Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Angry Beavers

by PixelStuff - Jam Entry

The Lumber Brothers are enjoying their sandwiches after an hard day of work,
When suddenly, they must face an attack of Angry Beavers!
To survive, they'll have to use whatever they have around : trees!

Made in 72 hours during Ludum Dare 32 - Theme : An Unconventional Weapon

Music by PlayOnLoop

---
Controls

Up/Release Up - Smash Beavers
Spacebar - Stop to cut a new tree
Left/Right - Chop tree
R - Restart

---
Credits
Graphics/VFX/Sounds
@nantenai
@Nokifict

Game Development
Jeremy Morel
Mathias Musset
Pierre-Marie Plans
David Miotti
Quentin Lambert

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#141Graphics(Jam)4.10
#320Humor(Jam)3.26
#334Theme(Jam)3.63
#520Mood(Jam)3.05
#528Fun(Jam)3.04
#538Audio(Jam)2.67
#573Innovation(Jam)3.00
#644Overall(Jam)3.07

Comments

hadesfury says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Graphics are nice, Concept is interesting.
Controllers are weird.
Audio isn't exceptional but i guess it gets the job done.

Headmade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I download the windows file and when I run it, it says something like "There should be 'angrybeavers_Data'
folder next to the executable"
No such thing came with the download, so I can't run it.

PixelStuff says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:37pm

@HeadMade > We apologies for that, it should be working now :)

Sublustris says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:55am

5 for GFX and idea :)

omaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:45am

Your webserver is treating the mac app like a directory instead of a file, so we can't download it from a browser.

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:47am

Screenshots are nice but when I play the game it is very blurry :( plus it often crashes to black screen and I have to restart. Try to do some bugfixes

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:51am

Would love to play, but it errored out on WebGL (Firefox latest), and the Mac download is linked to the .app directory and isn't downloading the file correctly. I tried save link as and the mac thought it was a PowerPC app.

ohai1 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:53am

I like that the idea, gfx, sfx fit together nicely. Could be polished for sure, but good job overall!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:55am

Nice idea and pretty good graphics. The controls are a bit wonky and I had to restart the game a few times to get it working, for some reasons I could only see a black bacjground with the cutable tree on front. Also there seems to be a bug with the beavers counter, I sometimes had scores like 8 or 14, when I repectively hit 0 and 2 beavers. Good job!

Smiley says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:01pm

OS X version can't be downloaded (looks like an uncompressed .app)
Webversion says "An error occured running the Unity content on this page. The error was: InvalidStateError"
:(

PixelStuff says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:54pm

We are fixing the issue with the MacOs app download, sorry about that :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Art is very nice and good use of the theme.

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Awesome! I really like the gameplay!
But there should be a replay-button. (I get errors when opening via WebGL, have to reload the site 3-4 times)

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:26pm

WebGL build had an error. Stacktrace says it had trouble allocating memory.

Details:
Firefox 36.0.4 on OSX 10.10.2

Stacktrace:
An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
uncaught exception: abort() at jsStackTrace@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:992:13
stackTrace@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1009:22
abort@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:3127977:25
b129@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:3124127:60
__ZN13MemoryManager8AllocateEji10MemLabelIdiPKci [MemoryManager::Allocate?1(unsigned int, int)]@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:910827:10
__Z15malloc_internaljj10MemLabelIdiPKci [malloc_internal?1(unsigned int, unsigned int)]@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:910654:8
__ZN19CollisionListener2DC2Ev [CollisionListener2D::CollisionListener2D()]@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1790230:9
__GLOBAL__I_a14174@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1805248:2
.func@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1326:66
callRuntimeCallbacks@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1092:7
ensureInitRuntime@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1120:3
doRun@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:3127902:5
run/<@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:3127923:7

erdos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Very nice art! but man this game is hard, i played a LOT of times and couldn't get more than one beaver, do i suck?

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Really funny concept and nice artworks ;)

Yamzho says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Very cool game ! Love the idea ! Bien joué !

