Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Project Pizza

by PizzaPortal - Compo Entry

This is my really short platformer / adventure game.

The pizza project is a really powerfull pizza that kills everyone whom tries to eat (or touches) it

I wanted to make it a lot longer, but i unfortunately didn't have the time, that's why the end is just a small "sandbox" where you can shoot enemies.

This was my first Ludum Dare, and i'll definitely make a smaller game next time :-)

Controls
----------
Left arrow : walk left
Right arrow : walk right
up arrow : jump

C : Shoot Pizza ( you can only do this if you have the pizza project )




BONUS: You can press and hold T to enable a "Pizza-Jetpack", this is a small easter egg ^^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2240Coolness20%

Comments

natalye says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:00am

Some things to improve:
When I fell down the pit to the spikes, nothing happened to me.
There's a strange effect where you can stick yourself to walls.
I managed to jump really high a few times, not sure how.
It's not clear what the goal of the game is.

Overall, I think it's a nice idea and can be potentially made into a fun game, and I like the easter egg.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Too bad you couldn't finish it properly. You were on the right track. Better luck next time :)

Dat PizzaGod though

pta2002 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Cool cool cool :) Too bad it isn't finished. It would be so much fun!

kidanger says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:11pm

The jetpack is awesome! This could have been a good game.

43iscoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:30am

The controls are fun yet buggy, I managed to jump over that limiting pole, and fall through the level :3

http://gyazo.com/8e162eb8fed5c9e960e3c5428b690c5f

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:05am

http://hpics.li/73ab248

I think pushing all the blocks was not the right thing to do xD I have a gun I want to use it !!! That is frustrating! Keep it on, I wanna know what the pizza project is ^^

alvivar says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:15am

Loved the melody <3

PizzaPortal says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Thanks everyone for the comments! I really wanted to make this game a lot bigger (and longer!) with proper enemies and less bugs. This was my first LD and i had a lot less time than i initially thought. Everyone seems to be enjoying the small parts of the game that are actually present, so i might expand it sometime :D

Mantlair says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:30am

Well its too prototype. But idea is cool. i am curious about the backstory now.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Its something, I am sure you learned a lot and that is what it is all about!
The pixel graphics are cute :)

suppi says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:05am

I liked the graphics and the audio, the idea is also cute.
I feel like it could be a lot better if you didn't use a physics engine.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]