Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Affectionate Armament

by ekkiiiii - Jam Entry

Affectionate Armament - A Ludum Dare 32 Game
------------------------

Two players, one weapon! Move quickly to acquire the weapon, or be cautios and try to sweet talk your way to control. Regardless, if you overdo it it will become hot-headed and go berzerk!


Story
-----
We decided to go with ninjas on a construction site because we thought no one would even ask for a story then.


Controls
--------
Keyboard Controls are a bit complicated since it is a two player game, but we decided to include it for those that dare to try. The game is playtested with gamepads (Xbox One), so they should have the best feel. Since all that combined are a lot of buttons, we have uploaded the controls as a screenshot for you and your friend/enemy to use as a cheat sheet. Of course they are also visible in the main menu of the game.

Currently not really playable on some resolution ratios.


The Team
--------
This is our first game jam. Gege did the graphics, level design and tweaked around with physics and lighting for the first time. I did the coding and took care of setting up some things in Unity. Ideafinding, game design and the little bit of playtesting we managed to squeeze in were done together. The only thing we did not make ourselves is the awesome music we found online on ericskiff.com.


Thank you for playing and your feedback!


Tools:
Unity Personal
Visual Studio Pro 2013
Photoshop CC
Maya
git on GitHub
sfxr

External Assets:
Music by ericskiff.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#316Graphics(Jam)3.69
#487Fun(Jam)3.10
#627Mood(Jam)2.91
#651Overall(Jam)3.06
#667Humor(Jam)2.55
#691Innovation(Jam)2.79
#933Theme(Jam)2.54

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:19am

Pretty cool game. I like the music a lot!

allanolivei says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:00am

the game is fun and has a fantastic visual, but sometimes the game starts and the controls do not work, sometimes the game opens and parts of this scenario is not visible. These problems are probably the exportation of unity for html5.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13am

This is really fun.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:14am

Fun game, sadly I had no one to play with so I had to fight myself. I won though.
Nice fun simple game

trenchgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28am

Nice work. I like the visual style.

SilentNight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:31am

This game is really cute. I like the feel of the game overall nice work.

IndieST says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42am

I was attracted by the graphic. But the mood of the visual doesn't match with the music. The movement doesn't feel smooth, except jump.

strong99 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Nice game!

icedvariables says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Did have problems with arrow keys and control inputs getting mixed up initially (ie. arrow keys controlled one guy and 't' and 'r' controlling the other) but once those were sorted out it was fun. Music was very good too.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Loved the dynamic elements of the platforming. Nicely done!

terpin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57pm

The style and mood of this game are so spot on! Seriously, I love the graphics. On the other hand, sometimes the controls were a little iffy (not sure if it was my controller or what). Great going!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Great Entry!
I like the graphic! Well done!

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Thanks for all the feedback! We will keep working on the game for a while, improve controls and a few other things.
I have also added a link to itch.io where we have uploaded the classic Unity Web Player as an alternative to the WebGL player. Depending on the hardware/browser-configuration, they both have some issues.
The downloadable versions run better in general, so try those if you can.

hawksley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Really interesting game and liked the idea of having 2 players, however, I was trying this one out on my own so wasn't able to enjoy the full experience!
Would have been nice to try with another player. The graphics were good so loved the game from a visual perspective. The only negative for me was that I couldn't work out how the game fit the theme of unconventionial weapon, and also music didn't quite fit the overall look of the game. Physics all worked great so overall good effort with this
one.

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:49pm

First ... why jump on the Y button and not A like every game!?
I'm joking, that's just a detail, nice game I like the idea of the weapon becoming crazy and starting to shoot everywhere.
Good job!

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Pretty good movement, though I got stuck a few times. I'm sure it would be fun to play against someone.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:13am

I loved the way it became a scramble for the pickups - and the way that physics interacted with them. I think it'd be cool if there was a bit more justification for the affection dropping like if you were fighting over a toy bear or keepsake :)

Backlund says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:45am

Cool game.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:45pm

It's pretty cool. Too bad I didn't have some else here to try it with.

CScribes says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:13am

Fun little game ad great use of the theme. Little difficult as a single player though, and the noises started to get a tad annoying.

CScribes says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:17am

Wrong comment haha! It was pretty hard to be honest.

JonathanG says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I love the artwork in this game - the use of dynamic lights to cast shadows on the background adds a lot to the look as well.
The music is great, but you mention this is from a third party so I guess this is why you don't have a box for rating audio?
Gameplay wise, I like the concept (racing to use the weapon), though the gun is surprisingly ineffective when it has a mind of it's own :P

Xanjos says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Bit awkward trying to playtest this by myself but I liked the idea of having to "sweet-talk" in order to steal the weapon and the fact that the weapon itself can go berserk at any point adds an extra dynamic.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]