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Fun little game, controls take some getting used to.

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:18pm

The art is awesome, I love it :). It's me or it's kinda bugged? I'm not seeing any beaver but I'm scoring, well maybe it's just my computer. Keep going!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Nice game. Very beautiful art.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Really nice art style and great looking beavers, and smooth gameplay. Couldn't really tell if I was attacking beavers or not though, but definitely lots of potential in this idea, and love the character designs. But now I have this in my head non-stop https://youtu.be/geRR7JF-3FI ^^

-Neith

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Gaaahhh these guys should swing their tree trunks way faster :D
On the other hand, the graphics are cool, the sound is fitting, the whole idea is beautifully crazy :D

SoftCoconuts says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Fun game! I kept trying to use WASD at first and pressing D would "suicide". It's hard to get to the second tree! Very fun. Congrats!

Wevel says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Few things, the graphics are blurry, you seem to die for no reason some of the time and also unless I'm missing it you can't restart inside the game.

Shivur says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Nice Graphics! I didn't understood what was going on.

runvs says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Haha nice idea.
I really liked the graphics style. Audio is not the best but it's not bad either.

I wish there was a button to restart if you failed.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I got this error in Firefox:

An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
uncaught exception: abort() at jsStackTrace@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:992:13
stackTrace@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1009:22
abort@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:3127993:25
b129@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:3124143:60
__ZN13MemoryManager8AllocateEji10MemLabelIdiPKci [MemoryManager::Allocate?1(unsigned int, int)]@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:910827:10
__Z15malloc_internaljj10MemLabelIdiPKci [malloc_internal?1(unsigned int, unsigned int)]@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:910654:8
__ZN19CollisionListener2DC2Ev [CollisionListener2D::CollisionListener2D()]@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1790230:9
__GLOBAL__I_a14174@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1805248:2
.func@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1326:66
callRuntimeCallbacks@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1092:7
ensureInitRuntime@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:1120:3
doRun@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:3127918:5
run/<@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:3127939:7

If this abort() is unexpected, build with -s ASSERTIONS=1 which can give more information.



Works on the windows build though.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I really liked the graphics and concept. It just seemed really hard to play and very buggy. webgGL gets an error and the windows download freezes when the game ends.

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Went way too fast on my machine, unable to see what was happening after I chopped the tree down.

siryakko says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Excellent smartphone game in fact. Neat graphics and concept. Dug it

Taldius says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Nice game, I love the art style. The game itself is pretty simple but it works reallt well.
Good job!

careless says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:26pm

fun game, really liked the idea. was a little tough to pick the right time to lift the log.

Could make a good mobile game.

kaa says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Graphics is very nice and all mood is funny. Gameplay is weird - I didn't see any beavers but game stopped and I saw "You killed 2 beavers"

jmborden says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Where is the restart cycle? I could only play one game in Windows.

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Difficult to play, but fun. Nicely done.

PixelStuff says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:28pm

For those who want to restart the game, hit R key.

Thank you all for your feedback :)

Horsed says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I also got this error in Chrome and FF:

uncaught exception: abort() at jsStackTrace@http://www.pixelstuff.fr/angry-beavers/Release/angrybeavers_webgl.js:992:13

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Funny! Graphics are nice, I reached 30, not sure how we lose at this game though, if it's time-limited or a beaver passed on the left of the screen?

gelisam says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 8:41pm

My entry was also beaver-themed! ...and also had irritating enemies which kill you before you've had the chance to see them.

shadow64 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:00am

Overall, it seems like a cool concept and a fun game, but right now it seems like it's too buggy. I've tried to play the WebGL but it doesn't load for me. And the Windows version doesn't show me anything I'm hitting.

Again, it looks pretty and the idea is really fun, but I don't want to rate it while it's in this state. If you let me know when it's up and running I'll come back and rate it.

Thanks for rating my game and leaving feedback, I appreciate it.

May 4, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Simple but effective! I like the humor, graphics are great and crushing beavers is always fun XD.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]