Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Def(Comic)Con

by novadream - Jam Entry

This is our first attempt at the Ludum Dare. I swear we'll be more prepared in the future! :P

It's an attempt at a JRPG, that was supposed to be based around a weapon designer at a comic convention. Teeheee. The main character is Brad (for some reason) with a vivid imagination.

WASD to move, tab opens chest, i for inventory, c for character equipment, and click on buttons with mouse. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#341Humor(Jam)3.22
#545Audio(Jam)2.66
#734Graphics(Jam)2.83
#829Mood(Jam)2.59
#865Innovation(Jam)2.41
#896Fun(Jam)2.47
#929Overall(Jam)2.67
#950Theme(Jam)2.49

Comments

Riagan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10am

Hello Everyone. My name is Eric and I was one of Two involved in this idea. It is clear that we ran out of time and had a lot of half baked ideas, but it is still somewhat playable, and we plan to do some work on it in the future after LD 32. Enjoy!

jhell says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Hi, pretty ambitious for a jam project. I'm impressed by your inventory system though, and the game system you managed to put together. JRPG are not really my style though, but I appreciate the performance!

Jagang says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Yeah its really ambitious but that still happens to regular participants so don't worry too much about that^^
I can see the way it's supposed to be played later and I like the old active time battles of Final Fantasy :)

ARubino says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Well done. The opponent kind of buged through the floor in my first fight bur overall great ideas and very creativ. Nice first entry!

steboots says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:50am

I just fought a whale. It does seem like it had ambition, think you guys should keep at it and try to make it into a full feature.

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:11am

I don't even know what I just played, but goddamn that inventory system is truly something! Tackling an RPG in a month is one thing, but building one in just a few days? Crazy - crazy good! Great going guys, I hope you keep developing it!

Gametery says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:30am

Yeah it looks like you didn't have enough time. That is a good work tho! Keep up

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:32am

Did not expect to fight and kill a whale at comicon lol

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:57am

What you got down is pretty cool! The model of Brad- lol! I like the idea of the game, you should keep developing it! Also, awesome whale :)

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:54am

Appreciate this game! Keep develop it.

dydx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Nice job, I like all the inventory items & spell effects. Hope you keep working on the game!

Smiley says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:26pm

"Fatal content error has occured" when I click the start game menu button. :(

novadream says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:58pm

@Smiley
What operating system and browser (if you're using the web version) are you using?

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:01am

Oh my god ... what was that!? This game is hilarious. My only big concern is that the fights were a little long.
Anyway, good job!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:28pm

wow, hope to see a completed version of this game soon ;)

MonoS says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:37pm

I understand that this is your first jam, but the game is nearly non functional, next time don't try to make everything or pointing to high.

The game crashed when i teleported to the start.

jk5000 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Ambition++. Time--. Great attempt.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]