Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

How to Train Your Human

by sally_anne - Compo Entry

A twine game about cats using themselves as sleeper agent weapons to take down humanity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#248Humor3.32
#286Mood3.26
#548Overall3.18
#800Fun2.77
#830Theme2.97
#830Innovation2.69
#844Graphics2.55

Comments

Move127 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:33am

Would have been a lot more interesting if there had been some animation, or at least more pictures, to go along with the text.

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38am

This was very charming! I enjoyed the writing and the choices I was offered. Good job!

Languard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05am

Cute and charming, however I'm having trouble getting the feel of 'An Unconventional Weapon'. I can kinda see it in how you 'control' the human, but it feels weak.

Also, there's not any good way to get a feel for how you're doing.

ehtd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23am

Your ate well over the weekend. Nice.

mcmahoniel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24am

I'm not sure how this aligns with the theme, but I liked it.

ErikU says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:25am

Interesting take on the theme. It was nice to see that each of the paths was meaningful. Can't say I was able to beat it though. Regardless, well done.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:27am

Very complete story, but some more picture would be nice.

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:31am

Nice!
I was thinking about a twine game too. Was nice to see someone how made it. It's a pretty nice idea!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41am

Great idea, but would be a little better with animations and such.

qapn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:52am

I didn't really get how this one related to the theme. It would have been nice to have some artwork for some of the story stages too.

Had some funny bits in your writing though.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:07am

Haha, haven't seen a game like this in a while. Fun jokes, and good style. Not really my type of "game" per say, but I think you did a good job.

Azure_Kyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46am

A choose your path adventure with social engineering as your weapon? This was a funny read, good job :D

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46am

Very cute. Nicely written and put together. great example of a Jam Game.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:23am

Good graphics.
Maybe a bit slow sometimes, but the premise is nice...
Always great when people design their twines.

rg_rem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:31am

The human's love for you: 125 / 115

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:37am

It was charming and fun, but the website was a little hard to navigate and work around... which I don't really think should happen in an interactive fiction. I am a fan of the IF genre, and overall, this does not disappoint. Well done.

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:51am

Cats are so sweet)

sally_anne says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49pm

I have made all the images smaller so that it fits better in the screen, @ironleonem.
@rg_rem I am super impressed with 125 love! Have updated the stats page, I was too burned out to actually count up the value last night.

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Ha- this is super cute. I like the trade-off amongst the stats, giving you more than one objective for playing the game. :3

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:17am

I loved how many paths there were to take, and the drawings were cute. Overall good game.

Draknek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:19am

Couldn't give 5 stars for graphics because it doesn't contain a terrible cat drawing.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:02am

Very cute. Love the art.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]