Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

TowelFighter

by Hovester - Compo Entry

My first game ever made and of course this is my first ludum dare...

This game is a Plataformer..enjoy :)



Download : https://mega.co.nz/#!UYdHFYRJ!BavdNsYK76wMTcdYMv-Z82dLCWgDCorbRHSRanopG78
Source :https://mega.co.nz/#!0E8UQapQ!gAZqRdN5-vIKfEiKW_sfpgGrCp49xmb5L0jeK3VX4A4

Fallowing the tip of GameQuester
Single runtime executable for windows:
https://mega.co.nz/#!QY8EFD4Q!skW_AMyR_V1tYJQ_eNT91flWrxpCnW2U0W-WBY-d7d0


Made with Game Maker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#584Humor2.65
#667Audio2.41
#880Theme2.87
#913Graphics2.42
#958Mood2.29
#987Fun2.39
#1018Innovation2.25
#1061Overall2.48
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

JoJoV69 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Make the movement less...rapid.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:07pm

sorry man, I'm pretty loose with what I install, bypassing all the dire warnings that pop up, but this triggered all of them and THEN asked for permission to make changes to my computer set-up - bailed

dvdking says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Even though controls were terrible, collisions buggy, this game was fun. I don't even know why. I guess that's level layout or challange.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Quite fun, a great start :)

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Very frustrating with bad controls/movement and unfair level designs! But I actually wanted to go on and finish it! It had good variety. And I did finish it! Good effort for a first game!

GameQuester says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Not bad for a first game. The first thing I would recommend to improove are the controls. You can also export an exe file with game maker, so the people don't have to install the game.

Hovester says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:42am

Thanks all for the comments.

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:56pm

As mentioned before, the movement needs polishing. The graphics could use some refinement too, but you developed a good platformer here! Congratulations to your first game ever made! Nobody can tell you everything has to be perfect on the first run, so don't take the critic of the commets to hard, okay? We're all friends and we want to help each other by pointing out the goods and the not so goods :D. I liked that game and I could see the effort you put in there.

Keep making games! It's so much fun :D

Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Good job for a first time. It's way better than my first effort. I like the graphics and the music. The super sensitive collisions and jerky controls made it a bit too frustrating with all those lizards.

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:10am

TowelFighter! That sounds great. I wish I could play. Have you thought about porting it to a non-Windows platform?

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:16am

It was good for a very first game ever but the movement is too fast. I was unable to go far.
Also, enemies moved past the edge of a terrain block.

KaiseanGames says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Nice game. With some graphics improvement, level design and movement tweaking (movement too fast currently), it would be awesome game. Well done for the first game. Well done!

May 4, 2015 @ 9:15am

Congratulations for making a game in 48 hours! Some feedback! Yay!
- the movement should be a bit less hectic
- the collision boxes are a bit too big
- enemies are too fast
- I somehow wasn't able to pass the first screen (walking against the screen border worked after several times)
- sometimes you can double-jump if you press jump near a wall (couldn't reproduce it)

Good start! Keep making :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]