Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Soul Of The Forest

by Multiplexor - Compo Entry

Civilization has made struggle in The Forest, it's inhabitants perish while trying to run away from it. You and your Spirit friend are two of the last survivors, and when you see that there's nowhere else to run, your friend sacrifices himself to give you one last chance to fight! Use his soul to defeat the civilization!

The game is a 2D Platformer, where you shoot a bouncing ball that can mash your enemies into a pulp. Played with Mouse and Keyboard.


P.D: Thanks everyone for the comments and ratings, it really helps a lot! Oh, and if you want to skip the Intro you can do it pressing "Esc".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#113Overall3.76
#152Fun3.64
#177Graphics3.76
#179Audio3.40
#185Mood3.46
#515Theme3.39
#522Humor2.76
#618Innovation3.00

Comments

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10am

Really nice graphics. My favorite part is how health is managed. I love that you lose a part of yourself, literally.

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11am

Good controls and nice looking particle system on the guy you control. I would have liked to move a bit faster. The enemies were well designed as well. I would have liked to be able to skip the intro cutscene. Not really in the mood for that at 4am in the morning ;)

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17am

Wow. That was really fun. The graphics were well done, too.

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23am

Fantastic game! Congratulations, the gameplay is awesome and the sounds are great, I just think about the square shape of the enemies, it can be a problem, and it is, over all in the last boss, the boss is not able to reach the hero.

allanolivei says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28am

Congratulations, the game was very good.
Already downloaded the source code and am studying it.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39am

@allanolivei
Nice :D, Let me know if you have any doubt, and I apologize in advance for the disorder of some parts of the code...

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:32am

I love the movement of the player. Nice physics. Very good game.

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:35am

Its great to see an intro video because they are so rare, but maybe make it skiable after the first time you have watched it. However that is such a minor grumble on what is an excellent game.

Top marks for graphics for sure! You have obviously put in a load of polish and I think this game will rate really high.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:36am

"I'll also miss you" made me chuckle far too much. It's a lovely game though, great looking too!

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:54am

The game was interesting to play and decently fun. It felt very short, though. A decent choice of unconventional weapon.

The bg music was pleasant, and there were decent sfx. However, it wasn't easy to figure out if I was actually doing any damage to the enemies. My first play through, I didn't kill any enemies until I got to the boss, because I couldn't figure out if I was doing anything by hitting them with the ball. I did figure it out on my second time through, though.

manabreak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:56am

Nice job! The graphics were a bit inconsistent, the player was done really well, but the enemies were a bit "meh". Nevertheless, I liked it, and played through the whole thing. :)

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:58am

Very nice game! Cute particle graphics, I love it!

syawqy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:52pm

I like those liquid effect thing

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:45pm

This was fun to play! I really like those particle effects and the movement feels totally smooth. The enemies are freaking me out :D

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:08pm

This is a really amazing game. I can't believe you did all this in just a weekend. It looks great, it sounds great, it plays great. I'll come back to this one for sure!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Nice game, controls play very well, but could work on graphics more.

calavera says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10pm

I really like the slime sort of effect on the player. the soul weapon is also very fun.

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:28am

Very fun game. Solid level design and the mechanics worked great. I think the AI could use an upgrade. The enemies just seemed to get mad and wait for me to kill them. It would be cool to zoom out for the boss fight. I stayed in the corner and never really got to see much of it.

Homero says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03am

Very funny game! Congratulations, it is very original!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:21pm

I will comment with a link to gameplay and review video soon.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:30pm

GameDevExtreme: Thank you very much :D

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Great game, very fun indeed, it feels good too!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:20am

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLNKGFlGVzSYpVQJmPapvNISiHavhMJUDs it is somewhere between episode 16 - 24. use thumbnail to find. might be in more than one episode.

gnx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Very impressive! The weapon has a great feel to it and the design really makes you use it in very interesting ways :)

Graphics look super nice and the background music is fitting and suspenful.

Really impressive work in terms of overall design, supported by wonderful execution.

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:53am

Really well done! really nice concept and i loved the art. the music was grat too, and the weapon was indeed unconventional.

SamH says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:37pm

An excellent game! It might be a bit too easy, but I definitely enjoyed playing it. Congrats for having music, checkpoints, a boss battle, and a working Linux version! Makes me wish for more levels using the game mechanics, with different themes, new enemies, new hazards.

Chris Mondok says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:38am

The player looks pretty cool, but it's very hard to tell where his bounds end, which makes platforming awkward.

Chaoseed says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:56am

Really awesome animation and particle effects! The characters are cute, even the 'monsters'. The gameplay is pretty solid, and the bouncing ball physics is neat. It's certainly an 'unconventional' idea too, so that's good.

LandoSystems says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:58am

What a lovely art style. Fun game play and solid conrols. Great work!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Solid entry. A little too easy, especially the boss, but enjoyable all around. Nice work!

Omiya Games says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:42am

Kind of wish the character moved faster, but other than that, thought it was a really solid entry. Those camera shakes are really nice.

May 20, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Cute little soul! Neat game. I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/m_vzNeNUn1c

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]