Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

LightStars

by NSoul - Compo Entry

My first try at Ludum Dare, and it's the first time i tried to make a game...
I played much with editor like Unity3D or Blender but never did something with it.

So this is LightStars, i made the name up on the fly while typing this :D so don'T be too harsh about the name. I just started make the game with out knowing what it would be at the end, but i think it's playable.. so enjoy.

There are in game texts that explain how to play, so i don'T need to tell you here.

HF :)
###################################
If you play with the UnityPlayer use 'ALT' instead of 'RIGHT MOUSE'... content menu is baad... :O

It themes to be that lvl 3 is broken... i'm sorry :( so 3 lvl are not playable :I, but i could play to the end in the web player and Html player... so i don't know what it could be...
###################################

In the last 4 hours, i tried to make it easy to aim and control everything, but i didn't get it in time... so you got the hard aim mode at the moment :P

Used Programms:
Unity3D + MonoDevelop
Blender
Phtoshop
http://www.audiotool.com/
Bfxr
GoldWave

HF :)


Contact: LudumDare32@nsoul.de


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#113Innovation3.85
#219Overall3.56
#248Audio3.24
#267Mood3.29
#382Theme3.54
#384Graphics3.33
#461Fun3.15

Comments

jordyadan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Nice game, cool mechanics and mood. Liked how the game told me how to play, felt like I was talking to you.

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Very great looking game with good use of lighting.

I thought the weapon was very innovative and I think this game will do very well in the rating.

Sometimes I got confused about which way to move the mouse to change the light in the correct direction, but you cant fix me being bad at the game.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Wow, you first game ? Really ? Pretty impressive. Good work :)

NSoul says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:23pm

i did stuff before, but not all whole game like this, so i did have some experience from before :)

PaulJs says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Nice but too many controls.

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:36pm

That weird light weapon thingy is pretty cool. I like it. Turny turny bullets that shoot around walls are always good.

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Neat concept. Liked the tuto :-)

kristof says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Very good idea! The controls of the weapon are a bit clunky though. Especially fighting the armored shooting guy was a bit frustrating.
I got stuck in the third level. Did not know where to go. And then the game crashed.
But all in all I think that this is a very solid entry. I would not have guessed that this is your first complete game! Good work!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Nice and nifty! I like the idea with this weapon, despite it's sometimes hard to aim. And graphics is good!

By the way, I fixed my game, it should work for you now. Thanks for the comment.

skylinegames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Really liked the mechanics and the use of lights in the game. also the tutorial text on the walls is a really nice touch.

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Great mechanics! I enjoyed it.

colludium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Great visual effects and sound/music. Very innovative.

tanjent says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:57pm

I really like this entry. Such a nice mood and friendly atmosphere, the sound design is great. It has a few bugs and I think you can work on the controls to make it a bit easier. I had to backtrack the entire first level because I forgot to activate the first star thing.. :)

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:01am

For your first play in an Jam and even in 3D is very good , I liked the gameplay and the contrast of lights in the scene! Good job! *--*

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:11am

Damn near perfect. I think it glitched out or something for me on the third level, I hit every crystal but there was a gap that never closed up. Still astonishingly impressive.

There's an unbelievable amount of character in this game with such simple graphics.

wooltech says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Very well polished, works smoothly. Interesting weapon.

SpeirCeol says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Thas a really nice game, it's got very nice mechanics, works perfectly and the graphics are nice too; the angle-change and the view-changer are awesome additions.

the lightning used really sets the mood and theme, and it works great. Audio fits to the game too.

Overall this is a great entry, only complain i have is that i got stuck on an island on level 3 without any way to get to the other place

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:45pm

i really like the idea, but the controls start to get a little cumbersome. well done on your first LD

May 8, 2015 @ 3:22am

Man, loved this game! Nice concept, neat use of the light. But seldom used the shield. Maybe if we can move and use the shield we could use it more.

Want to see more about this game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]