Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Telefragger

by TwiiK - Compo Entry

You're an assassin known as "The telefragger". Your only tool is a teleporter that you use both for killing and for transportation.

CONTROLS
=======
A or left arrow: Go left
D or right arrow: Go right
Left shift: Run
Left mouse button: Teleport

You have to ALT + F4 to exit the standalone if playing fullscreen on Windows. You probably have to do the same on Mac and Linux (if it even works).

There's barely a game prototype in there. This was my first Ludum Dare and I did everything wrong. Hopefully I learned a lot from it. :p

I've tested the Web Player, and the Windows and Mac standalones in "Fantastic" quality. Any other quality setting is experimental. The Mac standalone gives you an "unidentified developer" warning, but I guess that's normal for everything like this on Mac? I had to manually override these settings to be able to run my game at least.

KNOWN BUGS
=========
- The game is very dark, but certain machines don't seem to support one of the graphics features I used so it becomes almost pitch black. If that happens I'm not sure what you can do, sorry.
- The checkpoint system is very broken. A lot of the time you'll spawn outside the level. The only fix is to restart the game.

I'll see if I can fix these issues and upload a less broken version.

TOOLS USED
========
Unity 5
3ds Max
Photoshop
Adobe Audition
LabChirp

POST-MORTEM
=========
http://twiik.net/articles/ludum-dare-32-post-mortem


-------------------------------------------------------
Website: http://twiik.net/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/oyvindstromsvik
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/twiik

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#204Overall3.59
#271Innovation3.52
#280Graphics3.55
#284Theme3.67
#309Mood3.23
#325Fun3.34
#614Audio2.55
#692Humor2.45

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:33am

This is really smart.
Brings back memories to like Unreal and DOOM.
Innovative as hell...

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:34pm

I love the transportation mechanics :)

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Nice. Love the mechanics and the graphics. Had to download the windows version, Web player did not work. Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

TwiiK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Thanks, guys.

DKoding, I will.

I will update a less broken build when I have the chance. I watched a colleague play this one and it's way too easy to get stuck outside the level.

My game is so unfinished it's hard for me to say anything positive about it, but it's nice that you're able to find some redeemable qualities about it.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:45pm

I liked it, it was really smooth.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Seems pretty neat, would love a means to cancel a teleport after you have clicked also something on screen to show if you have a tele-charge.

TwiiK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:56pm

@Ilseroth, heh, at one point I was like: "You need to be able to click the right mouse button to cancel teleporting".

But then I decided that there should be a powerup that enabled the right mouse button to spawn decoys at your cursor. You were supposed to use this to get past the sentry gun as it used to kill you immediately in one hit.

But feature creep, lack of time, you name it. Everything collapsed on me. For about half the development you had infinite charges as well so canceling a teleport wasn't really something you needed. I don't think there's even a trace of the decoy code in the source anymore as I deleted it all quickly and made it so the second powerup gives you infinite charges instead. That change was made like 15 minutes before the deadline. :p

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58pm

BEST game so far. Congratulation.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17pm

This is one of the awesome games I have ever played. That's all I could say about it, love the mechanics.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Illumination were very good, mecanics are very good.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:19pm

The mechanic is really interesting. I'm not sure because I've not played it but only heard of it, but is this somewhat similar to the game The Swapper? Telefragging is something I really miss from old FPS games. Building a game around that is an intriguing idea.

Congratulations on finishing your first LD! Good stuff!

crockid5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Game got a little too hard for me after the first part, but was generally fun

TwiiK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:31pm

@kyyrma It ended up becoming very much like The Swapper. I have played The Swapper a little bit.

