Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

HotMop

by sararyCow - Jam Entry

You are a secret agent undercovered as a janitor in an airport terminal. There is red alarm attack and everyone is a suspicious subject. Make them slide to the Staff Room with your mop's trail. Also save civilization with your mop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#350Theme(Jam)3.60
#370Innovation(Jam)3.31
#373Audio(Jam)3.08
#424Graphics(Jam)3.49
#465Humor(Jam)2.97
#732Overall(Jam)2.96
#743Fun(Jam)2.72
#781Mood(Jam)2.68

Comments

fixedgerald says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:42am

Good graphics and funny idea, but the controls are very loose you fly all over the place and I'm not sure of the best way to get people into the staff room.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:47am

Was really fun to slide around. Took me a minute to get the hang of what I was supposed to do. Well put together game

hexdie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24am

This is neat! I like the concept and the graphics. It was a bit hard to move around and I didn't totally understand how people were moving around.

Oborux says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33am

Well done, love the mechanic of skidding and the crowd flocking is great.

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35am

Cool Idea, it has its issues though.

I enjoyed the graphics and the music made it calming and I fit well because I found it a bit frustrating jamming those suspects into the room.

I also didn't find the sliding that bad. I thought it was fun to slide around, but I think the room should be larger to allow for that.

Still cool, you should do more with it.

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16am

good idea!

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:40am

I loved the graphics and the music was really nice. But it was kind of hard to control. Very nice idea!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

My heroic janitorial aspirations have finally been realized.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46am

Ho shit I shouldn't play that kind of superfast game after 3 days of game jam... :) Good looking pixel art and texture but my Harry Potter character was sometimes out of control (maybe just a web player problem ...).

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Controls were a bit crazy, artwork is great.

Cleaned that floor up real good

Pomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Controls were really difficult so didn't figure out how to get people into where they should have been. Interesting concept though :D

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16pm

"Please sir, follow me. No, you don't have time to get your bag, nor a cup of coffee."

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:17pm

I had fun playing this game, great job. The idea is hilarious, the music & art went well together too. As others have said, the controls could use a little TLC, but it's a great start.

Orava says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Looks nice other than the grain effect which is quite headache inducing.

Controls quite wonky, and I keep getting permanently stuck inside things.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

I love the graphics and the innovation of using your mop as a weapon. The thing that let it down for me was that sometimes the people would all group together and it was extremely difficult to mop them away to the exits.

Other than that, well solid game! Great stuff!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Hahaha The idea is graet! Well done!
It's a little too hard to get in the controls..
The graphic is AWESOME! But the mop sound is a little annoying xD
BTW Well done!

nightlord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41pm

congrats on the game. looks really good but the controls could be slowed down. the mopper flies around too fast. also the passengers need to move when they get stuck. for example the flower pots at the left of the door traps so many people

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:03am

First go I broke it by sliding off the screen!

2nd go I quite enjoyed it! Looks good and it's fun to slide around, but would be cool to give you more room to do that

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Great little consept

Blunt says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:30pm

great art.

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:32pm

I like the idea of this but it falters a little on execution. The controls are a bit floaty but I can forgive that, the main problem is that the point of the game is to funnel people into a place by laying what are essentially conveyor belts. However you have to go ahead of said motion, so once you've wiped people towards the goal, the flow of people into the goal stop you from leaving until the motion marker on the floor fades.

Donpastor says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Music is relaxing, art looks clean, but main character moves way too fast for me. I think it is a good concept.

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Really fun game, I liked the art style. The only problem was the controls that were pretty hard to handle.
Anyway good job!

ehtd says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:46pm

The controls are difficult to handle. I liked the graphics

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Nice mechanic, and clever answer to the jam theme.

esayitch says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Concept is great, so are the graphics... sound is all right but got annoying after a while... Controlling the dude was pretty hard, and I didn't really realize how using the mop helps usher anyone anywhere? I was just running into people and trying to bump them into the room... Good entry overall though.

Good luck!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:04am

clever idea, and nice graphics. but controls are super super fast, to the point where the camera doesn't keep up, and you can't see where your player character is. Also because of this fast movement, I was able to clip through colliders and got stuck in the side of the staff room.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:33pm

interesting idea :D

MaesK says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Nice idea! Controls were a little bit hard at the beginning, and it wasn't very clear where should I take them, but the arrow and pressing the button solved all this. Music is very relaxing, and the movement of people looked good. Keep it up!

tweedle says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:43pm

nice graphics, cool weapon/mechanic idea. gameplay could use some fine tuning.

jk5000 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:43pm

The music, graphics and the idea is really good. But misses a better introdukion.

Madball says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:53pm

That was quite relaxing. The music is so calm, and I like the flipping people.

At first I was confused, I didn't know what does my mop do. I expected people to avoid walking on wet places, so I have to make a dry pathway for them, but I figured out it's the opposite.

People make quite some jams. I wish they weren't in such a haste.

Got 50 points on my first try, and ended up trapped inside the staff room. Cool game! It's short, but enjoyable.

May 4, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Very original game but sometimes it is difficult to navigate the map.

tmpxyz says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:17am

Idea is quite nice, but it's quite easy to get the NPC to stuck beside the plants. And it would be nice to have more mechanics.

yuigoto says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Nice idea! Graphics and sound fit in a really nice way. :) Controls feel a little bit too much slippery, though.

Sometimes I get stuck/can't pass through some parts of the map (like the staff room's doors or the "wet floor" signs).

sputnik says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Controls are hard but nice idea and mechanics

pikkpoiss says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:08am

The concept, graphics, and music were great. Controls could be tightened up to give a better overall experience. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]