Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Megane Fever

by Park - Compo Entry

Post compo version has been embedded. For judging, please refer to the Web link below!

Your walking-home friend wore her glasses to school. Fend off all the glasses-lover's confessions while you try to go home!

New club rooms and objects for your flipping pleasure! (ノ^◡^)ノ︵ ┻━┻

New weapons must be picked up from the rooms.
The art club features 4 new paintings that will spawn at random.
The Astronomy Club and Light Music Club make their debut in the post-compo version!
Color corrections should make the school feel more lively.
It is now possible to die! Checkpoints have been added accordingly.
Cutscenes attempt to explain some "plot"!
The credits page has been revised to provide a conclusion.

New keyboard layout is open to suggestions. I went with something reminiscent of Momodora for now, since it's internationally friendly.



@parkdraws for post compo updates (。・ω・。)ノ
other works at [http://parkdraws.com/]

Language: Actionscript 3.0
Tools: IllustratorCC, FlashCC
Sound: sfxr
Music: Otoma

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#25Graphics4.40
#90Humor3.77
#186Mood3.45
#356Fun3.30
#424Audio2.94
#434Overall3.30
#543Theme3.35
#830Innovation2.69

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15am

For what you have now, this is pretty funny and great to play even though you cant lose. Love the art style, and the idea of throwing desk at people. I'd love to follow your work. Keep it up! :)

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:57am

Love this game ! The art are amazing and it's so funny xD

shyupuff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:59am

Hahaha I love this game. Also I love that guy drawing on a huge canvas and he just has a happy face. The best. The music was nice, animation and graphics were really smooth. Fits the theme. Great job!

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:59am

The art looks good and I like throwing desks at people! The game's pretty simplistic though, but these sorts of things happen with game jams. Very cool.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:59am

I really enjoyed this, the art and setting have a lot of charm! Even without having player health / damage it was fun and relaxing in a table-flipping schoolboy-swatting kind of way :P. I'd definitely play this more if extra levels or content were to be added, great work!

sanojian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:02am

Really great artwork and animation. The game feels incomplete but it sure is fun to throw desks at lovesick students.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04am

well there's only winning in this game(which make it less challenging), but the art are good tho~!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:25am

Love the graphics and flipping desks is a lot of fun :P

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:55am

Cuuute. I love the graphics -- the boys flying towards you with their confession notes in hand are hilarious. The music was fitting too: kinda calm but kinda frantic.

huminaboz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:51pm

While the weapon is pretty conventional, the enemy certainly is not. Top notch graphics. You gave me the giggles.

ehtd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Very nice! I liked the mechanics, just make it a bit more complex and you will have a great game

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:54pm

The look is really polished and the animations are a perfect fit to it (I loved the self-indulgent art class haha!) The music is a little repetitive after a while and as a person with a German keyboard layout, I am not too happy with the controls since my Z and Y keys are switched, but since it wasn't too had anyways it was okay and I could fend off the evil army of clone admirers with the broom just fine, so you might want to design another enemy type that can only be averted by throwing furniture at them?

Blobo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Pretty funny game. i like it.

xirion11 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:07am

It's a fun game but there is no challenge whatsoever, i really liked the graphics

nicotuason says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:55am

Really cute and pretty art! Flipping tables is awesome :p

Park says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:36am

@Phil Strahl thank you for the keyboard tip! I understand why some games were using XC now! I've made ZCWY available for interactions.

I have some ideas for enemy types and behaviors, if I could just stop playing everyone's games and work a bit longer. (⸝⸝^▽^⸝⸝)ゞ

Thanks to all who played!

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47am

Great job! I loved the art of this game. Bit I think that use the buttons (x,c and shift) its a problem. Maybe you could choose a better control for this.

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47am

Cute and funny! I really like the way you used the theme and different objects to flip would definitely make it a lot more satisfying. Nice art style as well, great job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47am

Tranquil, calming violence.

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:48am

Nice graphics and mechanics, but a bit too simple/easy. Needs some health indicators, and stuffs like that.I'd like to see the game with more hours of working on it, totally worth it

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50am

It's really cute. I don't think this would work as a bigger game but rather as a short experience.

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:52am

It has a really nice art style, and the controls feel good. just needs a little challenge

Adreqi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54am

Funny game ^^ Audio and graphics pretty good ! I had a hard time getting how to flip tables. This seems to require precision. That said, the game needs to be diededable (means you have to be able to die), or else you can just walk around and ignore those boys.

shimage says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:03am

Very cute art! I like throwing a desk. Megane is pretty good but I love a short hair more :)

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:26am

Beautiful art. The first time a whacked a boy I died laughing. That was great.

monstersauce says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:22am

Adorable :D Can't say no to a game that let's me flip tables

Jadernak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:36am

Amazing style :)

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:40am

Haha I love this game :D Great work on the graphics and musics!

strong99 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:46am

The challenge was missing :( But it was nonetheless! I liked the art and table flipping broom actions.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:06am

Awesome graphics and good gameplay :D

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:00am

The characters and animations were amazing! The way the dudes dive at you with their love letters is hilarious :D Great work.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:26pm

このゲームは非常に奇妙である. Fairly simple little side-scrollin' mop-em-up with an original concept. Love the effect of whappin' guys away.

Chikoness says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Absolutely loooooove the art!!! Animation is smooth, the game is funny. The animation and art made the game for me, great, great job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:44pm

What beautiful artwork! The run and hit animations were great! ^____^ lol at the boys with their letters.

