Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

My little friend Ernest

by Obvious Industries - Jam Entry

*** This game requires Java 8 to run ***

In the future, earth is forced into a nuclear war between three countries. This made earth almost uninhabitable. Survivors tried their best to recover their planet while a few were sent to galaxies far far away to find a new inhabitable environment. SHIELD (Secret Heroic Idea Economy Ludum Dare), under the leadership of Obvious Industries, send astronauts to the Tentacle system. Among them was the Spacemonkey...
The spaceship crashed on the planet Swig and it seems like only Heroman was able to survive. What will await him on the new planet? What will he discover? And what will he have to do to escape Swig again?

Controls:

WASD - move
Mouse - aim/fire
Tab - switch abilities
1 2 - change abilities

Credits:
Code:
Matthias Piepkorn
Maximiliam Tiffinger

Graphics Design:
Wolfgang Sperka
Dianne Nowack

Host & Story:
Markus Schmidt

Music:
Ludwig Tiffinger

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#263Audio(Jam)3.31
#411Overall(Jam)3.35
#449Fun(Jam)3.16
#453Mood(Jam)3.16
#504Humor(Jam)2.89
#561Graphics(Jam)3.19
#701Theme(Jam)3.10
#753Innovation(Jam)2.67

Comments

thecord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:40am

A really good game, great gameplay, great graphics, great sound

Bananaft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:45am

I like the visuals, and lighting effects are cool.
Not often you see a jam entry with plot and dialogues. But It's not always clear who's line is it, though.

I also suggest you to upload a couple more screenshots.

Smiley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:11pm

yay.. another libGDX game.. I love the box2dlight effects :)

blaster391 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Those lighting effects are really pretty, overall I liked it, the only issue I had was the confusion of whether I could walk through things, but the lighting was a good visual aid, another thing is I think enemies should fade into view faster if they are close to you, I get eaten by enemies in the ship because they were behind me and faded into view too slowly

Chikoness says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Love the story and concept :))) Graphics are well done!

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Really good game

Krunoslav says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Nice game, really fun and with very cool music, congratulations

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Good graphics and art design.Cool that the game had a complete story!One of the most complete games in ludum dare.
The audio was fine.Light effects are really good!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Liked the lighting. Gameplay was alright, not too exciting. But enough there to keep you going. Loved that audio track.

goblin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:41pm

That face when shooting tho...Fun game and cool music
check ours too if you want http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Xatulu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Great game! Was quite fun, had minor hiccups along the way with some glitches and out of bounds errors where Collision was missing (left sea was missing bounds)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:44pm

What a great and big game. You guys clearly put a lot of effort into this. The graphics are great, the sounds are decent. Even the story is compelling.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:53am

Feels very polished, Excellent stuff.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20am

Woo! That is a big game, and a big team! Good job guys! Thumbs up!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20am

Suspense! Thrill! Aliens!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Interesting little game. Good job!

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Good gameplay, very good sound! Fun to play!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:13pm

I enjoyed this game.

One problem I had was the popup when I found a new weapon. I stopped to read it but the gameplay didn't pause so I died every time.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I really liked this game. Good job.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Good concept & solid graphic style. Looks like a lot of effort was put into this and it paid off! Great work :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]