match the theme.

6x13 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:44am

Concept is cool. I really liked the idea of the gameplay. Graphics and audio also complements it pretty nicely. Overall pretty well executed. But I would have loved to see the game over screen after something like 3 shots instead of single shot. I felt like that would make the experience more enjoyable.

jhell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:51am

Pretty cool idea, controls are ambitious, but when you figure them out they work. I think they could be optimized (by giving a distinct color to each node for example), but I don't have a clear idea how.
The rest of the game is also nice, music fits well :)

volkoivan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:08am

WOW
Man, this game is really awesome!
I don't know if this idea is new, but if so, this is a really cool mechanic!
I completed it in one breathe!
That moment when I understood that you can throw yourself anywhere was awesome.
Really enjoyable and fun!
Thank you, for now it's my favourite game on LD 32!

rudra says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Really enjoyed playing it ! good concept and art ! Cheers !

PapaCheech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Nice! Challenging and controlling your character felt great. Good graphics too.
-dan

RoryD says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:53pm

This is definitely a very different idea. The controls require a lot of coordination and mental effort on my part. It's especially hard to remember which side is which (despite the different colors).

novadream says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Took a while to get used to the controls, but once you do it's pretty darn fun. :)
The graphics were really neat as well!

Hambone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:57pm

This was fun, took me a second to get the hang of it but I liked it!

ironleonem says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:32am

Controls were a little clunky and unresponsive. The game was also a little too challenging with only one hit before you die. I really enjoyed the concept however, and I think you have a neat idea here!

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Nice grappling game. Though I found the controls difficult.

Funske says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Super fun I loved the game mechanics. It was very innovative.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Woaaah1 The gameplay is great! Well done! :D

Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Great concept. Cool physically based gameplay. A bit difficult to control, as it's easy to not know which part of the snake corresponds to which mouse button. Holding both buttons worked sometimes, but not all the time on my machine. I like the polish that there's a swooshing sound when you swing. Too difficult with the instant death, so I didn't get very far.

tomhunt says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:38pm

really interesting concept. i wish there was a better way to tell the right and the left apart. i kept getting confused about that, and that got in the way of me really enjoying this more. also the audio was pretty good.

filipe.silva says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:16am

I liked the game and also the fact of using magnetism to climb on the stage. The art was very well developed. I just thought a little confusing instructions on the screen, which does not diminish the great work. Congratulations

23 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Nice work, the physics are fun. Unfortunately it seemed a bit too easy to die, and I wasn't sure how to kill things effectively - relying on my guns to shoot things didn't seem to always work?

I liked the explanation that you are the "secret cybernetic weapon", though I think ALL CAPS might have been more traditional :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]