Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Foot of God

by m3_on - Jam Entry

###################
NOTE: I've updated the build on NewGrounds based on user feedback, so it no longer represents what I built during the 72 hour jam. However, the Windows and OS/X builds are my original Ludum Dare builds with no modifications.

Latest Build: http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/656509
###################

The Foot of God
Created by Mariano Martinez III

Instructions:
Help the Priest collect the last 10 pages of his Bible and return home.

## Controls
A - Moves Left
D - Moves Right
Space Bar - Charges your Prayer Bar
Left Click - God's Stomp
Right Click or E - God's Warmth

## Special Moves
God's Stomp: When you've charged your Prayer Bar enough (at least one bar is yellow), you can release God's Stomp by Left-Clicking anywhere on the screen. God's Foot will crush all that's below it, including the Priest...so watch out!

God's Warmth: When you've completely charged your Prayer Bar (all 3 bars are blue), you can release God's Warmth by Right-Clicking your mouse (or hitting the E button for Web Player users). The warming rays will restore all lost hearts.

## Collecting Bible Pages
Each page is buried underground but can be identified by the sparkles above it. To uncover a buried page, you must use God's Stomp on top of the marker. Then the page will appear above ground and you can simply walk into it to collect it.

## End Game
You Win - Collect all 10 pages of the bible and return to your home (walk into the door)

You Lose - You take more than 3 hearts worth of damage!

## Tip
White Arrows will appear on the left or right side of the screen to point you in the correct direction of the next Bible page if it's off screen.

FOLLOW THE ARROWS!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2292Coolness17%

Comments

NoxiiStudio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:47am

The game is mainly missing content. The gameplay is simple, the idea is simple, the graphics are too. The deception comes from the fact that despite the simple concept, it was promisingly fun! But it wasn't. The game isn't balanced, and it kinda ruins the mood :/

m3_on says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:24am

@NoxiiStudio - Yeah, this was my first jam, timing wise I'm just happy I was able to finish it and I generally make things too difficult and then back it off...I do wish I put in 1 extra heart of health and made the beam from "God's Warmth" kill any monster that touched it along with healing you, that way using it would also help protect you along with healing you. But, it is what it is, thanks for playing it though and giving me feed back!

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Not bad , just needs a little bit of tweaking and it would have been even better than it already was. But still nice.
79/10 - IGN

crazya02 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Liked the concept, but it ended up being too irritating to play.

Paulozz says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:48pm

I find it very good. It's hard but not too hard, maybe a lack of a tutorial. I would love to have some sound (alleluia like in worms).
And that giant foot is so funny. (it diserve a cool sound as well)
I had a good tiem playing it.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:49pm

It needs more. But...its LD. My complaint...HUGE...NO AUDIO!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:29am

Really cool idea, using God's foot is definitely an unconventional weapon. It was a bit difficult though with the speed of the monsters and the build for the God's foot.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:31am

Really cool concept! I loved the tension you were able to create by swarming the screen with monsters while the protagonist needed to do something as passive as praying. It was really impressive when I first saw God's foot come down and smash all the being beneath him. I thought it was a nice touch knowing that his own disciple could be crushed as well. I loved the attention to detail like the blood splatters and god's foot was rendered beautifully. Great job! Thank you for making this game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]