Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Just my own two cents

by NekuSoul - Compo Entry

Weapon of choice: A two-cent piece
Use it to get through the levels and throw enemies into the spikes.
Game Length: ~5 minutes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Overall4.20
#14Innovation4.26
#19Fun4.09
#43Graphics4.28
#100Theme3.98

Comments

factorial says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:40am

I love this game!! Great art, fun play-style, very creative and thematic. Some music would improve it greatly, but very nice for your first game.

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:45am

I love it. The concept is very clever. The level design is very good, but the best part is the "graphics" :-)

PerilousPete says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55am

Holy shit this game rocks!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Very fun, and love the unique art style.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Very nice. Would be awesome with some music though.

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30pm

My God, this is my very favourite game by far!! Love it, love it!! Very fun to play, challenging, cool ideas... Hope you'll win the whole competition :0)

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32pm

As I wrote in comment, your game absolutely rocks. Amazing idea made exactly how you wanted, everything feels very real and I really hope you're going to win, even though it does not look so awesome on the screenshots :D

stig1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Well done! Artwork is creative :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Loved it. I feel like you're just getting started with this one.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40pm

My favorite entry so far! Really cool mechanic, and the graphics were amazing!! Really clever all around. Be proud!

Big Cow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:42pm

I was really pleasantly surprised by this game. The screenshot just looks like lazy graphics, but coupled with the gameplay it's actually rather mind-blowing. It's a really cool puzzle platformer concept which is easy to pick up.

Yamzho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Very cool game ! ;)

Azurency says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:11pm

I love this game, it's fun and have great art style !

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Five stars for all categories! It fit the theme perfectly, I loved your art style and it was fun to play. Good job! I'd love to see you expand on the idea!

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:17am

I must say, shame on me for judging by the cover.

Now, I thought itd be interesting but I didnt think itd be this fun.
The graphics are charming, the levels are charming, and so is the idea. Its just really clever and enjoyable.

make more levels please!

bace1000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Real graphics! Awesome xD

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Very nice game! I was not able to leave it until I finished it! Very well done.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:15pm

The combination of drawn and photographed things is really fun to look at. The physics aren't particularly stable. All in all well done.

Vulkanmannen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Awesome game! I really like the graphics and the playfulness. I actualy didnit understand that a could move the blue guy whit wasd so I finished the first level with only moving the coin and when I got to the second level I was lost. I replay the first level and got it ;-)

phi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:24pm

I absolutely LOVE the concept! It offers so many possibilities, and you've actually used them pretty well! The level design is amazing, the art style is very fitting and the little hints throughout the game are perfect. I imagine the physics must have been hard to manage, and sometimes things glitch out a bit, but it works as it should. If you add some more levels and polish the whole thing up a bit more, this will be an awesome game! Great work!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Very well done. So far this is in my top two, I can't decide between this and another. Love the art style and the interpretation of the theme!

panurge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:27pm

My favourite entry so far by a country mile. Loved the art style and the puzzles were beautifully planned and really addictive. I couldn't stop playing until I'd completed it. Thanks for making such an enjoyable game!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Hey there, you did a really good job creating this game! It's fun and the mechanics and level design is not too hard. I also really like the art style!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Full marks for Innovation. This is brilliant! The art style initially made me think that the game wouldn't be any good, but I was proven wrong! Good puzzles, great gameplay. It gave me new appreciation what you can do with pen, paper and random objects lying around on your desk :D More levels would make it even better!

OnePonyGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:04pm

The movement keys for the cent could have been drawn a bit more clearer, but otherwise a very nice idea overall!

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Really crative! i love the gameplay and the concept is brilliant! i loved the graphics and the level design too. great game!

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Very innovative, fun and challenging game play!
Love the art and how you use the drawing vs photo to separate the to "planes of existance". awesome!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Having now played over 100 entries, this is easily top 3, maybe even my favourite. Super innovate, far more than anything I've played, and incredibly clever puzzle design for such a short time. Kudos.

OniiRam says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:39am

I loved your game, good job!

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:51pm

This was great. I just love how you mixed your sketched levels and the 3d Objects. Very clever! Awesome entry.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Excellent!

jhell says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Excellent entry, loved everything about it, really well-made, clever idea. However, lack of Azerty support made it almost impossible for me to win lvl 5.

May 9, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Very clever game. Cool art style, nice gameplay concept. Just a really charming game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]