Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Swapper

by Plustech - Jam Entry

Swap Weapon Ninja Platformer for "LudumDare 32 Team - An Unconventional Weapon"

---------------------------------------
Controls

Z or Space ---- Jump

X or Shift ------ Shoot

Arrows To Move

R to reset the room

ESC restart the game

---------------------------------------
ONLY IF YOU FIND IT DIFFICULT

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i2PnvSI7kyo

*Changelog

Added a "reset room" button in case you get inside a wall due to the known bug.
Added alternative controls to avoid problems with special keyboards.
Change on the tutorial screen to display the new information.
Change the Main Screen art to match the new tutorial screen.
Fixed some exits letting you go to the other room without actually passing thru the door.
Fixed the spikes not matching the collider box.


*Known bug.
There is an issue in how the room is being called to the play area that may cause you to miss match colliders and get inside the walls. Press R to restart room if that happens.

If you are a twitter fan give me your thoughts at @Plus_Tech

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#72Fun(Jam)3.84
#80Theme(Jam)4.02
#102Overall(Jam)3.82
#104Innovation(Jam)3.80
#185Audio(Jam)3.50
#222Graphics(Jam)3.88
#274Mood(Jam)3.41
#658Humor(Jam)2.56

Comments

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Oh boy, a sweet little platformer that looks and feels great! Like the swapping mechanic. Seemed to bug out when switching levels sometimes, character got stuck off screen - had to restart to resolve. Good entry nonetheless :)

kristof says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Nice platformer, the jumping feels good. Sadly it was very difficult to play on a german keyboard (z and y are exchanged) Also in the second level, after respawning, I got stuck outside of the screen.
But I like the graphics and the sounds and music. Nice work!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:47pm

This is an awesome concept! I like the art style and the controlls felt good.
I can't wait for the post-jam version that fixesd the couple bugs. Keep up the great work!!

nonetheless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:13pm

This is a very neat mechanic, could make a hell of a game :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:32pm

One of the best LD games I've played. Please turn this into a full game, I loved playing it!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Sweet idea! Really liked it. It was actually pretty challenging because of how quickly the enemy projectiles were - they were VERY difficult to avoid once they were fired. I guess this did add some more strategy to the game. I also felt the controls were a bit loose in the air. Some more air resistance would have been good. Overall, great game!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:33am

Good controls and puzzle designs - levels had awkward learning curves in that wall holding wasn't intuitive at first, and some were pretty punishing in the length of level before reaching a checkpoint. But solid artwork, audio, and gameplay.

BoiPichu says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:10am

Overall enjoyable. I wanted to finish the game and I did. Felt good during and after :>

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:18am

I love the game, and it has a fantastic mechanic. However, there desperately needs to be a small delay between when enemies notice you and when they attack you. As it is, my reflexes simply aren't fast enough. On the first screen, I tried jumping over and over again until I finally made it, because I didn't know about the swapping. To fix that in level design, you could have put a couple rooms before this one, maybe one where you can jump over the enemy and one where you can't jump so you're forced to learn about swapping. Later on, there was an area that I couldn't make through because it was so long without a save point, and I felt the timing was a bit too precise, especially when I was about to swap next to a ranged enemy that was off screen!

Other than these difficulty issues, it's a fantastic game.

Shugor says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:26am

Difficult! I struggled a lot with the third room, I think it was. Really enjoyable, though. Great art, platforming was solid, and had just the right amount of strategy. Great work!

ianh says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:50am

Fun game! I like the wall-sliding mechanics, and the swapping feels really good. Wish there was a death animation though

Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:33am

Very fun game! My finest moments were spent swapping enemies into their own bullets. Great soundtrack, smooth controls, unique idea, great art, a puzzle-esque level at the end there leaving me wanting more... I have no complaints.

richiebranson says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

love the concept, the platform movement...wall jumps...weapon use...all of it feels just right. With a little polish this thing could be a monster! Good job!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:44am

Loved this game, thought it was really well done. The mechanic is great and the levels reminded me of the old Rick Dangerous game. The character movement is very fluid and nice to control, easily one of my favourites so far.

phi6 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:29am

Fantastic swapping mechanic, and really good platformer physics. I created a platformer/Metroidvania type game as well, so it was interesting to see other games with really well implemented platforming. I enjoyed Ninja Swapper quite a bit, but I can imagine would split the crowd as the game does require a bit of level memorization in order to achieve success. Similar to 1001 spikes, it's often impossible to complete a level the first time regardless of skill. But this depends on player's personality and for me, I quite like that kind of difficulty!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:32pm

The game is very unforgiving (I think I've died on the 3rd level about 20 times now) but I absolutely love the swapping mechanic and how it's cleverly used.

jmborden says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:05pm

"NinjaSwapperWindows.zip is malicious, and chrome has blocked it". Kind of a nasty message I get on Windows. Only saw it with this game.

Bergara says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:40am

Very fun mechanics, worth making a full game out of it! The controls were a little touchy, and the enemy cannon thing was too fast for me to react, but the game was awesome anyway.

Plustech says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:29pm

@HotBoxGames Thanks man!, the game should be more stable atm, if you have time, please try it out again!

