Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

In the eyes of babies

by Tatsu Studio - Jam Entry

In this insane game, the nanny tries to reach the refrigerator without handle the babies in the house.

Features:
- 1 Level;
- windows size (recommended) is 1280x720 ;

Controls:

Movement :
A,S,D,W (side and up) ;

Fire: Space;

Select : Enter;

Ammo: Go over the lollipops;

Credits:

Artist : Paola Antunes.

Programmers : Matheus Vizzotto and Felipe de Borba.

*This is our first jam , we try our best ^^, Thank you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#557Humor(Jam)2.77
#735Theme(Jam)3.04
#761Graphics(Jam)2.77
#905Overall(Jam)2.72
#915Fun(Jam)2.43
#935Innovation(Jam)2.26

Comments

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Congrats on your first jam!

I had the controls lag a little bit (not sure if it's me or what, I've had this happen on a few games I've tested here on LD in the last couple days), and those little babies are EVIL.

I love it! Looking forward to your next LD submission!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:05am

Thank you, we note the delay in command but did not have time to pack LOL but still find it amusing.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:01am

Great work! Got to shot some babies! Well.. with lollipops, but still kkkk. I also had the delay on the movement, which was weird... but everything else was good! Good animation and art! Just think the nanny should be able to shoot up or down if a baby comes from that direction xp

2R says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:02am

Well done:)

Kitsubi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:15am

I really liked the crayon art style. I've seen other people note it but it felt like the control system missed keys and I would have to repress them. I hope you enjoyed yourself making this game. :)

RoryD says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:25am

Good job finishing your first game jam! It's mine too, but I've made games for many years so I have a big advantage. I'm betting that you learned a lot from this, since I did too.

There were a few issues with the controls feeling a bit sticky for me. I liked your take on the theme though. My son just asked me "why are you shooting babies???", to which I replied, "I'm not, I'm giving them lollipops!". A normal conversation... Though a lollipop is probably almost as deadly to a baby.

Anyway, I hope you keep it up! I'm not sure why you didn't make your game eligible for the overall category.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:30am

I never thought I'd play a game about a granny shooting babies in the face with lollipops. That was a really cute game :) I shudder when I hear babies cry though.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:43am

A little bit short, but interesting nonetheless.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:09am

Nice art! And certainly an unconventional premise! The character movement seems to hitch when changing directions, which upsets the flow of gameplay a bit. Also diagonal movement seems much faster than up, down, left, or right -- perhaps because it's effectively moving in two directions at once?

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:13am

Game is simple, short, but an interesting concept.

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:42am

In fact TheMeorch, the speed is the same, but the impression of being faster to be going in both directions to the same point in time.

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:50am

It's funny! I think you are going to do way better in the next jam! The first step is to make your game playable and to have rules, then polish the sound and graphics. Congratulations for achieving it!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Thank you all!
All comments are helping us a lot , the issue of programming will be reviewing soon to leave it more fluid . And the art was a new ... it was usual to do 2D Sidescroll , and was tested for the first time an top view / isometric . .. Inspiration in Chrono Trigger and Pokemon . ^^

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Curious concept!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:45pm

The movement keys did not always respond

peterfsat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:48pm

The controls were a little lagging, but other than that well done!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:52pm

The first two things I noticed was that the menu was kind of non-functional (I was probably pressing the wrong buttons, but you might just want to make it respond to mouse or arrow keys) altough it suddenly started when I pressed space, and the ingame labels were in spanish. Not a very good first impression, maybe things you want to pay attention to some more next jam.

The art fitted the game pretty well and was consistent across the game, which is nice. Downside however is that the background seemed like it was upscaled and lost quality - how did that happen, since it looks like vector art? Maybe next time take extra care in upscaling your assets, since vector art should be able to produce crisp backgrounds at any resolution. I liked the music and the sounds a lot! Finally, the game was funny and fun to play.

In conclusion, a simple but pretty and fun game :)

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Thank you bobismijnnaam, in the displacement menu is in W / S and ENTER to select .... the HUD in the game was placed last minute for it is not in English, for it is not showing up very well in the game.
The art was all done in photoshop , it seems vector, but it was painting and geometric fromas used as a base, the bottom of the scenario I figured wrong size so this nitida more than the rest of the scenery ... just the characters are in vector .

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Haha, good ambientation, maybe need to work more in controls but overall is rly good!

jrserjeant says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Well done on you first Jam. Simple fun game.

monaarc says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Nice for your first jam ! I love the idea to kill babies with lollipops :P

SoftCoconuts says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Fun game and nice graphics! The "Times New Roman" font for the ammo counter was really ugly though and the controls kept locking up as I was walking, requiring to press the keys again. Good attempt! :)

Shivur says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:58pm

The directions blocks when we press more than one.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Quirky idea for a game. Nice work on the sprites. Controls are a bit off, it keeps messing up while trying to go diagonally for me. Otherwise not bad!

bace1000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:56pm

The controls sometimes got stuck (especially with diagonal movement) and the graphics seemed a bit mismatched but the gameplay was spot on! I wish there were more levels :)

daltostronic says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:58am

This is creepy :D Nice graphics :)

java the hutt says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:50am

This was pretty good. I'm impressed. Changing your animation states based on movement was somewhat laggy - meaning when I changed from moving left to right it took half a second for the animation of the person to change. I think this may be because you have the animation stuck in a loop that you can't change immediately.

The music was interesting, and the art pretty good.

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:48am

I couldn't fire lollies fast enough at them; the crying is horrible haha. Really interesting take on the theme and definitely the first game where I "battled" babies haha

Good job! (The lag is noticeable but its not a problem for this kind of game.)

MonoS says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Before the lack of gameplay and originality, the game need better controls code, they stutter every few seconds making the game frustrating.

BTW congratulation for your first jam.

The graphic is decent, i'd have suggested to make all the sprite with a crayon style

TomBoogaart says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:20pm

sick game killed them all but nothing happened? !

Tatsu Studio says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:18pm

The aim would not be to kill all but rather get the refrigerator to stave off hunger.
And MonoS controls really are in trouble but we already have an agreed version, and do not mind the game seems not original or graphic has not very good, because this was our first jam, so had fun and learned a lot doing this game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]