Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Starbinder

by HunterAugust - Jam Entry

Since the dawn of time, stars have controlled mankind...

The goal of this level is really up to you, You can use the stars to wage war between the two populations or keep them at peace. Arrange incoming stars to influence the populations on the planet below.

Star types:
- Gather: draws the population toward it
- Scatter: drives the population away

- Aggro: inspires the population with an attack buff
- Defense: hardens the population with a defense buff

All star types can be combined into constellations. Use them to strategically lead one group to planetary dominance.

Colin Allman - Programmer - colinallmangame@gmail - www.colinallmangame.com
Michael Baker - Programmer - www.mBakr.com - @M1CHAE7
Alex Evans - Sound Design - aevanssound@yahoo.com - www.alexevanssound.com
Hunter Lawson - Artist - HunterAugustLawson@gmail.com - www.hunteraugustlawson.com

Play on itch.io! http://august.itch.io/starbinder

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#29Graphics(Jam)4.57
#35Innovation(Jam)4.07
#49Audio(Jam)3.97
#132Mood(Jam)3.68
#342Theme(Jam)3.61
#346Overall(Jam)3.41
#661Fun(Jam)2.83
#875Humor(Jam)2.04

Comments

morokiane says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13am

Very cool.

peggy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Fab. Impressive. Bravo!

ajopart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Innovation 5* :-) Great graphics and audio. Congrats.

strong99 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:16am

Good atmosphere. I liked the strategy and clear gameplay. I didn't understand why the game ended with the message "Back to main menu" did one side win?

paruthidotexe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:31am

nice game

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Really liked the atmosphere and concept.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Nice game, a bit confusing at first, because the tutorial screen closed much fast, I could not ready all, maybe a skip button would be better.
But the graphics are very good and the gameplay when I understood was very innovative, great job.

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Hey! your game is not bad. It is fun. look at mine. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Interesting and beautiful game. Couldn't quite create constellations, nor make any bigger effect on the population.

DKoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Very good looking game.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:03pm

My only complaint is that I wish there was more feedback as to what my influence was on the population and guidance as to what my goal was. Other than that, awesome work. I really dig the concept. The graphics and sound effects meld together in a very cohesive manner that enhance the overall experience. Please continue to run with this idea and turn it into a full-fledged game.

rd127p77 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Neat Idea.

sydan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Very relaxing but somewhat confusing. I wasn't certain what I was supposed to be doing but I really enjoyed the art and innovative idea driving the gameplay!

Borkleby says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Wow, beautiful art and music. I couldn't seem to get anything to happen because the stars kept disappearing but I still had fun just looking and listening to the music. Other than that the game is magnificent in every way! Can't wait to see what you come up with next!

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Nice mood. A bit more guidance at the beginning would help out.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Very polished, visuals and sounds really gave it a great mood. It was a bit difficult figuring out what I was doing. I am not sure if that is a bad thing or not. I was confused but experimentation felt like part of the game.

Split82 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Looks and sounds great, but I had a hard time understanding what to do. A little tutorial would probably help.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:08am

impressive graphics but the gameplay was a little confusing

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:14am

The art is awesome, and the concept is really interesting, well done. However, the control felt a little frustating because I wasn't able to take a star a the opposite side directly, but that's just a detail.
Great job!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:16am

Needs some UI and tutorial polish, but is AWESOME!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:19am

Ah, I really wish I could have gotten into a groove with this game since it reminds me a bit of my own entry (in terms of controlling a population with by modifying their properties). But as attractive as it is in the visual and sound department, I just felt like the changes being made gameplay-wise were rather hard to observe.

Again, that's doubly disappointing for me to say because it reminds me of my own game's shortcomings for the Jam submission. Showing those reactions that the population is going through is incredibly important for this kind of game. Without it the person playing can't fully understand what they are affecting, (or fully appreciate it), and a sort of futile feeling becomes really intense. I had this growing urge to just stop playing because... well... I didn't understand fully what I was doing, and I think because of that I couldn't appreciated the open-ended nature of the game.

I'd highly recommend adding in some sort of animations or transitions to the movement/growing of the population you're affecting. I think instantly popping things around made it very difficult for me to determine what specific elements were being altered.

I also couldn't seem to get a grasp on what the requirements were for creating stable constellations. When I drag them near each other they end up just fizzling out and breaking their connections.

I really liked the overall concept though, and the idea of populations being influenced by the stars. It's very poetic really. And obviously your team has a stellar handling on the visuals, sound design, and "feel" and polish to the camera/star movement. Great job with this entry overall, and best of luck in future jams! If you continue work on this I'd love it if you contacted me to let me know.

I'm on twitter @CriticalMammal
email: gallardodylan42@gmail.com

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:19am

Very beautiful game.

scottthoo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:43am

Very eye candy game, but pretty hard to understand the game at first.

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:21am

really nice game. very impressive what you did in just 72 hours. it's very calming. and has a lot of potential to expand and make it more fun. but overall, fantastic

Lyje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Just lovely.

rd127p77 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Pretty Impressive game.

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Fairly interesting game that looks and feels stunning!
The lack of real influence, a real goal or some feedback on the population makes it kinda boring though.

May 4, 2015 @ 1:45am

Really cool graphics and concept. Think it would be improved with some more feedback about what constellations would do. Very nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]