Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

What Lurks in the Dark

by MoogleSensei - Compo Entry

Ludum Dare 32:
What Lurks in the Dark

You are a middle-aged man who has decided that he wants some yams from the basement. The trouble is, it's pretty dark down here and you never had lights installed. Good thing you brought your trusty flashlight!

But wait, there are strange noises... I think something weird is going on in the basement, you had better be careful. Anything could be lurking out there in the darkness.

Controls

Use WASD to move yourself and the mouse to change where you point your flashlight. The F key is used to advance out of message boxes/menus, and the space key will pause the game. You can also press the escape key at any time to exit the game. That's all there is to it!

Tools

The code was all written in lua, and LOVE2d was used for the graphics.
The sprites, tilesets, and images were created using MS Paint.
The levels were assembled from aforementioned tilesets using Tiled.
The music was generated with Bosca Ceoil and Abundant-Music.com.
The sound effects were recording of me and were edited using Audacity.
The font was created with bitfontmaker2.

Credits

Programming, graphics, music, and sounds were all created by Sean Miller within the allotted time for the Ludum Dare Compo.

The Code

The code is available at https://github.com/MoogleSensei/whatLurksInDarkness with the MIT license. To run the code on Windows, you can simply unzip WhatLurksInDarkness.zip and run the executable. To run the code on Linux, you need to have www.love2d.org version 0.9.2 or greater. Provided that Love2d is in your path you can simply run love /path/to/folder to will start the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#172Mood3.48
#251Overall3.52
#287Audio3.19
#366Innovation3.37
#383Fun3.26
#579Graphics3.00
#623Theme3.26
#692Humor2.45
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

chanko08 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43am

Very amusing game. I especially liked the monster noises

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:22pm

I like the whole flashlight mechanic. The flashlight looks cool, but I think it would be even better if it had more of a falloff to the light, instead of just on/off for each square. So fully bright for squares near you and in the center, slightly lit for ones far away or off to the sides.

The audio was a little hard to hear, so maybe the level could be brought up some.

Nice job though. I enjoyed playing it.

smokecastles says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Very nice flashlight mechanic and smooth gameplay! I tested it on Arch and found a minor bug: while the main menu is showing, if the window loses focus and you go back to it,it prompts you to press F and then shows an error.

Nice work!

Anas Azmi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Great game, if you're into horror. Also, it wasn't very clear as to what exactly I should do. And there doesn't seem to be a way to fight against the monsters, so I don't know if you can call the flashlight a weapon.

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:34am

I'm loving both your mechanics and those little monster noises! I blare my audio so I didn't have any trouble hearing 'em, I wish there was more dithering with the flashlight, a la minesweeper, might keep the suspense up a little bit!

novadream says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:53am

Didn't know you could kill enemies at first, lol, should've read the README from the getgo. :P

pkenney says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:38am

Wow this game was awesome! I won with a deathcount of 52.

The theme mechanic was fun to use, and the monsters created a lot of moments of panic. It was really well balanced. The game combined the puzzle of figuring out how to approach the level with the tactics of dodge-fighting the monsters really smoothly.

Controls were problem-free, critical for a game like this.

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:41am

Interesting mechanic, though it gets quite hard in a rather frustrating way. A lot of times you just die in a fraction of a second without being able to react. Maybe that was the idea. Anyway, I did make it to the end so I enjoyed it overall. Nice work.

@Anas Azmi, the flashlight IS a weapon. The monsters die if they remain in the light for too long.

Druid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:44am

Interesting game! I really like that light mechanics :)

Funske says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Cool gameplay it took me a while to figure out what to do, but when I did it was fun.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:47am

Nice job! The second to last level was rather hard with the lights turning back off, but altogether very cleanly done!

Andrea says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Very cool! The monster go a little too fast for me, but it still very enjoyable. The idea is pretty great too!

Tom Rijnbeek says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Cool game. The graphics style fit great and the concept is amazing. At the third level I had to give up though, I just couldn't find a way around the monsters, so that got a bit frustrating. Lovely game otherwise :)

GameQuester says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:19pm

I liked the music and sound effects. The mechanics were well done. The monsters killed me fairly often :). Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]