Jwatt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:15pm

There's no threat of failure whatsoever. I guess it's fitting for this kinda game, but then you could've focused more on the humor aspect instead.

senpai pls notice

nassi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:09am

Thanks for the soundless menu. I wish the site would just allow me to disable autoplay altogether though.

I felt bad for chasing the guys off, since what they did was only logical. Megane is love, megane is life. Lovely art, gameplay could've used a little something more :).

ruerob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:00am

Very good work! It looks and plays very nice! Makes a lot of fun! A game over would have been great when a lover gives the letter to the walking-home friend!

celisoft says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59am

Graphics are very cute ! A good start for a future game.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Sort of refreshing to not have to avoid the "enemies", very relaxing ;-) And on top of that the whole school is in love with me! Too bad you couldn't finish the mechanics, but the art and background music are lovely.

xirion11 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:59pm

very good graphics, but lack an objective and consequences

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:56am

Fun little game. Could use better control scheme. and a little repetitive.

43iscoding says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Very lovely game ^_^

micahcowan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Terrific graphics, and the gameplay feels very clean. I'd love to see more of it! Very impressive for 48 hours.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:01am

So while this is completely silly and made me laugh... there is no challenge and barely any gameplay : I CAN to 3 differents things (swing, jump and... kick?) but those actions are useless. I could just run to the end.

Mase says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:12am

The character designs are cute.
It is strange that the suitors face you and not glasses-girl when presenting their notes.

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:06am

Loved it! Super cute and great use of the theme :)

Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Like the others said, the art is just cute and lovely. Let's see what you make out of it in the post-compo versions ;D

pythong says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:06pm

cute game, liked the animation. an endboss (Sensei?) would have been nice :D

zatyka says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:24am

Very cute, and fun to play, but not a whole lot of gameplay.

gillenew says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:34pm

The graphic was pretty nice, simple and objective.
Finally a game where not start dying x)

Alice says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:35am

Ah this is so funny! Graphics are very cute too, I think this is one of my favorite games I've played so far this Ludum Dare. I'm gonna go check out the post-compo version now :)

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:38am

Cool use of theme, nice art!

Sylverstone14 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:43am

Fantastic art, nice gameplay, A+ megane. :D

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:10am

Cute and funny game!

The original key layout was quite awkward, but the post-compo one is good! :)

Nice work! :)

Saker Games says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:17am

I like the use of colors, the style of the sprites and the animations. Nice game, congratulations! :)

LukuluK says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:18am

I found the game very funny, clean and fitting the theme, even if the gameplay is not so challenging. It confused me to see enemies and items at the second plan.
Also, the music doesn't play in loop but I think I'm not the first to tell you that ;)

Boberro says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:27am

That's sneaky way to make people play post-compo version, embedding it and hiding original one below :)
Anyways that is wacky, and I loved the fact that you added some different backgrounds. I'm not sure if it was possible to lose this one.

Dynad says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:47am

Simple but so goddamn funny xD

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Loved the style, though a volume control would be awesome

Xanjos says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Cute and hilariously funny to play (any game that lets me flip tables at people is an instant win in my books). Absolutely great take on the theme.

MonoS says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:38pm

AAAHHHHH, IT'S SO FRIGGING CUTE!!

The character are really cute, i don't blame all those people who tried to confess [but they stopped at me, not at my megane-wearing friend].

Good use of the theme.

I've thrown away Miku's painting... What have i become D:??

Ithildin says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Cool concept, and lovely art style, the anime high school theme is beautifully done. Great job!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Flipping tables is awesome. Nice animations. Well done!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Looks great. Thanks you for having checkpoints for each floor. if I were to suggest something more it would be to add a less abrupt ending. Give us some closure :)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:44pm

The music quickly gets annoying but the graphics are ADORABLE

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Not a bad game. Short and nice. Lived the way I could spam 'F' and she'll just keep throwing things. XD The ending was a bit , well I did not expect that, though, but overall, nice game.

Thank you for submitting!

Snicklodocus says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:08am

The art is beautiful and really sets a great mood! The game is also pretty funny. I loved flipping tables. The blur effect was a nice touch. I'm not sure if this game is losable? Also never really found a reason to jump. Regardless, it's fun! Good job!

PoQA Games says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:13am

Wow, the post-jam version is so well done! Everything looks so beautiful!

I was hoping to get a look at the source for how you did the art assets, but it looks like it's just the code. Ah well!

jfraser says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:50am

Funny game. I lost a couple of times until I realized you could just hold the attack key down. I really liked the guitar weapon.

hexagore says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Hey, so you left a comment on my game. I believe the about:config flag you're looking for is "full-screen-api.pointer-lock.enabled". I tested my my OSX .app on my own mac and it works fine but I'm on 10.9.5 so perhaps 10.7.5 isn't supported properly. I don't have any devices with older versions of OSX to test I'm afraid. Thanks for trying anyway. I'll play and rate your game separately :)

May 5, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Really nice art and music, cool animation with the swipe. Pretty fun to run through just whacking folks too!

renatopp says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:52pm

The artwork is great! Congratulations for you game.

MrShoestore says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Art good and this is pretty fun to play. the sequencer music does get pretty annoying after a little bit.

SledKnight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:13pm

I personally found the music to be annoying, but that was my only real complaint. I loved flipping the desks. Nice little game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]