Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Defence Bot Omega

by stoarch - Compo Entry

Aliens invade your city. Unfortunately you have only several defence bots for catching bombs. Ally ships try to defend city.

You must survive until reinforcements arrives.

[Controls]
Simply click in gray area (Operation bounds) and bot will go near to point. When it senses bomb - it will catch it.

Avoid plasma shots from alien ships - it hurts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#440Innovation3.26
#452Graphics3.20
#762Mood2.68
#800Overall2.89
#925Fun2.54
#926Theme2.77

Comments

Pawige says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:41am

Interesting concept! I liked the AI ship that was defending the city with me. Controls felt pretty awkward though.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49am

Cool idea! I did feel that the mechanics of the game were hard to understand. I was able to catch bombs, but I saw a lot of things that I was not sure if they were interact able or not. I think just updating you entry description with something about the controls would help a lot.

sirikan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49am

Nice idea. I had a bit of trouble with the controls though.

racarate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52am

that was nice, i like the feeling of being in between a game that two computers are playing without you. i really liked how the movement was faster when going further distances, very similar to the robotron projectiles. i wish you made a little bit of music though!

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:53am

Over all, I think you did a good job with this. The concept is pretty new and exciting, but personally, I dunno if it fits all that well with "unconventional weapon". I think the ship was a little hard to control. It still was gameplay I haven't seen a lot of before, so hats off to you! I hope you make something more with this!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:33am

Fine, but too difficult.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36am

Really cool concept, I liked feeling like a support character while the AI dealt with the more traditional gameplay. I don't see how it fits with the theme but it was a really interesting idea regardless, great work!

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:56am

Thank you all. Your opinion is important to improve my game. Good luck.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:49am

Pretty nice game, enjoyable to play. Shame there is only one level but still, sometimes your ally shots down enemy ships like crazy and sometimes he is goofing around so unpredictable behavior of your ally (which is your only weapon) makes every game a bit different.

Dohxis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Too difficult for me, but nice game overall.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:37pm

This is the most creative use of the theme I've seen so far! Great job, this is fun and the graphics made me really nostalgic for Clay Fighter 64 :) As for criticism, I'd say smoothing out and/or speeding up the bot's movement would be an improvement, but awesome work regardless!

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Thank you. Take into account when upgrade to full game.

renatopp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:34pm

I like your hand-draw art, and it was a good use of the theme. I would recommend to make things easier, less bombs at the beginning or more speed to the player. Congratulations.

Vytheros says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

The gameplay is really hectic and hard to work with, moving the character and having them block the missiles takes a while and after a few seconds you're dead.

The art style is really cool, and I wanted to know, is it hand painted then scanned in or was it drawn digitally? I was curious because it looks like someone painted it and I wasn't sure if it was real or digital.

The theme also doesn't really apply, as you're not using a weapon as you are just blocking missiles, which isn't unconventional or a weapon.

stoarch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:14am

Art is hand drawn digitally with Wacom Intuos tablet. Gameplay is hard as default. When testing I can not save more than 4 houses, but yesterday my friend test it and save 9 houses (with some cracks).

Theme is difficult to take. I think, weapon that you can not control (ally ship) is more unconventional, than using some projectiles. I see many projectile in standard games.

Thank you for opinion. It's pleasant to see, that my two day work can make good feelings.

morokiane says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Fun game...certainly hard and a nice take on the classic defender style games.

NIGIC says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:57am

Well. I won, but I think everyone's dead. Yay?

The input-sensitive area is quite thin. Not sure how exactly you're handling the click events, but you should instead take them in from anywhere on the window (or at least give some margin) and then clamp them to your desired range. Would be a lot more comfortable.

Nice new take on Space Invaders. Looks great. Control precision aside, it works great, too. Good job!

stoarch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:35am

Thank you. This idea does not come to me. Will work on it.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:31am

Neat! I like that the game kind of plays itself while you do something else.
I did have trouble with the aspect ratio. Also, movement speed being a fixed time for any distance was odd.

Mantlair says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Nice idea. Being between the fires of space invaders. Nice art. But you should probably normalize vectors while flying. Its not fare going fast if you are going far away in my opinion. I loved the ship eating close bombs automatically! Keep up good work.

stoarch says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:29am

Thank you. Will consider better movement patterns, with speed bonuses from enemy drop.

borgi says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:11am

I liked the graphics style, cool idea for the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]