@kristof Thanks! We added an alternative controls with shift and space, hopefully will help you have a better experience so if you want to try it out, please do. Thanks <3

@TwoScoopGames thanks man!, there is a more stable build up so if you want to try it out please do. Cheers

@nonetheless Thanks <3, this kind of commentaries made my day <3

@Archonthewizard We are srly thinking it to make it viable, thanks for the support, much happiness <3 <3

@TeamQuadratic We know that the enemies need some tweaking, we understand the challenge. We are still hoping to get that feeling of..."omg this is effin hard"... with the simple and intuitive mechanic. Nonetheless, thanks for your feedback, we will try it out in the near future, probably in the next build! Cheers <3

@monkeedude1212 Loved your feedback, pretty much what I was thinking as well. We need to polish some of the things you mentioned. Thanks for appreciating the artwork as well <3.

@BoiPichu <3 <3 <3

@DietrichEpp We understand your feedback, we agreed on the difficulty. we have some ideas to fix it but probably on the next build PostJAM. Will be announcing next updates thru twitter if you are interested in playing it. Thanks again!

@Shugor Thanks! we tried to do it the best we could on the time frame, we know we have things to polish but thanks for overlooking that and enjoy the game. <3

@ianh yeah I wish there was a death animation as well XD. We didn't have time to implement those at the end, probably on a PostJAM build we will be doing some enhancements on it. Thanks!

@BoxedMeatRevolution you have no complaints? and that is why I love you <3 really glad you enjoyed it!

@richiebranson This means a lot! <3 thanks!

@Franklin'sGhost yeiy! we are the favorites! thanks for the support!

@phi6 Totally agree on the scope you mention, glad you liked it!

@Xanjos Thanks for the support even though you died so much! Cheers <3

@jmborden Oh my, Im really sorry it happened. I tried to download it in a couple of machines and didn't have any problems. I wish we had more information on chrome policies. Thanks for letting me know, gonna keep trying to reproduce it.

@Bergara hey mate can you be a little more specific on the controls? what do you think it was the thing that felt weird? Thanks for dropping by!

Thanks a ton for the love and support <3 <3 <3

Split82 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Super hard and super fun! :) Great job.

gelisam says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:56am

Impressive amount of polish on the character movement. Level design needs work: since swapping brings you to an area which is far from the current camera position, I often died immediately after swapping because of enemies I couldn't possibly have known about in advance, and that felt unfair. Another cause of unfair deaths: sometimes the enemies face you after you swap with them and they kill you immediately, and sometimes they face the opposite direction and you survive. It wasn't clear what was determining this, so it felt more like luck than skill.

spin-down says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Brilliant game. The graphics are fantastic and the overall gameplay has a real nice flow to it. At first I thought the controls were a little skittish but ended up appreciating them as the gameplay really needs a quick reaction. I also enjoyed the music and sound effects.

The checkpoints spaced out through the levels could be a little better, especially at the start, and the Cannon Vikings attack speed could have been a bit more forgiving but apart from this it's a very solid entry.

HolyBlackCat says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Very good game! But there are too few checkpoints. :(

KaiseanGames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:58am

Awesome game. A keeper :) Hope you expand the game further :)

Arche-san says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Nice gameplay! The swapping mechanic matches with the theme. You need probably an invincible duration to avoid some frustration when you get hit by an enemy who just shooting after the teleport. Good job anyway!

orangemoose says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:53am

Very challenging and fun platformer. The swapping mechanic was lots of fun, and the puzzle design was great. The only thing I would have liked to see is some sort of death animation for player feedback. With everything moving so fast, sometimes I wasn't sure if I got hit or not. Otherwise, great work!

nassi says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Obvious things first: at least use "Web (Unity)" if the game requires the Unity plugin :P.

The game feels good, which is one of the most important things for a sidescrolling platformer. At first I thought it felt kind of slippery, but that was only for a few seconds. Might be because of the animation. The particle effect felt out of place at some points too, maybe because it follows the player while in mid air for a while. Not really sure. Sometimes it took me a while to realize I had just died, that could've been more clearly marked in my opinion. Felt almost anticlimatic at the moment.

Some way to restart the whole game would've helped with speedrunning. Should've also put a timer inside the game for added stress.

The graphics are nice especially for the characters. The environment tiles could use some randomization though.

Audio was pretty subtle, since I had to open the game again to refresh my memory on that. It's not irritating at least, but not memorable either. Very fitting though.

puppetmaster says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:22pm

+ music and sound fx
+ animation and wall jump
- controls (need some slow down switch moment)
Well done!

Exp. when you wall jump press [right] shoot to left then switch place, fall down because [right] is still pressed

Mr. Jif says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:41am

This was so much fun! I really like the swap mechanic. Was sad when it ended... You need to flesh this out :)

Zarkith says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:43am

That last level desperately needed to be split into two or have checkpoints. It wouldn't be so bad though if the cannon enemies didn't have brutally unfair reaction and firing times.

Did you have anyone from outside your team playtest this during the Jam? If not, you should strongly consider this for the next LD.

May 11, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Really cool game! Although lacking a clear dying animation, the graphics, sounds and just everything runs smoothly. Great work!

Dorgam says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Very good start for a beautiful game, however needs a lot more polish. Controls I would recommend up for jumping and the movment. should be fixed a little. Totally would play a full version of this.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]