Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mighty Gravity

by hmightypirate - Jam Entry

The earth is at despair as a new wave of aliens are ready to attack!.

Your only weapon remaining to defeat them is gravity!


To rotate the earth press keys (LEFT/RIGHT) or click in either side of the screen.

Kill the aliens by putting of the same color together.

Press the link below to play online (better performance with Chrome/Chromium). Enjoy!

Notes:
-Made with Libgdx
-Still buggy but fully playable.
-The game is over when the number of enemies glued to Earth exceed 100. No hint appears on the screen.
-The graphical effect of the earth rotating is missing.




Downloads and Links


Ratings

#414Innovation(Jam)3.24
#479Fun(Jam)3.12
#651Overall(Jam)3.06
#740Graphics(Jam)2.82
#827Mood(Jam)2.60
#878Theme(Jam)2.71
#2054Coolness28%

Comments

Yoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:06pm

At first I didn't know whether my arrow keys had any effects on the planet or not. Yes, this game really needs that graphical effect of the earth rotating !

But I liked the originality of the gameplay mechanics, and above all it works flawlessly !
Somehow I have the feeling this game is complete, even if there is a lot of real-time feedback missing.

I don't get how this ended up in "least ratings" category. You did a great job.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Lots of fun. Love the gameplay mechanic. At first I thought that the bright red ones were going to explode and take a bunch out, maybe that's an idea for a new type of alien.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Fun game, congrats :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Interesting concept, sort of like a rotating game of Tetris. It was hard to form a strategy for organizing the sticky aliens because too many landed at once so it usually seemed like a game of random chance. With some more tweaking, I could see this becoming a very addictive game.

mike1101 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Totally unique ! Never played a game with this mechanic ...

Constructive criticism ? I don't know ... It felt kind of clunky. (I seem to be saying that a lot). But it's true - A lot of games loose out and feel unprofessional because they don't SNAP. You know, if there was like a exponential curve of approach, so as the balls came closer they almost got sucked in and very suddenly struck ... And there was some kind of visceral effect - Sound would be great. Something satisfying. And that you wouldn't mind hearing a hundred times ... Then you would have a game (at least a casual game) on your hands ...

Same with the earth rotation - It needs to move in a cool way. Something that would make it into a hackers movie. There is a term for this - for the kind of movement that ... goes on a curve ... but I can't think of it. So when you move the planet it doesn't just respond to the arc of rotation - instead it uses that arc to ramp up the movement (I think that's the word - RAMP) to a high speed and then ramp back down ... THAT will look cool !

psychonull says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:59pm

I liked the graphics, controls felt smooth. I think it could get better with sound, I didn't get how it fits on the theme but nice little game, I enjoyed myself playing it :)

Kostyan1996 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Earth should rotate and enemies come more slower, also it is not really a weapon, but overall game is very cool and innovative, like it!

MaesK says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Quite funny! But it is hard, or I suck at playing it :D Nice gameplay, I lost the game as soon as a new color appeared. By rotating permanently, you can try by luck and sometimes it even works!

Great game!

Somnium says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Interesting concept! The gradual acceleration when turning did make the controls feel a bit unresponsive. But I enjoyed the game.

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:20pm

This is actually a really interesting take on a match three :) I enjoyed it a bunch but it went way too fast for me to keep up and perhaps adding more mechanics would make for some interesting play. But overall I thought it was pretty cool :)!

dcampos says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Innovative game. At first I thought it wasn't working because of the planet image not rotating.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]