Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Get The Cookies Back

by Modoc73 - Compo Entry

!!! Best played in Windows !!!

Oh no! The Monkey stole your cookies! Take you handy Bubble Gun and go get your cookies back!!

Click to advance in storyboard.

Arrow keys to move.
Space to shoot.
R to restart level.


Fill outlined shapes to create platforms.

Jump on crawlers to bounces on them. But you can't bounce on Monkeys.

Can you defeat the boss on level 4?

Enjoy!



This is my first time entering Ludum Dare or any game Jam.
If you finish post your score :)

I will upload a timelapse later.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#158Mood3.52
#233Audio3.28
#234Humor3.36
#241Graphics3.63
#261Fun3.42
#295Theme3.66
#327Overall3.42
#511Innovation3.16

Comments

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:03am

i liked the idea of using a bubble gun to make moving bubble platforms! Cute Game.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:04am

silly and amusing. great work.

GravityScore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:06am

It's very cute! I love the art style - it fits the game very well. The audio did get a bit annoying, having it constantly on repeat, but great job!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:06am

Love the bubble platforms.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:07am

Love the graphics, the audio is well done as well. The jumping mechanic needs work, you probably should've lowered the gravity and tinkered with some other settings to make it more crisp so as to make the platforming less frustrating.

Smiley says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27am

mmmm.. cookies...

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59am

A little floaty movement.
Like the bubbles!

Naphier says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:04am

Neat idea and cute game. Controls could be a little better, but fun and interesting!

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:06am

The jump is very well weighted, felt satisfying!

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15am

Bubbles worked great for platforms, but the enemies have such a small hit box and are too low to the ground for the bubbles to really work on them.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:50am

The idea of using the weapon to do another thing that shoot is great. Maybe the gameplay should have be further pushed in this way ?

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:55am

It's fun to play, has nice (not perfect, but nice) graphics and sound. 4/5, cause the weapon is only somewhat innovative. The greatest issue is that the movement is to fast, which makes the caracter a bit hard to control.

Vulkanmannen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Good game! I like it. Hard to jump and walk on platforms, and in combination whit waiting on platforms to come it went pretty slow sometimes. But i got a really good feeling from playing anyway :-)

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:48am

Fun! The platform-making from the bubble gun is a unique mechanic and I liked the variety of enemies.

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Enjoyed the gameplay and format! I like your choice of unconventional weapon.

EwChap says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:10am

the platform mechanic was very well executed. Jumping with a bit off for some of the placement of things but overall great entry.

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:45pm

I liked the bubble gun and how you could create solutions to your puzzles by blowing bubbles into platforms. Collecting lost cookies that had been taken away by a monkey was a bit perplexing, but it worked, I suppose! Nice graphics, and the music was fun and bright :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Interesting choise of weapon, but controls feel a bit clumsy.

Modoc73 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:14am

Thanks for all the feedback so far!
Had heaps of fun making it. I keep in mind to work on making my controls for user friendly next time, and actually think a bit more about my level design. :D

Please comment if there was anything else that I could improve on for this style of game.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Fun idea, had a good feel to it. It was really hard to jump on enemies though, I think mostly because of how quickly you fall after jumping. Great art and sound!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:02am

Really good, filling up the start button with water just hooked me in to the rest of the game. Platforming physics feel really good, but a variable jump height would have made it even better! Love the graphics, chunky pixels I'm a big fan of!

grywhttl says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:01am

Neat. Would prefer the bubble meter to recharge over time

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 2:48am

looking bubble moving was fun!

goblin says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Hey! nice game!! GJ :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]