Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mario and the Poetry

by gruhn - Compo Entry

One slow beat 'em up, where the only gun is poetry to bring happiness, while looking for his beloved... To play, think, and enjoy a slowly moment.

From Curitiba, Brazil.

- Game in English and Portuguese.
- Music specially composed for the game

Controls:
- WASD to move
- F (or click) to collect poetries
- Space bar to shot poetry

Old Compo version known issues:
- WASD seems it would have been a better choice for moving than the arrows, and was implemented in a fix after the vote.

Updates:
05/12/15 - Post-Compo version published (there is a link in the list to the Compo version)

---

Um lento beat 'em up, onde a única arma é a poesia para trazer felicidade, enquanto procura por sua amada... Para jogar, pensar, e curtir um momento devagar.

De Curitiba, Brasil.

- Jogo em Português e Inglês.
- Música composta especialmente para o jogo

Controles:
- Use as teclas WASD para se movimentar
- F (ou clique) para coletar as poesias
- Barra de espaço para atirar poesias

Problemas conhecidos na versão Compo antiga:
- WASD parece uma escolha melhor para movimentação do que as setas, e foi implementado em uma correção após a votação.

Atualizações:
12/05/15 - Versão Post-Compo publicada (há um link na lista para a versão Compo)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#66Audio3.80
#91Mood3.70
#125Theme3.93
#281Overall3.47
#300Graphics3.49
#392Innovation3.34
#590Humor2.64
#638Fun2.95

Comments

Floko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Interesting idea!
I just wish I could pick-up poetry with the keyboard. I mean, having to pick up the mouse whenever I want to retrieve a piece of poetry really kills the flow of the game...

Other than that,nice job! :)

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:19pm

the loader seams to get stuck at full then it became red.

CireNeikual says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Well made! The controls were a bit awkward though, the need to pick up the poetry with the mouse and not being able to use WASD to move means I have to move a hand every time I pick something up. Still, good job!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Good job! I liked a lot the art and music! I agree with Floko, picking the poetry breaks a little the flow.
I also think that the game lacks a bit of challenge too.

TD5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:45pm

A genuinely beautiful game - nice graphics, good music, quirky concept of turning people with poetry. Very good job! :)

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Really nicely done. I love the poetry pieces as you pick them back up. Agree with the others here though that mouse is really inconvenient. would be nice to auto pickup.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:02pm

lovely chilled out vibe to this that I'm really digging - esp with that excellent music playing. Agree with other reviewers about needing to switch to the mouse every time you throw a piece of poetry - other than that, a neat game.

Oh, and the main characters walk cycle anim is great!

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:33pm

This was adorable in a way. Love the little fellow :)

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37am

Wow kinda deep. Great music too.
First enemy killed me kinda unexpectedly however.

Yazara says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:00pm

The music is really nice!

Matsuki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Fun little game you made, loved the part were i could read the poetry that i picked up. Good Job :)

And I think your right WASD movement would have been better were you need to use the mouse.

strong99 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:51pm

I like the creativity of this game! The only sad thing is that I didn't have enough poetries to save all those grey persons =/ But I made it to the end ^_^ Nice game!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Very stylish! I love the way the opening menu is integrated into the game!

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Cool idea, and good execution on it.
The controls feel a bit awkward, as if I needed three hands to play it correctly :p

Bus besides that, great work!

ajayajayaj says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Cool

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:41pm

A piece of art! I love the people changin mechanic of the feeling put into the trown away poetry pieces. Its very EEP style! well done!

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Soo relaxing :)

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Holy hells, that is some funny poetry xD I liked the concept of the game, making people friendly with poetry. I wish it could have featured more in the gameplay though, instead of just being "shoot them with poetry", maybe have unique mechanics that really reflect poetry?

Aside from that, graphics are pretty good, but the opening screen nearly gave me an epileptic attack. Music is very soothing and appropriate. Good job, good luck!

Birke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:38pm

I liked the presentation of the game, starting in all the white text and then being given the option of choosing the language. It is quite difficult to use the poetry effectively since the "cured" guys block your path. As others have said its weird to have to click on poetry to read it.

kipelovets says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Really cool shoot 'em up, very poetic :)

Kitsubi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:30am

I loved the game, and while the controls were awkward I kept shooting poetry just to see what would come up next. I truly enjoyed my time with this game.

Ludomade says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:01am

Pretty fun little game. Nice take on the "words as your weapon" theme.

cdgugler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:46am

One of the most unique games I've played in this jam so far! I really like the atmosphere of the game. Great job!

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:41pm

It is a simple game, but a well made one at that! A fascinating way of using the theme, and the graphics and audio are both good!

The controls could have been better, but other than that a good game!

LeoM says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Very nice atmosphere and music.
Great game. :)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:29am

Great work, you got an impressive amount of mood/atmosphere from simple graphics and game play.

NoSoupForYou says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:35am

Stylish game with great presentation. The music and animations are on point. Having to use the mouse was a bit annoying, as well as not being able to use WASD, and I think the implementation of a health system instead of instant death would have improved the game, but otherwise great job!

dwemthy says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:36am

Cool game. Nice intro and outro.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:40am

I love the music. It would have been nice if it had somehow been more clear from the beginning that you only have so many pages of poetry to through. The number could be taken for a number of enemies remaining, rather than ammount of ammo.

mathmadlen says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Unique concept - and the music and art complement it perfectly. The mechanics feel quite polished, although, as other people mentioned, I would also prefer using keyboard for picking up poetry /thats a phrase I've never thought I would use/.
Great job!

Tijn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:20pm

This is pretty cool! I agree with the other people that it would be nice if it could be controlled fully with the keyboard, but other than that it's a very nicely made game :)

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:21pm

I read "In each chocolate, scream in your window, I like you" and I'm like "Maaan, that's genius!", and then you tell me these are generated randomly!? Great game, awesome idea. Just didn't like controls, playing on keyboard and then switching for mouse to pick up that poetry is uncomfortable.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Oh! that was really nice! It's very personal, and have this special mood you can´t define but is...indescribable good.
Still singing that song :)

Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Loading fails. :-(

Application Cache Error event: Resource fetch failed (522) http://www.gruhn.com.br/games/mario_e_a_poesia/full/images/limitadormovimento-sheet0.png

gruhn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:57pm

@Martin Vilcans, thank you for reporting the error.

Bergara says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Muito legal o jogo! Curti bastante os gráficos e a música, o jogo ficou com um clima muito relaxante.
Como você disse, WSAD seria melhor pra controlar e acho que clicar no papel para pegar a poesia é um pouco desnecessário.
De qualquer forma, o jogo ficou muito legal e é ótimo ver outros BR's aqui no LD =)

DrZanuff says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:23pm

I really liked your game. I love pixel art, and yours is very good. I think it would do better in a post compo make the poetry's thrown pickable from the ground when you pass over them instead of clicking. It's cool to see another brazilian fellow here in the Ludum Dare and a C2 user too :D . Congrats on the game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]