Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rabbitville

by Pilly - Compo Entry

NOTE: You can use the SPACE BAR to skip the in-between sequences (if you're as impatient as I am).

Arrow keys to move.

A game about a village of rabbits, who are under attack by an unknown force. You must find the cause. When you figure out what's killing the rabbits, you'll know how to beat the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#78Mood3.74
#237Audio3.26
#450Overall3.28
#468Innovation3.23
#648Graphics2.90
#723Humor2.39
#737Theme3.13

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:05am

Aw, I tried it like 5 different times and could never beat it. :( But this is really interesting. I like the sparse storytelling, the clash between the dark foreboding and the bright pixel graphics, the way the music syncs up with the time you have left. Very cool game.

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:08am

Love the concept of making the player run through enough times to remember details about the story. The simple music matches the graphics - nice throwback mood. Great work!

Frenchie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:12am

Tried ~10 times and couldn't beat it :( Consider giving the player additional time or maybe blocking off some of the routes or letting the player mark the paths he's been on somehow? Liked the song though. I started to recognize when my time was almost up when that bass came in XD

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:43am

I wasn't sure what do to, except wander. It didn't really keep my attention after the fourth or fifth time dying. I was beginning to feel that all the people who talk to you are only there to delay you.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:54am

Innovative concept, but a bit tedious

aeveis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Great game, beat it. The ending is especially poignant. My last place was at the end of the long path. I hope people will play the whole thing through!

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:46pm

That was great. I like how a lot of things rabbits said seemed innocent at first. I wont say more about the things I liked since there are no spoiler tags (I think?).

I wish the timer let whomever you were talking to finish their conversation. I wasted a fair amount of time assuming I got the relevant bits when the timer ran out and that was not the case.

My only criticism is that it didn't really feel like a cursed forest with all the bright green and rabbits hanging about.

This is definitely the best narrative I've encountered so far. Thank you!

MaesK says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Nice idea. I'd like more bunnies to say something more relevant to the problem, and then with every clue try something out faster, but it is good as it is. Great work.

grillaface says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Creepy cool, and the music is really good. Great!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:22pm

I like the atmosphere of this game.. so dark and grimm.. Well done! Great Entry! :D

alangamebot says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:31pm

I liked this a lot. Played it much longer than I expected to try and solve the problem of the poor bunny people. The melancholy music and the fact that it has bunnies in it reminded me of Donnie Darko.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:47pm

well the one area just full of rabbits staring at you was creepy. enjoyed the game. still havn't beaten it. will have to try again here later on

jprogman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:49am

I find the asynchronous timer a bit of a disadvantage when I'm trying to fully read what each bunny is saying. Meaning, the timer runs independently from the frame-rate. Sometimes it is impossible to read the entire conversation when my computer makes the game lag a bit.

As for the game entirely, I'll just say this... after playing the game in hopes to find the way to finish the game, I came to a solution: I've stopped playing.

Interesting game overall. Like the music and dialog.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Okay, I'm really angry at this game.

Apparently you have to hold a button down to activate the boots! I didn't know this, because the boots guy was cut off before he could finish his lengthy spiel, and when I went back later all he said was "how are you enjoying the boots". Are you kidding me with this? I spent 10 minutes wandering around trying other pointless stuff because you hid the instructions.

I love the concept and the story, but mechanically this game is just frustrating.

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:42pm

I couldn't finish it unfortunately, but I really enjoyed the idea of exploring and finding stuff out. I felt that the one minute timer was a bit short.

Pilly says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:18am

Thank you all so much for the feedback - this is my first Ludum Dare, and really, the first game that I've released. It's immensely helpful to get feedback, so thank you for sharing your experiences, compliments, and frustrations. I'm considering polishing this up and releasing it as a short game.

I'm sorry about the timer cutting off dialog - this is something that I realized late in the development cycle, and absolutely should have prioritized finding a solution to. Lesson learned.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]