Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Concrete Escape

by Davikin92 - Jam Entry

1-2 players game.

You are being chased by the police. Your truck is loaded with wet concrete, dump it along the road to slow them down!

A buddy can join as the hairdryer to make the concrete blobs into walls to stop them for good!

Credits:
Design - David Becerra (Davikin92)
Programming - Ricardo Pacheco (garnanpacheco)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#654Theme(Jam)3.16
#701Humor(Jam)2.48
#784Innovation(Jam)2.62
#911Fun(Jam)2.44
#919Graphics(Jam)2.18
#991Mood(Jam)1.97
#1054Overall(Jam)2.30

Comments

petey123567 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:52am

Interesting idea! Controls and physics can be a bit wonky.

Moraleidahgo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:53am

Simple, but yet a cool entry. Could be more polished and have a better difficulty ramping.

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:59am

I love how persistent those cops are. They come at you no matter what its hilarious. Good work

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:55am

just surviving those crazy cops pushing them out is fun, and the teamplay is great too nice work.

chrissi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04am

Haha... that was cool. Controls a bit wonky, hard to control, wasd + mouse would have been a better choice. But overall playable and nice attempt.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:11am

Phisycs are a bit laggy, nice concept.

roving-stone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23am

The physics are really choppy/glitchy, but I enjoyed it for its silliness. I like the moped-driving hairdryer.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:28am

The best were the cops riding their cars on the side.

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:04am

That's about as original as it gets hahaha. I tried playing alone but it was quite hard. WASD+Space would be much easier! Good game, man!

frosty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15am

Really clever idea! I'm not sure who is more inept -- the engineer who made a bridge with no side walls, or the police who keep driving off the edge. =)

mildmojo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:48am

I got run off the road by an indestructible cop car on its roof. Ha!

Could use a little improvement on the driving physics and the control layout; I'm guessing arrows + space + mouse might work better for southpaws?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:26am

interesting idea! need some polish and difficulty but it's a start.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46am

In the end, i fall because there are no roads.

Good game idea but gameplay needs to be polished.

akymos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:41am

It reminded me of the "Blues Brothers" movie…police car jumping everywhere…cool game…phisycs a little weird.

Portals says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:52am

Cool idea with the hairdryer. The physics are a bit weird, and the controls are a bit wonky too. But overall good job!

BermudaCake says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:55am

Pretty hilarious to play, I love when the cars flip over.

Mimus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:23am

Funny game :) Interesting idea!

Krunoslav says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Nice game, good graphics, but a little bit hard to control

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Cool idea and definitely an unconventional weapon. :-)
The control layout is a bit difficult for one player - I guess WASD + space + mouse would work better.
The sound effects are not very nice to the ears.

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Interesting concept, but the controls are jerky. Tighten up the controls, and add some variations to the gameplay to improve the game. Good start!

jesterswilde says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Enjoyed the co-op aspect, but the z-fighting is far too hard on the eyes.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Physics seem a bit wonky on the cars, make sure you're updating them correctly (are you using FixedUpdate?). Fun idea, I also enjoyed trying to play both by myself

rplnt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Well.. It's fun :D Like, goat simulator style. I laughed when police cars started to arrive upside down, and then in packs stacked on top of each other. Sometimes it got frustrating if on got stuck to the truck though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Neat idea. The models looked great, and was pretty fun to play. Good job!

Firaa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:49pm

An interesting game with a unique way to slow down the police. Fairly humorous when police cars flipped on their sides are trying to push you off the bridge.

dray says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:55pm

wtf did i just play? the idea is interesting but the physics make it almost unplayable and that what make it fun.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Eventually all the cop cars started spawning and chasing us upside down. That was pretty great.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:39am

Cool idea! Pretty enjoyable too, although I would have liked a bit of moving forward and back and maybe regular traffic on the road ahead

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:00pm

An interesting idea, I found the controls to be a bit hard, maybe using 'a' and 'd' would help

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Cool! its a simple and fun idea , i liked the art. good work!

oparisy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:45pm

OK, played with my kid, we had great fun! Was able to progress by pushing the enemies off the border, did not really have to use the concrete mechanic.

Chris M says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:52am

I'm having some trouble running the web and osx versions, anybody got a workaround?

Chris M says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:00am

Turns out the webplayer worked a treat! Just the WebGL and OSX versions I couldn't run.

I'm glad it did too, there is a surreal pleasure in this game that had me smiling throughout. I don't know if the glitchiness of the cars was intentional or not, but it made it the experience for me as every upside down car, car coming from on high, and synchronised barrel-rolls left me wondering what would happen next. The ever-present hairdryer made me buy into the absurd happenings on screen, and although I was playing solo, I had a good time trying to manage both.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:41am

Hilarious how some of the cops chase you on their side. Thought it helped add some character to the car chase.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:55am

It was very hard for me to play with these controls, I think allowing WASD as well as arrows would have solved it. The game was fun though! Funny and has a lot of charm. Good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:16am

this is a two player game but i was able to play alone - cops kept falling off the side - so it has some issues - good effort

CScribes says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:15am

Fun little game ad great use of the theme. Little difficult as a single player though, and the noises started to get a tad annoying.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]