Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Tipping Point

by lonestar - Jam Entry

In Tipping Point you take the role of a starry eyed gnome named Tipp, as he embarks on a mission given to him by the gnome elder to scavenge supplies. In the mysterious Wizard's house, he'll soon find an array of potions that provide mysterious usage in getting around and fending for himself. However, he soon comes to find that some concoctions are better left untouched.

(Please note that due to time constraints the game is not fully finished, however we are aiming to put out a polished version at a later date.)

Controls:
A/D - Walk left/right
E - Interact
Space - Jump
1-5 - Select potion
LMB - Use potion ability

Artwork by Shwig and Vanilly, Programming by Zeta, Music by Plumegeist
http://lonestarcreative.tumblr.com/
http://vanillycake.tumblr.com/
http://shwlg.tumblr.com/
http://geistbox.tumblr.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.88
#8Overall(Jam)4.35
#27Audio(Jam)4.13
#48Fun(Jam)3.91
#60Mood(Jam)3.96
#109Theme(Jam)3.96
#196Humor(Jam)3.50
#247Innovation(Jam)3.52
#2292Coolness17%

Comments

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:44am

Really pretty game :)
Enjoyed the stream as well

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:06pm

This is a really nice game. Awesome art as well! :)

Marty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:20pm

You guys definitely did a great job with the art and music. I wasn't sure if I was doing something wrong, because I couldn't get the salt and punching that jar gets a bad ending, I think. Good work though.

43iscoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:53am

This game is sooo full of content! All that graphics, multiple sound tracks, very interesting mechanics! Guys, you rock \m/

hellforge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:17am

Wow such an awesome game! The art is top notch! Great work!

omaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:29am

Any chance of a mac or web build? I would love to check this out.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:47am

Amazing artwork! I feel like the puzzles were a bit lacking, but it was a joy to play.

Pix3M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Oooh, this is interesting.

The graphics are what stood out to me and grabbed my attention and is no doubt done by very talented people. I only wish that the art had a stronger distinction between background and foreground objects. While the environment art is wonderful, it really sets a very high standard for yourself when easier shortcuts used in the levels proper, while not bad by itself, is a bit of a disappointment compared to the uniquely-made assets from earlier maps.

The music is also wonderful, though there is stylistic dissonance between sound effects and the musical score.

I also died from falling into a pit (which oh... I guess the ice thing is not something you want to touch), the game doesn't reload for some reason. eh

Best of luck in finishing the rest of this project. Organizing a team after a jam is a hurdle in my experience

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Multiple amazing mechanics. Check!
Kickass soundtrack. Check!
Breath-taking art. Check!
Flawless controls. Check!
Great story. Check!
Theme fully respected. Check!

Thanks a lot for making this game, you guys did a fantastic job. I really hope to see more of it as it could absolutely become a full game. Congrats!

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Really excellent game! Love the potion idea and the way it turns out mechanically is super interesting.

The visual narratives you tell in the background are super interesting and I love how effectively you got the sense of contrasting scale across!

Minor things:

-Ability to skip/make text scroll faster would be cool
-I know it looks better for the animation, but having the character's horizontal motion stop when you land is super jarring and makes the character's movement feel unresponsive.

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:06pm

my 1st all 5 star game 'o' such a good game.

Yoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:02pm

The art is SICK ! I was stunned by all the colours and the level of detail just about everywhere in the game. The music adds in a welcomed strange feeling. But if I could rate the art 10 stars out of 5 then I'd definitely do it.

More than gameplay, the narration is great. It was stunning to discover the Wizard as I climbed the ladder.

Again, this is above awesome. Too bad there isn't a proper ending. I'm looking forward to the polished version.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:29am

Loved it! Amazed you guys managed to pull off a complete adventure game. The mood was really great, I found myself completely engrossed. Congratulations!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Style was very well done, Smurfs or Minish Cap came to mind, Music was good too.

CarlsenSmart says ...
May 15, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Hey dude.. Did you take down game? The link dosn't work with me :'(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]