Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sandwich Assassin

by stuffedgravy - Compo Entry

This is my first LD compo entry ever :)

STORY: You are a chef with a dark past. You've decided to rid the world of the tyranny of Kings. Armed with a few condiments and slices of bread, you head out on your quest.

DIRECTIONS: Use your mouse to navigate the menus.
When making the sandwich: Click the icons, then click on an empty spot on the sandwich to place the jelly, peanut butter, and bananas. Your goal is to minimize the number of empty spots, as they will be covered in poison at the end of the sandwich-making.
When delivering the sandwich: Press space to cut. Try to time your cuts so the tasters eat small, unpoisoned pieces so that the payload can reach the King!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#62Innovation4.00
#87Theme4.00
#144Overall3.68
#195Fun3.55
#195Humor3.45
#209Audio3.33
#392Mood3.12
#412Graphics3.27

Comments

jbasinger says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40am

This is clever and very impressive. Well done!

Joris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43am

Really nice puzzle game. Although it is quite hard :p. Music is very awesome!

Lynx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

The music fits perfectly. Interesting concept. I can honestly say that I've never played a sandwich poisoning game before.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:58am

Great play on the theme, great music, and it's quite fun.

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46am

I really liked the idea with this game. I've never seen a game like this before. I did find a few bugs. On one of the levels I filled up all the squares(last level) and I killed the king with an not poisoned piece of bread. Good art and music. Good job! :D

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:28am

The game could've really benefited from having a reset button or some way to remove ingredients. Making a mistake winds up being pretty unforgiving. Also, I don't really understand how the cutting portion works.

The idea's great though! If you added resetting functionality to the sandwich-making part, it'd help the game a ton.

KloudRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:57pm

I really like it!

jontturi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:24pm

This is fun!

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:40pm

@Armanky: I definitely considered some sort of undo, but unfortunately the ability to remove ingredients made the game trivially easy, since you could just mess around with the sandwich until you had a perfect setup. :) Resetting the whole sandwich sounds like a good idea though!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Interesting concept but fairly well executed.

ladybenko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Excellent! :)

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Super impressed by the design. To use puzzle mechanics combined with that arcade style slicing thing, brilliant. You sir have earned my first 5 star rating for this LD =)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:21pm

It made me hungry

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Excellent game - played it for nearly an hour - the purple king is a pain to kill!

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:00pm

@ManicMiner WOAH that's a lot of time, thank you so much!! Is the Purple King even beatable? I didn't quite get to test that level very thoroughly haha :)

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Really hard puzzler! Great work, I would have like to be able to fix misplaced spreads

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Nice idea and really hard puzzles!

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Deadly sammie - super fun. Nice two stage flow--maximizing on the puzzle part makes the slicing part much easier.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Really fun game! Interesting concept, and well made! The music was nice, the theme was well executed! I really enjoyed the challenge! Good job!

Hectigo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I really liked the style the instructions were written in. The puzzle mechanic would still need something to spice it up to make it more interesting, but still I was interested enough to play through all the levels. There doesn't seem to be much reason why the cutting pieces needs to have a real-time challenge, I feel like it would fit better if one just chose a slice to give to each taster. Knowing the amount of tasters in advance could be better too.

sch00f says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Cool and fun puzzle game, I couldn't stop before I killed al the kings ^^
Btw, you can kill strawberry shortking with no poison on the sandwich ;D

MaesK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Hard but nice puzzles. I never expected making a sandwich to be this difficult :D

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Now I'm hungry for a peanut butter with banana sandwich with two kinds of jelly (hold the poison please). :)

Nice job. It's an interesting puzzle game, and the art and music really tie it together.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Very cool take on a puzzle game. I lost because I was discovered by a taste tester although I didn't see any poison on his or her slice.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Funny game, even if I posioned him! I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/N2U1d1bXaPI

rudra says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Very nice puzzle game ! Also nice music ! Cheers ! Good job !

khahem says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Very original idea and fun to play. Great job !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]