Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Crossy Hell

by RoryD - Jam Entry

Web GL: http://rorydriscoll.com/ld32/webgl/
Timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N0YEwoINifc

Thank you for playing our first game jam game ever!!! What an amazing experience!

Millions of people play Crossy Road each day, but where do the characters come from? Are they really dead when the game is over?

In our take of the world of Crossy Road, the characters rise from the dead in the form of zombies and ghosts and make their way back home, only for others to take their place. It's your job to stop the world from being overrun by these undead creatures.

Luckily Amazon has perfected just-on-time package delivery, so order the right product to turn the undead into the fully dead!

Controls:

A = zombie chicken package
S = zombie llama package
D = zombie frog package

J = ghost chicken package
K = ghost llama package
L = ghost frog package

These are on screen along with the pictures of who they attack.

Tips:

- Think of it like a music or rhythm game, and look ahead
- The smoke indicates how close you are to losing
- If you spam the order buttons too much, your order might get lost! (OK, there's an overheat mechanic to prevent excessive spamming, and to appease our physics engine overlords)
- But we tuned the overheat to be kinda gentle for the jam, so spam away if you get in trouble - it usually works!

Issues:

- We framed it at 16:9, so it's a bit off at 4:3
- Windows version looks best due to the real-time GI. I couldn't get the baked GI to work in time.

EDIT: I fixed the baked lighting issue so all builds should look the same.

Tools:

- Unity
- MagicaVoxel
- Audacity
- Garageband
- Photoshop
- Visual Studio 2013

Assets:

While we obviously took the look of three of the characters and the environment of Crossy Road in order to parody it, all of the zombie creatures and packages are our own design.

Music was generously provided by Benjamin Burnes (@ben_burnes) and taken from his page on SoundCloud (https://soundcloud.com/abstraction/sets/ludum-dare-challenge)

We used some explosion and box thud effects from FreeSound.org and/or FreeSfx.co.uk (I can't remember which - it's all a haze).

The font is Y-Grid by Iconian Fonts (http://www.1001freefonts.com/y_grid.font)

Contributors:

Rory Driscoll (@rorydriscoll)
Matt Arrington (@icodebot)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#130Graphics(Jam)4.14
#139Humor(Jam)3.65
#312Mood(Jam)3.35
#326Fun(Jam)3.30
#418Overall(Jam)3.34
#481Innovation(Jam)3.14
#629Theme(Jam)3.20

Comments

UltraRat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49am

Ha, yes a modern parody game.
Good move tuning down the difficulty in the uploaded version to make play easier.

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:51am

The game is too brutal. I can't just watch these poor animals... oh. In fact I can. 10/10

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:52am

Nice game, I see what you mean by kind of like a rhythm game. Nice visuals, solid game play.

Aevek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:25am

I played this for far too long. I really liked how challenging it got once all 6 types came into play.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:28am

The graphics (the movement and the models and the satisfying little explosions!) and the audio is top notch but man, I can't wrap my head around the controls. I have to first look on the road, then on the GUI and then on the keyboard to press the right key and the process just wears me out so quickly.

Maybe with enough practice it would get better but the gameplay initially is so cumbersome it's not gonna be easy. :(

Teesquared says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:29am

Fun and funny game. I like the parody. My kids will like this one too. Way to cross Crossy Road.

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:16am

Awesome! Love the graphics and the gameplay was fun, very addictive!

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Hahah yeah great twist on the crossy road take. Good job on mimicking the art style! Great job!

philipp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Nice!

Really liked the way you introduced new enemy types to the mix. Also, it took only seconds to grasp the concept. Good flow.

I don't know much about Crossy Roads, but I think you captured that art style very good.

(Btw: 125 points without spamming(only when I panicked for a moment :D))

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Funny submission.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:44pm

This is one of the best games i've seen been made in an LD jam the controlls are a bit combersome but otherwise it's a perfect game. :)

stevenlr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:51pm

I had way too much fun slaying cute little creatures, I feel like a monster now. :D Great job man! The graphics are really polished and coherent, and the audio is really nice too.

BlakeB says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:23am

Great graphics and theme and sense of humor. Game was a bit easy, but as you said, you tuned it down a bit.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Simple but effective, I like the zombie alpacas XD. I also appreciate the difficulty curb that helps the player understand the mecanics while becoming harder an harder. Nice work!

ripatti says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:42pm

It's weird but so fun!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Great graphics and a neat idea. Good work!

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Awesome art style to the game, loved the range of creatures and animals. I don't think the music quite suits the game but it's still good! it's a gorgeous looking game!

-Neith

UannaFF says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I loved it, the graphics makes me keep playing and the gampley hooked me, great job

MegaMasterX says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:50am

I played this WAY longer than I should have. Showed my team as well - VERY well done! I had a few issues with the controls, but that really didn't matter. Phenomenal entry. Welcome to the Ludum Dare!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:04am

Very good and fun, I play lots of laughter.

C.Lodwick says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:56pm

great mood with the sound. very responsive gameplay, which just feels great. very satisfying to blow up the zombies/ghosts.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Nice send up of Crossy Road. Great Music! Nicely polished very good.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:00am

too much fun - really impressive graphics

gnx says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:27pm

The parody premise is interesting and it helps that the game visually resembles the reference a lot :) The gameplay could be tuned a bit with better indicators on where the boxes will land, and I experienced some performance hiccups on the webgl version, but otherwise everything looks and sounds fine :)

rburema says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:31am

thoughts:
- A zombie-destroying 'guitar hero'-like game as a riff on a 'frogger'-like game... but with the cute graphics of the latter mentioned.
I just sat for a minute doing nothing after typing that sentence, just taking in the zany, slowly smiling.
- Pressing 'r' did nothing, I had to manually restart the game. Also, perhaps I'm missing something, but how do you see if you're close to 'game over'?

bvanschooten says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Looks pretty cool. I had some trouble relating the icons at the bottom to the creature types.

shadow64 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:30am

Thanks for rating my game! Yours is really pretty and the gameplay is easy enough to figure out. I was a little unsure of when I was supposed to stop, but I was killing ghosts for a while before I put it down.

The music was fun even though we can't rate it for that. The SFX clipped out a little.

I'm actually unfamiliar with Crossy Road so I didn't get the reference and looked it up after playing.

Overall, nice first jam entry! Keep it up!

mildmojo says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Nice work! The little piano hits on dropped packages were a good choice. I like the way the packages detonate and blow away the oncoming zombies/ghosts.

I wanted a more concrete indicator of my health than the smoke. I played until it told me I couldn't play anymore (86 dispatched entities). It was a little tough to match the in-game package icons to the oncoming enemy models, too, though you eventually just learn which is which.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:24am

Rather silly take on crossy road - I really liked what you guys have done here! Graphics match the original well and the music is nice and spooky. Well done! :)

Omiya Games says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:39am

It is a very polished game in audio and graphic aspect. But it feels more like a series of task instead of a fun game.

Crowbeak says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:29am

The models for the packages were great, as were the zombified chickens and llamas. The gameplay was an interesting idea but... it feels like it needs something. I have no suggestions for what's missing. >_> Sorry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]