In the beginning I had completely different plans for the game, but then I decided I should put some Portal-like puzzles in there. And later when the deadline was closing in I realized I had no level so I quickly threw one together and made everything dark to hide how crummy it looked. And suddenly it looked almost like a clone of The Swapper, which wasn't intentional.

xirion11 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Pretty nice but i does not seems innovative or unconventional since it feels like a clone of "The Swapper", same teleportation mechanic, the decoy mechanic is pretty similar to the clone created in the swapper. Pretty good entry nonetheless.

marccspro says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Graphics and Audio are great ! The way you take the player to teleport him is awesome ! Well done ;)

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:05am

I wanted to do something like this so I am glad someone did, haha. The web player doesn't seam to be working for me right now(It loads and shows the intro text but then one flash and it stops doing anything), but I'll check back later to rate.

Sytech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Excellent use of the theme! The telefragging and gibs reminded me of Quake. A bit wacky collision detection between the player and the terrain though!

SadSmile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Dude, you have to teach me how to make these gib effects. i love them <3

Smiley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:55pm

haha.. Telefragging.. brings back memories to playing over modem :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:57pm

the teleport was really satisfying. cool atmosphere too. the boss was kind of a letdown

MacMC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:04pm

I saw this on the Unity forums, and I must say you did a great job. Very polished game.

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Wow this is a pretty similar concept to mine: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=36236
(maybe not as puzzle oriented)

Gameplay:
- The "Boss" was way too easy to kill.
- There are some parts, where you can get outside the level.

GUI:
- I seem to have one of the Machines, where everything is black :(

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Not bad, I like the art and the mechanic. When I tried to respawn, it respawned me underneath the ground, and I couldn't get out though XD Could use some music to keep it interesting.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Unfortunately, gut stuck halfway through after I respawned under the floor.

TwiiK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Thanks for all the feedback, guys. Although it kind of sucks having to hear people say all the things you already know and there's nothing you can do about it. :D

I could submit a new build with the broken checkpoint code fixed and some better edge colliders to prevent you getting stuck outside the level, but I don't really care. All the rest of it is broken or unfinished anyway. I may take the telefragging idea and create a proper game with it at a later date. I think I want it to be first person full 3D though. I think that would be awesome. Really visualize the part of teleporting into someone and blowing them up. :D But I would have to figure out how to actually turn that into a challenging and rewarding game if I'm going to bother with it.

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Very nice game with an interesting mechanic. The art style was style, but the lighting made it work.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:40pm

On a MBP13 retina, tried the web version and everything was black :(
Hope that helps with the debugging.

TwiiK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:37pm

@asobi tech Did you try both the standalone and the Web Player? Both on my old Macbook Air and my new iMac it works perfectly, err, it's no more broken than any of the other builds to put it that way. :p

I've seen that it can be black in the Web Player if you play it in Safari for some reason. I will have to check with the Unity folks why that is. But any other browser or the standalone should work.

nonetheless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:01pm

I'd like introduction text to stay longer on screen. In general I think you've started pretty strong, working animations, nice environment, strong idea. Gameplay is not for me but I look forward to more games from you :)

BIZM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Interesting game. We liked the feel, the tone and the idea of using telefragging as a weapon!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Nice! would be useful to see if you have any charges left..

goblin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Great graphics and gameplay. Interesting mechanics, good job!
Check ours too https://github.com/local-minimum/wheres_manno/wiki

PixelMind says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Loved the swapping mechanics :) The game looks nice, has great idea and innovative gameplay.
Well done TwiiK!

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Hey, it seems like we've had very similar ideas. :) Though mine is a lot more... simplistic, I guess. In any case, good work, this is a nice implementation of the concept. There is definitely potential for a cool game based on those mechanics if you choose to continue working on it.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:03pm

It could be better by increasing the speed. It seems to me too slow, but all works well. A good entry ++

Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Teleportation is really freakin cool.

creative630 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:57am

Really cool! I like the mechanics quite a bit. At first checkpoint I fell through the floor. Are you removing the player velocities on respawn? A respawn key would be nice.

May 9, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Telefragging! How did I not think of this! I loved telefragging people in games like Quake and UT so this is pretty awesome. Telefragging people is fun, and its nice that you use it as both a combat and a platforming tool. The graphics are pretty slick, even though the models are pretty basic the lighting effects and such are nice, and the whole thing has a nice mood to it. Very cool game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]